We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice clothing optional resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Orient Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Orient Resort to your Saves list
Club Orient Resort
1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
ma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice clothing optional resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 days during Thanksgiving week. The restaurant was very good. They had entertainment some nights, and it was pretty good.The Thanksgiving dinner had good food, but the desserts needed help. The pumpkin pie was mediocre at best, but of course, this is certainly not a specialty there, so that was to be expected. The beach bar was also very good. Our room was very comfortable-we had one of the mini suites which had plenty of space. The wifi worked fairly well, but in talking with others, it did not work as well in all the rooms. If you are looking for a fancy, elegant type place, this is not for you. It is much more casual, clothing optional of course, and rustic. There is a nicely marked path around the property for walkers/runners. The fitness room is adequate. The store is expensive but does carry basic things including wine, beer, and anything you might need. If you have rental car you will do much better at the local markets nearby. The beach and water are very nice. If you are looking to reserve beach chairs on the shoreline, you will have better luck on the far side near the beach bar. However it should be noted that if you are near the water you will have to be willing to tolerate the array of clothed tourists that come in on buses and walk up and down the beach at certain times. If you find that bothersome, suggest you choose chairs farther back from the water. One really nice thing is that they do not allow solicitors, so you will not be constantly bombarded with people selling souvenirs, time shares, etc. There is no waitress service on the beach, so you either have to bring your own beer/wine/drinks down with you in a cooler, or get it from the beach bar or bar at the restaurant.There is a happy hour daily, with 2 for 1 drinks. Note that if you are eating lunch there, the beach bar is much less expensive than the restaurant. You can of course, have meals in your room as there is a full kitchen. We really liked this place, and plan to return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    47
    5
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
172
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stopped in St. Maarten on a RCCL cruise last week, and after having done our research and reading reviews here we headed to Club Orient for the day. It was fantastic, friendly and respectful people, great food and drinks too. We met a nice couple from Vancouver and spent some time with them. We hated to go back to the ship, and will certainly return for a longer stay in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

When we arrive at Club Orient, something in my chest says "Ah! Home again." I breathe more easily here and can feel the stress melting away,even before I book a massage.

Our mini-suite is a perfect size. We only have a queen-sized bed at home so the king-sized bed in the mini-suite deluxe units doesn't appeal to us. It's nice that there is enough cutlery and dishes for 4 people since we can have another couple over for dinner.

We also like that the mini-suites are close to the boutique so we can head over for the free coffee and fresh baguettes (or almond pastries) when it opens at 8am. We tend to eat dinner in our unit so being farther from Papagayo is fine with us. Plus when there is live entertainment there, we aren't disturbed in our unit.

We have never stayed in anything other than a mini-suite but we've been nosy and looked in other units for comparison.

The studios are closer to the beach and closer to Papagayo, both of which is appealing to some people but, for the same price, we prefer the extra 10' of length inside the mini-suites as well as having a great "backyard" to look out at (or sit out in). The chalets are out of our snack bracket but we would consider one if we were coming down with our kids because they sleep 4 (and the mini-suite only sleeps 3).

Many of the units are owned and some owners have upgraded the furniture significantly. We saw one beach front chalet with leather furniture (but we're more comfortable with the basic furniture in the mini-suites). The owner of one unit is an artist and has painted the unit in really interesting colours.

This is definitely not your cookie-cutter hotel! Aside from the boutique, we don't see the staff that much. Our unit is mysteriously cleaned each day and we get fresh towels each day despite the sign saying to leave towels to be changed in the bathtub. This is fine with us since the sunscreen does tend to get on everything and we are using the towels for sitting on the chairs and couch.

The boutique is well-stocked with a variety of foods from snacks and sweets to everything you need for a full dinner. We've compared prices with local grocery stores and it is very comparable (we thought there would be a huge mark-up but there isn't). They will also stock your kitchen before you arrive if you fill out the form and send it in. I did this the day before we were arriving and got an email back within an hour. It was great to have cold beer in the refrigerator waiting for our arrival!

Yesterday I bought an avocado and the cashier said that if I found it was black inside to tell her the next day and she would refund the cost. She said that frequently they have trouble with them due to shipping but you can't tell until you open it. I was sad when it turned out to be black but happy that there was a refund without question. You won't get that at a grocery store here!

Today we're inside because the wind is really strong at the beach. I'm taking advantage of the free wifi to write a review. Usually I'm too busy sitting on the beach to do it. Give yourself a break and take a chance on Club Orient.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the Club Orient website. You can't choose your exact room but it will he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

we have been there 3 times, 90 percent is great, the only reason i dont give it a 5 is the resort is not a 5 star resort. we love being nude all the time, the staff is great, the beach is great, the food and service are great....the crowd is very european which we also love....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Club Orient is in a great location on the Ocean and I have stayed there several times. But the quality of service has degraded to very poor and the quality of the accommodation is rustic at best. The appliances are rusted, the bedding poor, the food far below the standards of Grand Case and other restaurants on Orient bay. A 4-start price for a no-star resort. The staff cater to the owners and the people who return twice a year or more, but the rest of us are treated awfully. Stay there once if you really want to try a clothing optional environment, but otherwise stay at a better place nearby and use the beach at Club O for good nude swimming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Can't say enough good things about Club Orient! As I sit here in my lovely room using my free WIFI, I am looking forward to my complimentary coffee in the great shop at the resort. My just baked and delivered baguette for $.75 or I may splurge and get a chocolate pastry since it is my birthday. My room is nicer than most other hotel rooms at other resorts on the island. We are right on the beach. Chairs and umbrella included with the room on the beach. Staff could be more accommodating. I want to move here! Seriously, I have talked about spending the months of January and February here at Club O when we retire. Even if clothing optional is not your thing, Club O is still the best place to stay in the world! Personally, I only go nude on the beach. I like clothes at other times. We can stay here much cheaper than Disneyland or really anywhere. They don't nickel and dime you like most full service resorts. We are world travelers and have the money to stay at high end hotels, but so far St. Maarten, Orient Beach and especially Club O can't be beat!

Room Tip: All rooms are right on the best beach on the planet. Can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you step foot in the front door, till the moment you leave, you ask yourself is this heaven? Hundreds of naked people going about their lives, enjoying life to the fullest. No one judges, no one is serious, no one is perfect, but that is what makes it heaven. Walk in the door, strip and relax, make new friends, and don't take life seriously. Who cares how old, fat, saggy, dark, light, scarred, or self conscience you are, you can talk with no one or everyone, whatever. The resort is on one of the best beaches in the world. The snorkeling right on the beach is like swimming in a fish tank. The clothed gawkers are never a bother, because they are out numbered 50-1. This was our 4th year in a row and we will return once a year for the rest of our lives.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Orient Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Orient Resort

Address: 1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Orient Resort is situated on the white sand beach of Orient Bay on the Island of St. Martin. We offer 137 spacious ocean front or garden bungalows. Every unit is equipped w/ a full kitchen w/ dining area, ACs, Internet access, front/back patio and more. Onsite grocery store, boutique, watersports facility, spa/fitness center, restaurant, beach bar and grill, tennis courts and more. All these conveniences are located on our property where clothing is optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Club Orient Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Orient Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Club Orient Baie Nettle
Orient Naturist Club
Beach Club Orient
Hotel Orient
Club Orient Naturist Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Orient Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.