We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esmeralda Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Esmeralda Resort to your Saves list
Esmeralda Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Orientale | BP 5141, Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Esmeralda is amazing! I read so many mixed reviews after booking I was almost worried, but that was a waste of time. Everything was absolutely perfect, we are not overly picky, but found nothing to complain about. Leo at the front desk made us feel at home with good conversation and a big smile :)! Even Chris and Bubba who worked on the resort stopped to chat with us when we saw them outside. The pictures on the internet do not do this place justice. Everything was clean and well maintained, the rooms were beautiful. The beach was beautiful. We never made it to Waikiki beach because we just stayed at Coco beach every day. It was very quiet, not crowded, and the service was great. Others said it was expensive, but nothing in St. Martin is cheap! We knew from others reviews that this was the case so there was no surprise. I don't know how much the water was, but it was cold and refreshing. We had our "spot" on the beach that Joann reserved for us (thanks!) when he knew we'd be back that day. It was an amazing trip, we only regret not staying longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
The management and staff of the Esmeralda Resort thank you for your kind review. You truly express what we are all about. We do read very review and pass comments on to our employees as it most definitely improves moral creating the ambition to do their best.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    122
    43
    26
    10
See reviews for
35
190
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at Esmeralda Resort 3/24/2013 - 3/30/2013. Accommodations were very clean, asked and received an upgrade to Superior Room upon checking in (thank you Leo!). Received the unit closest to the restaurant/front desk which was very convenient for us. A very short walk to the beach (no rooms had "ocean view" but you could hear the ocean from our unit). Room was always made up when we returned after lunch, spotless and very spacious- nice lotions and abundant fluffy towels. Loved the rain showers and private villa pool. We only used the pool once (we prefer the ocean) however I noted it was always clean. The service on the beach was great, we walked Orient Beach a few times a day and we were very happy with our beach service, complementary loungers and umbrella and beach boy waiters. We had privileges to dine at many of the establishments along Orient Beach - nice option. Walked to Orient Village 3 of the 7 nights (rented a car for the other 4 and dined outside Orient). Overall we would return to the island and the resort without a doubt!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our resort. It sounds like you took advantage of most of the extra features Esmeralda has to offer. A kind word to our beach staff goes far in getting the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is my second stay in the last six months. Once again the resort itself was beautiful and peaceful and I cannot complain. The pool is absolutely gorgeous. The front desk personnel are accommodating especially Jeanine. She was always extremely courteous and always provided valuable advise as to places to visit on the island. Ice was also readily available at the front desk area and was always full. The only drawback to this visit was the fact the Coco Beach which is the beach that touches the resort is terrible. I will reference the review of lanas 17 below concerning coco beach. The beachboys will shake you down for tips for things that u would think are normally included such as simple things like reserving a beach chair, sitting in the front row, having your beer brought out on ice, and besides being disrespectful , outright nasty. Be prepared to not even be able to bring your own bottle of water to the beach with you and to pay about $7.50 for a bottle of water and 20 bucks for a cheeseburger and fries and dont let them catch you sipping a Poland Spring that you brought down from you room. Let me also add that when I say they expect tips, we are talking tips in the range of 30 dollars or more. i tipped this guy 8 euros (11 dollars) on a 12 euro bill(15 dollars) and tipped him generous daily and still nasty. The resort is aware of this issue and is trying to send their customers to other beaches. In all fairness to the Esmeralda, they are not affiliated with this beach but it happens to be right at the bottom of the resort and u just assume that they are. Its a shame that the guests at the Esmerelda are being shaken down on this beach because its a beautiful resort. My advice is just go to the Waikiki beach 50 yards over , they will treat u better and u will get free beach chairs there also. Overall as far as the resort itself goes, everything is perfect.

Room Tip: get a deluxe room for sure. its worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We are glad you have such high praise for all things under the control of the Esmeralda Resort but are disappointed about your experience witht he beach staff of the Coco Beach bar. We continually have conversations with the management of that concession and staff changes are frequently made. There is no rule disallowing guests from bringing their own beverages to the beach and I am sorry you experienced that. If you return to Esmeralda please let the front desk know if you experience any problems at the beach and it will be taken care of.

Again, we are pleased that you loved the Esmeralda so much. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Esmeralda Resort on two occasions. The staff were responsive and non intrusive. The rooms closest to the beach were our favorite, with a side garden view. These rooms provided privacy, yet easy access to the villa pools. We loved going to the small shops within the "complex" for picnic style dinners with wine on our private porch. The rooms were simple but comfortable, don't expect lush grandeur. Clean and private.

The Coco Beach area is the BEST on Orient - the most private, best beach Restaurant, and safe at night for beach strolls. You can not go wrong, if you seeking a resort on Orient Beach.

Room Tip: Side rooms facing the gardens are the ones we like the best. Make sure to choose the first building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our resort. It pleases us to see a rising number of repeat guests and hope that you will return for a 3rd visit. You are correct when you say the Coco Beach is the most secluded of all the Orient Beach areas and glad you enjoyed it so much. So you are aware, management shares all trip advisor comments with its staff. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Esmeralda Resort in early April. It had been recommended by a work colleague, who has been going to the resort for something like sixteen years. I wasn't so sure when I visited the web page, which I find to be a little off-putting. We booked, based on the recommendation, and then were anxious to see what we had gotten ourselves into.

First reactions were generally positive, but not overwhelmingly so. I think it takes a day or so to figure out Esmeralda is actually a very special place. When you are used to more manicured resorts like the ones found in southeastern Florida, you notice the grass isn't perfect and the decor of the rooms is not up to Architectural Digest. Let yourself slip into the rhythm of St. Martin, however, and soon you realize that Esmeralda is a charmingly authentic place.

You will read in other reviews that the rooms can be noisy and the decor is just okay. This is true. The noisy room issue can be solved if you request a villa that doesn't share walls with other rooms. The decor is what it is, but it just doesn't matter because you spend most of your time outside, either at your semi-private pool or at the beach.

Esmeralda visitors have access to a terrific little beach club. Lounge chairs with cushions and umbrellas are free, and beach attendants at there to serve you wonderful tropical drinks, snacks, or a full meal. Johann quickly figured out our habits and was there to serve us our favorite lunch of grilled chicken and salad.

Breakfast is included in your hotel price. You will read negative comments about breakfast, which I can't understand. The free breakfast may not satisfy people who like big breakfasts, but, for a small price, you can have a hearty breakfast made fresh for you. Breakfast is served at L'Astrolabe, a poolside restaurant located on the resort grounds. We ate dinner at the restaurant every night, and thoroughly enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere.

It was no surprise to us that so many of the guests were repeat visitors. We plan to continue that habit - we will be repeat visitors this fall!

Room Tip: If you are a group, this is a great place to rent rooms in one villa - so it would be like a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your weell written review of our resort. I like you use of the word "authentic" as we are a boutique, villa-style property. We do have a high percentage of repeat guests who understand the nature of Esmeralda and are glad you will be returning. We lso thank you for disputing some negative comments received from other reviewers. People have different perspectives and you seem to have embraced the flavor of Esmeralda. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The villa at this resort were so spacious and extremely clean. Each and everyday after the housekeeper was finished cleaning the villa, you could smell the cleanliness of the room. Although there were a few tiny ants on the bathroom counter, but they weren't much of a problem. The room was huge with a pretty porch in the back of it for your private use. The staff were very helpful with information regarding the area. The only negative was the Resort was hard to find as there were no signs on the road indicating where it was so this made our initial trip so much longer. Even as you finally see a sign on a cement decorative wall which read "Orient Bay" still there was no mention of the Resort. We came to a guard house & asked and that is how we found it. When we got to the front desk and informed them of how difficult it was to locate this place as there are no signs what so ever, the woman at the desk could care less. All in all, the Resort is extremely well kept. The only VERY BIG draw back is that there are quiet a few cats on the property that live under the porches. The meow so loud that they wake you up in the morning. And when you are going into your room, they follow you and you have to shoo them away. They are constantly meowing for food. They need to either feed them or get them off the property. Also at the restaurant L' Astrobale the cats would be sitting on the chairs at the table where food was to be served which would be a health code violation in the US.

Room Tip: Pick an end room because when the doors close on the rooms, they slam shut. I think they are on spr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We appreciate you comments about the quality work of our housekeeping and reception staff as we pass the comments on which is a great motivator.

We now have 2 huge signs right at the entrance of the Esmeralda so finding the hotel is no longer difficult.

Stray cats and dogs are a problem on the island of St. Martin. Unfortunately, guests feed them even though we request they don't which creates a population from time time, The government is working on a humane solution to this.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I need to say that mostly good reviews I've read before staying in "Esmeralda Resort" seem fair,
but they did not prepare me to feel as a second rate customer on the beach (Coco beach).
It appears that you are supposed to tip beach boys or buy a lot of drinks on the beach or have a lunch in Coco bar or all of the above to get the spot
near the water even if it is available all day long - this spoiled my pleasure a bit.

I don't mind to tip, but not on demand. We don't have drinks in the morning.
Besides after I was told that I have to drink or eat there I've lost my appetite.
We would have our lunch on the beach couple times most likely if not for the reprimands
I had to listen.

If you read my note - you are prepared now, I wish I would.
One more thing - on our arrival day at reception desk we were told that it's preferable to use bottled water for making tea, but as per advertising materials the tap water on the island is drinkable. So we used only bottled water just in case and We don't know if it was too much or not.
Otherewise I did enjoy my vacations - the pool near the villa, the room was cleaned timely, AC was working,
the food in the restaurants of the Orient Village was delicious. Also check the reataurant in the "Plantation" hotel - we dined there twice. It had very good live music as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your 4 out of 5 review of the Esmeralda. We assume therefore that you enjoyed the resort very much with the exception of the beach bar service.

As you may be aware, the Coco Beach bar is a concession and not under our control. Our top management does talk to the owner when these problems occur and for a few months, the tipping problem disappears but returns when new employees are hired. We apologize for your experience and are working on a permanent solution.

We thank you for bringing this to our attention as we share trip advisor comments with the bar's management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
1.2 mi away
L'Hoste Hotel
L'Hoste Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esmeralda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esmeralda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale | BP 5141, Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esmeralda Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ESMERALDA RESORT, situated on the magnificent white sands of Orient Bay in French St. Martin offers just 65 rooms and suites spread among elegant tropical gardens in 17 villas. Esmeralda is the only four star hotel in St Martin on Orient Beach.Esmeralda's Coco Beach Bar offers beachfront lunch & cocktails. L'Astrolabe, the resort's fine dining restaurant offers French Creole and Continental cuisine. Guests receive dining privileges at 12 + restaurants in Orient Bay. Only minutes to more fine dining,shopping and entertainment. Rooms include a kitchenette, king bed, sitting area and patio. What makes this property so special is it's unique plantation style layout with only four rooms or suites per villa. For privacy, each villa has its own swimming pool and each accommodation has its own private entrance and terrace... Guests may reserve anything from a single superior or deluxe room or a generous sized suite or an entire 3 - 5 bedroom villa. Due to the way this resort in St Martin is situated on the property that is perpendicular to the beach there is limited availability in the two ocean front villas that include the Presidential Suites and deluxe oceanfront rooms. All superior and deluxe rooms include kitchenettes. Suites offer full kitchens and large living rooms. Guests enjoy the peaceful surroundings and a cordial, pampering yet unobtrusive on-site multi-lingual staff prepared to assist with any special needs. Esmeralda offers free use of beach chairs & umbrellas. Each accommodation has a fully equipped kitchenette (suites have fully equipped kitchens including dishwasher), large tile bath with hair dryer plus a 110 outlet for shavers only, color satellite TV, room safe, air conditioning with ceiling fan, daily maid service. All bedrooms have Color TV by satellite (8 channels and video system), telephone, private safe, A/C, ceiling fan, private, furnished terrace, kitchenette with micro wave, electric coffee pot, refrigerator and dishes. SUPERIOR, DELUXE AND OCEANFRONT ROOMS: King or two double beds, kitchenette. Maximum occupancy: 2 people. Superior rooms have garden view and are generally located further from the beach. Deluxe rooms are a bit larger located nearer the pool. Oceanfront rooms are located nearest the beach. SUPERIOR SUITES: Spacious living room and bedroom area with king size four poster bed and full size pull-out sofa bed plus a fully equipped kitchen. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults & 2 children. PRESIDENTIAL SUITES: Large dining and living room area with full size sofa bed, separate master bedroom with king size colonial bed, TV in living room and master bedroom, 1 1/2 baths, radio/cassette/CD player and fully equipped kitchen. Suite is oceanfront. Maximum occupancy: 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Esmeralda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esmeralda Hotel Orient Bay
Esmeralda Hotel Marigot
Esmeralda Resort Marigot
Esmeralda St Martin
Esmeralda Resort St Martin
Renaisance Esmeralda Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esmeralda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.