We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life at THE Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Orient Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Orient Resort to your Saves list
Club Orient Resort
1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Indian Head Park,IL.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Life at THE Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We came for a 3rd visit and still the best Beach & accomadations..St Patricks Day was a great time.The buffet had all the Irish dishes.Entertainment was varied from a different host for music usally every night.The Staff still remains friendly & helpful as always.Anything you need help with,they are willing to try there best to meet the request.Philipe Captain of Tiko Tiko also is a added attraction to the Club.He has been doing hisexcursions with dinners and or a 1/2 day tour on the Catamaran for some time now.Book early as he is popular. A fun experience.This place has a well deserved award of a Great Establishment/Resort.Most visitors as you find are returning guests for several yrs..

Room Tip: As for getting a good spot on the beach.You are given tags to id your own lounges.(for the people st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    52
    5
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
184
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have only been to the beach as we stayed elsewhere, but this is a unique place. It is one of the most beautiful sandy beaches any place. The water is perfect. The beach staff keeps it clean and organized. For $20 a couple gets two lounges and an umbrella for the day. The security staff keeps things safe. If you sit right at waterside you will get the lookers/lurkers from the cruise ships who come to see the naked people but they don't bother you. The Club has secure parking for $5.00 at the Club entrance and the store offers food and refreshments and some Club specific beach accessories and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our very first time to both St. Martin & a clothing optional resort. It was our friends idea!
Anyway it was the most fun experience! Everyone has their own quaint cottage complete with a mini kitchen. There is also an outside shower that is so liberating. EVERYONE is soooo friendly and no one cares or even seems to notice that we are missing our clothes. Its so fun. We made friends with 4 or 5 couples in just the one week we were there. There was dancing almost every night.....when was the last time you danced all night naked! And this was not about erotica....there were senior citizens...baby boomers...young couples and even kids just having fun. BTW....its on the French side of the island. Everyone speaks French....and English. Wonderful cuisine & wine.

Room Tip: Book early....there are not many places like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This review is a little late, but the basics had not changed since our previous visit in 2005. If you are a couple and debating whether to go or not, just do it.

You will only be disappointed if you desire pampering more than living. If you enjoy the beauty of God's creation, there are few places on earth as beautiful.

If you need lots of luggage and lots of clothes, Club Orient is probably not the place for you.

The American cruise ship gawkers are obnoxious, but there seem to be less than in previous years. And they always go away at 4 pm.

Club Orient has been a first time experience for many couples, but be advised that you will never be the same. Life is short, just do it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 days during Thanksgiving week. The restaurant was very good. They had entertainment some nights, and it was pretty good.The Thanksgiving dinner had good food, but the desserts needed help. The pumpkin pie was mediocre at best, but of course, this is certainly not a specialty there, so that was to be expected. The beach bar was also very good. Our room was very comfortable-we had one of the mini suites which had plenty of space. The wifi worked fairly well, but in talking with others, it did not work as well in all the rooms. If you are looking for a fancy, elegant type place, this is not for you. It is much more casual, clothing optional of course, and rustic. There is a nicely marked path around the property for walkers/runners. The fitness room is adequate. The store is expensive but does carry basic things including wine, beer, and anything you might need. If you have rental car you will do much better at the local markets nearby. The beach and water are very nice. If you are looking to reserve beach chairs on the shoreline, you will have better luck on the far side near the beach bar. However it should be noted that if you are near the water you will have to be willing to tolerate the array of clothed tourists that come in on buses and walk up and down the beach at certain times. If you find that bothersome, suggest you choose chairs farther back from the water. One really nice thing is that they do not allow solicitors, so you will not be constantly bombarded with people selling souvenirs, time shares, etc. There is no waitress service on the beach, so you either have to bring your own beer/wine/drinks down with you in a cooler, or get it from the beach bar or bar at the restaurant.There is a happy hour daily, with 2 for 1 drinks. Note that if you are eating lunch there, the beach bar is much less expensive than the restaurant. You can of course, have meals in your room as there is a full kitchen. We really liked this place, and plan to return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stopped in St. Maarten on a RCCL cruise last week, and after having done our research and reading reviews here we headed to Club Orient for the day. It was fantastic, friendly and respectful people, great food and drinks too. We met a nice couple from Vancouver and spent some time with them. We hated to go back to the ship, and will certainly return for a longer stay in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

When we arrive at Club Orient, something in my chest says "Ah! Home again." I breathe more easily here and can feel the stress melting away,even before I book a massage.

Our mini-suite is a perfect size. We only have a queen-sized bed at home so the king-sized bed in the mini-suite deluxe units doesn't appeal to us. It's nice that there is enough cutlery and dishes for 4 people since we can have another couple over for dinner.

We also like that the mini-suites are close to the boutique so we can head over for the free coffee and fresh baguettes (or almond pastries) when it opens at 8am. We tend to eat dinner in our unit so being farther from Papagayo is fine with us. Plus when there is live entertainment there, we aren't disturbed in our unit.

We have never stayed in anything other than a mini-suite but we've been nosy and looked in other units for comparison.

The studios are closer to the beach and closer to Papagayo, both of which is appealing to some people but, for the same price, we prefer the extra 10' of length inside the mini-suites as well as having a great "backyard" to look out at (or sit out in). The chalets are out of our snack bracket but we would consider one if we were coming down with our kids because they sleep 4 (and the mini-suite only sleeps 3).

Many of the units are owned and some owners have upgraded the furniture significantly. We saw one beach front chalet with leather furniture (but we're more comfortable with the basic furniture in the mini-suites). The owner of one unit is an artist and has painted the unit in really interesting colours.

This is definitely not your cookie-cutter hotel! Aside from the boutique, we don't see the staff that much. Our unit is mysteriously cleaned each day and we get fresh towels each day despite the sign saying to leave towels to be changed in the bathtub. This is fine with us since the sunscreen does tend to get on everything and we are using the towels for sitting on the chairs and couch.

The boutique is well-stocked with a variety of foods from snacks and sweets to everything you need for a full dinner. We've compared prices with local grocery stores and it is very comparable (we thought there would be a huge mark-up but there isn't). They will also stock your kitchen before you arrive if you fill out the form and send it in. I did this the day before we were arriving and got an email back within an hour. It was great to have cold beer in the refrigerator waiting for our arrival!

Yesterday I bought an avocado and the cashier said that if I found it was black inside to tell her the next day and she would refund the cost. She said that frequently they have trouble with them due to shipping but you can't tell until you open it. I was sad when it turned out to be black but happy that there was a refund without question. You won't get that at a grocery store here!

Today we're inside because the wind is really strong at the beach. I'm taking advantage of the free wifi to write a review. Usually I'm too busy sitting on the beach to do it. Give yourself a break and take a chance on Club Orient.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the Club Orient website. You can't choose your exact room but it will he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Orient Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Orient Resort

Address: 1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Orient Resort is situated on the white sand beach of Orient Bay on the Island of St. Martin. We offer 137 spacious ocean front or garden bungalows. Every unit is equipped w/ a full kitchen w/ dining area, ACs, Internet access, front/back patio and more. Onsite grocery store, boutique, watersports facility, spa/fitness center, restaurant, beach bar and grill, tennis courts and more. All these conveniences are located on our property where clothing is optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Club Orient Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Orient Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Club Orient Baie Nettle
Orient Naturist Club
Beach Club Orient
Hotel Orient
Club Orient Naturist Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Orient Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.