We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Just wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Orient Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Orient Resort to your Saves list
Club Orient Resort
1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Wow! Just wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

—13 nights in a Mini-Suite Deluxe—
We had been to naturist beaches before but never a clothing-optional resort. We were a bit nervous of being in the nip everywhere, but actually it was just the most relaxed and natural thing. Actually we both felt the need to dress for the restaurant, and one of us in the shop. But that was of no consequence - it's clothing OPTIONAL, so you just dress as much or as little as you want.

SITE
The site was impeccably clean ... so clean, in fact, that we used the toilets next to the restaurant with no shoes and no qualms. All the surfaces are grass or sand, so shoes were unnecessary (though it can get hot underfoot). All the staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and relaxed. And a huge amount of work clearly goes into maintenance: on the couple of occasions we reported a minor problem the response was quick and effective.

SUITE
The Mini-suite deluxe was roomy and pleasant, with a large firm bed and good catering equipment ~ self-catering is possible. Although it's on the French side of the island, Dutch-spec power points were also provided. The wifi didn't get used much, but was reliable the one time we needed it. The aircon was effective, though we managed with just the fan a lot of the time. The shower was vigorous. Cleaning was thorough.

We felt that arrangements could have been a bit more eco-friendly: four exterior lights were on 24 hours, the fridge seemed to be set very cold, there was no separate recycling bin, the cleaners sometimes left the aircon and/or fan on when there was no-one to benefit.

And we never quite kept the place free of mosquitoes and ants.

But overall we were very pleased.

BEACH
The beach is simply glorious - sandy, with a gentle entry into a warm sea. Though very busy.

There seemed to be a never-ending stream of textiles passing by - they were no trouble, but they made it less relaxing than we were expecting. Having assigned loungers was certainly a big plus - it would have been a struggle to fit everyone in without them.

It would have been even better with a no-smoking area. Other people's smoke was occasionally a nuisance.

We were impressed to notice that the resort provides beach wheelchairs for those who need them.

PAPAGAYO RESTAURANT
We were disappointed with the on-site restaurant, and only ate there twice. It was expensive, the menu was unimaginative and the vegetables were cooked to mush. One of us ordered the same dish both times but what was served seemed completely different. The service was fine, but overall it seemed overpriced for what we got.

SHOP
It was great to have food and drink available to buy on-site, and the prices were pretty fair. Fresh baguettes and croissants every morning were especially fab ... though we were generally awake long before the shop opened at 08.00, and earlier would have been better.

The shop also sells merchandise and souvenirs - indeed about ⅔ of it was assigned to these pricey goods, which seemed too much to us.

OVERALL
This level of luxury comes at a price, of course, but - aside from the items mentioned above - it seemed reasonable value for the high level of attentive service. It was a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubOrient, General Manager at Club Orient Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thanks for the review, Mark! We are glad that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us :-) If there is ever an issue with any of our facilities or services, please inform a member of staff and we will do our utmost to correct the situation. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    59
    5
    9
    3
See reviews for
9
210
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you are looking to be real, real relax, this is the place. NOT FOR EVERYONE! You should come with an open mind to leave everything at home, not cellular phone, no computer...Enjoy the gorgeous beach, the amenities, the food, the Real life...It is cloth optional, but is not obligated to be ''naturale''. If you are not ready, take your time, but enjoy...

Room Tip: Garden Suites are gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubOrient, General Manager at Club Orient Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for the review, Tomas! We pride ourselves on being able to offer a level of relaxation that few locations can match.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was our 7th time to Club Orient and the first time we stayed in a Studio. We will never stay in a Studio again. They are dark inside and nil soundproofing from the other half. Each morning we woke up with bug bites on our shoulders, in spite of using bug repellant. We had previously stayed in only Mini-suites before (at the same daily rate) and they are much better. The Studios are small crowded and dark inside.
On the positive: the beach is great and there is a new system for putting up the umbrellas and chairs. Our last visit was 2 years previous. The chairs are lined up and umbrellas placed by 0800 and this is great.
We asked to be upgraded to a mini-suite on the weekend of our 9 day stay but were not. Reservations told us they could not do it, in spite of one of the units being empty.
We did have to ask for soap, when our shower soap ran out
There is no better beach around for nudists and we pay a premium for it.
At the Restaurant everyone seemed to be dressing for dinner--WHY? This is a nudist resort and we pay a premium for the opportunity to eat drink and be merry without clothes. We do not understand why the ladies wear full length sheaths and high heels to dinner.
Entertainment was excellent as was the magician on Managers Night.
We will return but not stay in a Studio ever again

Room Tip: Stay with a Mini-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just returned from Club Orient for a five day break. Incredible and amazing! What a way to de-stress and unwind in Club O's atmosphere. From first checking in, to exchanging towels each day to getting coffee and croissants, I wasn't ever greeted without a smile and friendly service from their staff. I was very hesitant traveling to Club O solo, but dove right in. The guests that stay there really make anyone feel welcomed. No where, have I ever been, where people were that friendly and welcoming than there. I chose to stay in a studio since it was just me and it worked out perfectly. The studio was within 50 feet of the beach and the restaurant, which wasn't a negative aspect at all. Bug spray should definitely be bought or brought with you, for the early morning and evening hours. Nothing bad to say at all about anything from this resort.

Would I go again? Absolutely!! Looking to go later this year. If you have questions, send me a message, be happy to answer any questions you have, or if your on the fence, I'll push you over to go!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubOrient, General Manager at Club Orient Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind words and recommendation! We are so happy you decided to stay with us despite traveling alone. We endeavor to make sure everyone enjoys the same safe and relaxing experience, regardless of party size. Thrilled to see you will be joining us again soon, and please us know if there is anything we can do to provide you with an even better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was our second visit to a naturist resort and we found this one to be a great experience. The grounds are very nice and they occupy a large section of pretty beach on Orient Bay. The facilities are older but decently maintained and clean. It is a very lowkey place with all types of travellers, we felt very comfortable the whole time. A great way to enjoy a new experience!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubOrient, General Manager at Club Orient Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us, Jean! Hope to see you back with us soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We’ve been to Club O several times now. The beach is amazing, with soft white sand and clear azure waters. It’s wonderful hanging out under the yellow umbrellas or swimming in the bay, feeling the tropical climate. We love the option and freedom of not wearing a stitch of clothing for our whole vacation. The Club’s mottos are apt… "Nothing is better", and "Happiness is no tan lines".

The staff are very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The Boutique has touristy and artsy items for sale, fresh French pastries in the mornings, and all the essential groceries. The Perch Bar and Papagayo has good food and great drinks. Papagayo offers dances, DJs or live bands most nights, and special events seasonally. Security staff patrol the grounds day and night, and we’ve always felt safe. The grounds keepers do a decent job keeping up the gardens and lawns. Steve, the manager is pleasant, informed, and caring. The Tiko Tiko cruises are fun. The masseuses are professional, and give a relaxing massage either in a secluded area on the beach, or in private air conditioned rooms. There’s a nice gym on site, and a book exchange. Dolphin Watersports offers to rent everything for those who want to be active. Yes, wi fi is iffy, as we have found is common in the Caribbean archipelago, and is only consistently fast in the wee hours of the night.

The down side to Club O is the accommodations. The units are mostly privately owned, and any upgrades are at the discretion of the owner. Sometimes we’ve gotten lucky and have received a unit in which the owner cares about their investment and have modernized their unit. Sometimes we’ve gotten a unit which the owner has done nothing to the unit (despite the management’s encouragement) and so has 30 year old fittings in the kitchen and bathroom, scuffed up walls, broken or cracked tile, ancient shower curtains, torn window screens, etc. You pay the same price for both, and you have no say which unit you receive. You can request a certain accommodation, but there is absolutely no guarantee you’ll get that unit.

The flip side to the accommodations is that each unit is equipped with the same basics of furniture, linens/ towels, kitchen cookware and eating utensils, good water, and everything is essentially in working order. The housekeepers try to make the most of what’s in each unit, keeping the rooms clean and picking tropical flowers from the gardens to make table arrangements. And we realize that Steve has made efforts to encourage owners to improve and upgrade their units as needed.

Will we come here again? Absolutely. We have traveled fairly extensively and have not found any other place in the world quite like Club Orient. But it saddens me that we may be assigned accommodations which are drab and uncomfortable. That when we choose to spend our holiday at Club Orient, it is with the knowledge that bad accommodations are something that we may have to endure. I do wish, and hope, that those owners who have allowed their accommodations to be this way will read this TA posting and reconsider their investment. But I heartily thank those owners who make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

PRO: For the nudist, Club Orient offers arguably the finest nude beach on the planet. Good sand, warm shallow water, no jellyfish or sharks to trouble you. In addition, clothing is not required anywhere within the resort, so the devout nudist can go naked for the entire visit. The on-site market is nice, and the restaurant and bar are typical beach-front standard.

CON: The condos are anything but deluxe. Extremely basic is more like it. The mattress on our bed was frankly unbearable. Wi-Fi is rather tenuous. And you are paying a VERY high price for these minimalist accommodations.

Club O tends to attract veteran (and relatively affluent) nudists. Swingers, gawkers, and party-hearty types will be disappointed. If nudism is your primary focus, then this is clearly the place to be, despite the high cost and scout-camp accommodations. This was our third stay, and each time we leave, I tell myself that next time, we'll stay elsewhere and get day passes to the beach. But somehow we always end up back at Club O. Must mean something.

Beach Tip: The front-row beach chairs have the best view, but they also have the worst wind. If it's breezy, pick chairs a row or two back. It makes a big difference.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubOrient, General Manager at Club Orient Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for the feedback and glad to hear about your multiple visits to Club Orient. We are proud to hold a more than 85% repeat customer rate who come to enjoy and relax within a comfortable and unique naturist environment. Due to island limitations, internet connectivity unfortunately is an ongoing issue. We are however pleased to report that recent efforts have seen the resort's bandwidth triple as staff continue to look for ways to enhance our Wi-Fi services.

Club Orient additionally offers several different room types: from studios to beach/garden chalets and villas, please be sure to seek the assistance of staff over any issues that you feel may impact the quality of your visit. We hope to see you back again soon, and look forward to making your next stay at Club Orient the best and most relaxing one yet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Orient Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Orient Resort

Address: 1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Orient Resort is situated on the white sand beach of Orient Bay on the Island of St. Martin. We offer 137 spacious ocean front or garden bungalows. Every unit is equipped w/ a full kitchen w/ dining area, ACs, Internet access, front/back patio and more. Onsite grocery store, boutique, watersports facility, spa/fitness center, restaurant, beach bar and grill, tennis courts and more. All these conveniences are located on our property where clothing is optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Club Orient Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Orient Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Club Orient Baie Nettle
Orient Naturist Club
Beach Club Orient
Hotel Orient
Club Orient Naturist Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Orient Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.