We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great ... after all these years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Orient Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Orient Resort to your Saves list
Club Orient Resort
1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amagansett, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still great ... after all these years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I first went to Club Orient in 1985 when it -- and Pedro's rib shack, still exceptional -- were the only two facilities on the mile-long stretch of Orient Bay. Today, the Bay area is overflowing with hotels & condos, beer buckets and parasailing. But Club Orient still is terrific. You know, of course -- and you go there because -- it's clothing optional. The ambiance, the relaxation, the cleanliness, the total do-nothing-ness is unsurpassed. This review is not to extol the virtues of nudism; it's to say how wonderful Club Orient was 30 years ago and how that has not changed. If you go with someone it's great fun; this time I went solo, just to relax and rejuvinate. Either way, it's terrific. Read all the reviews here on TripAdvisor. You'll read, over and over, how wonderful this place is. Take it to heart. Club Orient really is that good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubOrient, General Manager at Club Orient Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks for the kind words, Jim! We especially love hearing from our return guests on their being able to find the same great experience as they did the first time around. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    59
    5
    9
    3
See reviews for
9
211
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The club provides very good chalets, studios and suites. Maid service evey day with fresh towels and kept extra clean. Restaurants have good menus at reasonable prices. Air conditioning worked really well. Hot water never ran out. Loos always flushed. Loungers on beach are reserved for guests. Sand and water are beautiful. All staff very friendly. However if you want to get out to local restaurants in the evening you need a car or a taxi. Too dangerous and dark to walk any distance. The club is spacious enough never to feel cramped. One of the best naturist resorts we have been to. Will definitely go back. Clients were about 50% American with Canadians, French, Brits, Dutch and Danish making up the rest. Wi-fi was variable - good in places. Nice catamaran trips.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubOrient, General Manager at Club Orient Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We're really glad to see you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the feedback. Hope to see you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have just returned from the Club, clean and spacious single storey bungaslw. Very clean room, friendly and helpful reception. Shop stocks sufficient to do self catering while there.
Clean and safe beach, loungers included, beach swept each morning by tractor. Cloths optional, no camers allowed, security on watch.

Dancing each night, not Tues and Sunday, disco all types of music.

No swimming pool, 2 floodlit tennis corts, had to move a large inguana from the court one morning.

Room Tip: we had mini suite, not worth paying to be on beach, all within 100 yards of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

love being naked all day....awesome beach, simple hotel/cottages, but we love it. good a.c. and a kitchen. great store for groceries, the only complaint is the wifi stinks....be prepared to wait on that....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

That is, wearing nothing is better! My husband and I have been going to St. Martin for over 17 years. Until six years ago, we rented a villa on the Orient Bay hillside, or stayed in a hotel or condo. But we always spent our days on the beach at Club O. Six years ago we decided to see what it was like to actually stay at Club O, and we've been hooked ever since! You can't beat the proximity to the beach. And, over the years, we've made so many friends who we look forward to seeing every year. The accommodations are clean and well maintained, the staff is attentive, the food & drinks at Papagayo & The Perch Bar are good, and, if you want a massage or mani-pedi, there's the spa. If you want to go out to dinner, there are lots of places along the beach, and, at the Orient Beach Village at the other end of the beach, there are more restaurants. You will need a car to drive the 15 minutes to Grand Case. This is the gourmet capital of the island and can't be missed. I'm counting the days til I can be back at Club O where nothing is better!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Mini Suites are very large, well-quipped studios, and are an excellent value. My persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was not our first visit to Club Orient and will definitely not be our last. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The environment is relaxing and serene. The clothing optional beach is one of the most beautiful in the world. The freedom to be nude throughout the resort is also one of the key attractions. We arranged to go scuba diving on 2 of the days but the remainder of the week we relaxed on the beautiful white sand beach. It is a major convenience to have 2 beach lounges and an umbrella reserved for us. The umbrella was set up for us each morning by the time we hit the beach.

Room Tip: We usually stay in one of the delux mini suites. It is not right on the beach but a 3 minute walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This resort must be one of the best ran resorts in the world. From the security, parking cleanliness, location, amenities, the beach equipment and then the friendly and wonderful staff. A must visit if you want to be in the best clothing optional resort there is. Well done guys!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Orient Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Orient Resort

Address: 1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Orient Resort is situated on the white sand beach of Orient Bay on the Island of St. Martin. We offer 137 spacious ocean front or garden bungalows. Every unit is equipped w/ a full kitchen w/ dining area, ACs, Internet access, front/back patio and more. Onsite grocery store, boutique, watersports facility, spa/fitness center, restaurant, beach bar and grill, tennis courts and more. All these conveniences are located on our property where clothing is optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Club Orient Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Orient Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Orient Naturist Club
Beach Club Orient
Club Orient Baie Nettle
Hotel Orient
Club Orient Naturist Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Orient Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.