We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that you want” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esmeralda Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Esmeralda Resort to your Saves list
Esmeralda Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Orientale | BP 5141, Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“All that you want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very nice, luxurious, clean villas, each 4 with their own pool; 100 yards from the beach with the greatest beach bar. Restaurant can get overwhelmed and is generally not the best bet since there are so many others around. Service is very friendly and helpful, some things don't work just like they would in the US but overall we had a wonderful experience and are looking to go back again, and stay at Esmeralda!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    103
    33
    25
    6
See reviews for
23
163
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for over 15 years. The 2.5M renovation 1.5 years ago was badly needed and much appreciated. The location,intimacy,restaurants,rooms and beach can't be matched anywhere. The only suggestions to raise it to a 5 star resort are simple and achievable . Requests for dinner reservations at the front desk will not be made until the afternoon of the day requested,no matter how long in advance they are requested. This requires multiple trips to the desk to check if they were made. I've had this problem for the last 2 years. Communication needs to increase between hotel and guests regarding use of electronics and availability of services in the room. Leo was great in showing me how to use the new cable system-using one controller for volume and on/off, and the other for stations. However, my neighbor never received the same instruction. I had to go over to show him.Wifi is available free at reception,but I didn't find out it was available in the room for a fee, until I was here for a week and asked. The A/C system is great,but not used much in the US. Guests need instruction on how to use the controller. All these instructions could be printed and available in the room upon check in.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Jeff: As director of the Esmeralda USA sales office here in Florida, we do follow our reviews diligently and take our customer comments seriously as we are always striving to improve services.

First of all, we all appreciate your loyalty to Esmeralda, are pleased that our recent renovations have been noticed and you consider Esmeralda to be one of the top couples resorts.

Your comments about putting instruction literature in the rooms is a great one and i will work with management to see how soon we can get this implemented.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband I have been going to St Martin for 12yrs twice a year! We have been staying at Esmeralda for the last ten years! We have seen a lot of changes over the years.. Up until this last year it was steadily declining or run down! The new well needed renovations and price, location is what will bring us back this next spring! The staff is very friendly but can be take awhile to get something done but that's coming from a very type A American!
You can not beat the location to the beach!!! Coco is one of the best beach restaurants on the beach! It's location as well is excellent! It's just a short walk to the beach from the resort. The semi private pools are so nice to just chill by after a day at the beach. The best value in Baie Orientale we have found for as long as we have been going and the great location you can't beat!

Room Tip: The nicest villas are close to the main office!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you Ruth. It is nice to hear the opinion of such a long time fan of the Esmeralda Resort. We are glad that you appreciate the renovations we have done to our property (just in time) so we can look forward to hosting you again this spring... and for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned from St. Martin. Loved the island and the food, but our room at this hotel had an adjoining room (I believe most or all of them do), common in hotels, but in this one, there seems to be less than zero sound proofing between the adjoining doors. When we crashed after or 15 hour airline ride, my wife says "what's that noise". It was our next door neighbor snoring. It was so loud I had to use ear plugs to sleep. The next day when our neighbors were talking quietly, we could still hear every word they said. Imagine trying to do something fun in private. When we complained, the desk said there was nothing they could do.
I wouldn't stay here again if they paid me.
The one star is for a nice shower.

Room Tip: don't get a room with an adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Sleep Doctor:
We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations on your recent visit to our property. I did question management about your issues. I have been advised that there was indeed a noisy couple staying in the adjoining room. If I am not mistaken, they also had a baby. I hope you at least enjoyed all the other great features such as our location on Orient Bay and our fine restaurants in addition to our rain showers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from 13 nights at the Esmeralda Resort. Had a wonderful time at this beautiful resort!
Leo at the Reception area is just fantastic and most helpful. He has such a way with all the guests, taking time to greet everyone and help them with their questions. Chris has been there many years and makes our stay wonderful. He is also very helpful and is a pleasure. Jeanine at the front desk is always smiling! This is such a relaxing and beautiful location. Everyone is so friendly. The rooms are immaculate and the property is beautifully landscaped and manicured.
Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Jackie:
We are so pleased that you took the time to write a review of the Esmeralda and even more thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

I will be forwarding your comments on to the staff. They will be happy to see that their attitude and hard work is appreciated.

We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We've stayed at the Esmeralda many times, currently 3 years in a row, and have already reserved to go back next year. So, we like it. Everyone we talked to on the beach or in the restaurant was a repeat visitor, so we're not alone. Here are the pluses: it's on the best part of Orient Beach. The beach chaises have more space between them than at other Orient Beach locations. It's got a great gourmet restaurant, on a par with anything you'll find in Grand Case. The staff is extremely friendly, and responsive to any problems you may encounter. The price is a fair value. Negatives? Well, the property is older, and not as pristine as it was when we first went there 15 years ago. We heard two guests make complaints...no bellman to take their bags, and you had to bring your beach towels back to the front desk for exchange. So, it's not a 5 star resort. But their 4 star rating has been reaffirmed by the tourist bureau. The hotel is best suited for couples, there is no nightlife on property for singles. But if you like good food, and great beach, a great place to be. Book on THEIR website, www.esmeralda-resort.com, discounts are available. There are some "imitation" sites out there that try to get your bookings, and claiming discounts.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your review on your last visit to the Esmeralda Resort. You are correct, we are located on the best and quietest part of Orient Beach. The chef at our gourmet restaurant, L'Astrolabe, has won multi-awards for food quality and presentation and is one of the top restaurants in St,. Martin so we are glad you enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from my trip to St Martin and stayed at this resort for 1 week and its definitely a perfect choice if you are looking for an extremely safe and perfectly manicured resort on beautiful orient beach.The clientele is upscale and there is a friendly atmosphere. There is a pool at each villa so if you dont feel like going to the beach you can just relax at your pool all day. There is a beautiful restaurant on the premises and a few within walking distance and it is a gated resort and there is also another gate when u enter the village so there are various layers of security. The front desk and management are also accommodating. The rooms are clean and spacious and beautiful and stylish. My personal favorite was the showers. This is a must stay if u are visiting French St Martin. Orient beach is a 1 minute walk down the path to beautiful coco beach which is on orient beach.There is no reason to ever leave the resort during your entire stay

Room Tip: i would recommend a deluxe room but all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review comments. It is much appreciated. You seem to capture the essence of our resort, staff and facilities perfectly. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esmeralda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esmeralda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale | BP 5141, Orient Bay 97071, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esmeralda Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ESMERALDA RESORT, situated on the magnificent white sands of Orient Bay in French St. Martin offers just 65 rooms and suites spread among elegant tropical gardens in 17 villas. Esmeralda is the only four star hotel in St Martin on Orient Beach.Esmeralda's Coco Beach Bar offers beachfront lunch & cocktails. L'Astrolabe, the resort's fine dining restaurant offers French Creole and Continental cuisine. Guests receive dining privileges at 12 + restaurants in Orient Bay. Only minutes to more fine dining,shopping and entertainment. Rooms include a kitchenette, king bed, sitting area and patio. What makes this property so special is it's unique plantation style layout with only four rooms or suites per villa. For privacy, each villa has its own swimming pool and each accommodation has its own private entrance and terrace... Guests may reserve anything from a single superior or deluxe room or a generous sized suite or an entire 3 - 5 bedroom villa. Due to the way this resort in St Martin is situated on the property that is perpendicular to the beach there is limited availability in the two ocean front villas that include the Presidential Suites and deluxe oceanfront rooms. All superior and deluxe rooms include kitchenettes. Suites offer full kitchens and large living rooms. Guests enjoy the peaceful surroundings and a cordial, pampering yet unobtrusive on-site multi-lingual staff prepared to assist with any special needs. Esmeralda offers free use of beach chairs & umbrellas. Each accommodation has a fully equipped kitchenette (suites have fully equipped kitchens including dishwasher), large tile bath with hair dryer plus a 110 outlet for shavers only, color satellite TV, room safe, air conditioning with ceiling fan, daily maid service. All bedrooms have Color TV by satellite (8 channels and video system), telephone, private safe, A/C, ceiling fan, private, furnished terrace, kitchenette with micro wave, electric coffee pot, refrigerator and dishes. SUPERIOR, DELUXE AND OCEANFRONT ROOMS: King or two double beds, kitchenette. Maximum occupancy: 2 people. Superior rooms have garden view and are generally located further from the beach. Deluxe rooms are a bit larger located nearer the pool. Oceanfront rooms are located nearest the beach. SUPERIOR SUITES: Spacious living room and bedroom area with king size four poster bed and full size pull-out sofa bed plus a fully equipped kitchen. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults & 2 children. PRESIDENTIAL SUITES: Large dining and living room area with full size sofa bed, separate master bedroom with king size colonial bed, TV in living room and master bedroom, 1 1/2 baths, radio/cassette/CD player and fully equipped kitchen. Suite is oceanfront. Maximum occupancy: 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esmeralda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esmeralda Hotel Orient Bay
Esmeralda Hotel Marigot
Esmeralda Resort Marigot
Esmeralda St Martin
Esmeralda Resort St Martin
Renaisance Esmeralda Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esmeralda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.