We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Exposure Paridise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Orient Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Orient Resort to your Saves list
Club Orient Resort
1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Total Exposure Paridise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Club Orient owns the best sand and ocean on Orient Bay. The far end of the beach near resturant enjoys very calm and warm water. This is of course a nude clothing optional beach. The majority of the people will be totally nude. All shapes and sizes mostly retired folks.

The beach bar is a real value. Happy hour two for one drinks at 3pm every day. The cottages are very comfortable and nicely spaced. Well kept maticulously clean property and beach. Security keeps away obnoxious on lookers but also are low key.

Entry to the beach is divide by some rocks near where taxis drop off cruise ship visitors. If don't stay at resort there are a section of chairs available to the public.

You will feel safe and comfortable with any level of nudity on this beach. Bring a lounge chair pad or air mattress as beach chairs are only not most comfortable. Upgrade these and this place really rocks. If had pads it would add to cost of beach attendants I suppose.

I would not miss at least one visit to Club Orient. Alternative to stay at one of other beach accommodations and enjoy the public offerings of club orient. Be sure and sign up for Tiko Tiko nude sailing experience in resturant.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    49
    5
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
174
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We've been to Caliente Caribe and Caliente Tampa, and we've been to Hidden Beach, Riviera Maya Cancun Mexico and Club Orient isn't the same. Those previous three nudist resorts are luxury resorts, adults only. Club Orient is a resort for nudists, families, singles, couples, etc. It's not the same thing.
So we were disappointed. And it wasn't their fault.
Club Orient is beautiful on a beautiful bay at the North East end of Saint Martin. The resort has a real tropical vibe with lots of palm trees and sand paths and roads. They have three kinds of cabins, all with kitchenettes (most every lodging on the island seems to include kitchenettes).
They have two bars/restaurants. The one at the North end of the beach is under a thatched roof with tall stools to sit on and barbecued pizzas and other bar food during the day. The second bar/restaurant is at the South end of the beach. They have a bar inside with a stage for nightly entertainment. Shaded outdoor seating for lunch service and indoor seating for good dinners. Neither serves breakfast. (But two decks up the beach, North, is Cheryl and Andy's. An outdoor diner run by two expats from NYC.)
There always sees to be at least two rows of beach lounges and umbrellas facing the bay. Upon arrival you are given two wristbands with your names on them to attach to a pair of beach lounges so you can always claim your special spot. At the South end of the beach, past the restaurant and near the kids play area is the outdoor water sports shop. They have all kinds of unpowered water craft, fins, masks, floaters, sand buckets, T shirts and etc.
There's no pool. Again, this is an oasis not a luxury resort.
There is no meals and drinks included package which always makes me nervous about what awaits me at check out. Its not expected that you'll be carrying a purse, your room key has your room number on it and is attached to a scrunchy and you just need to show it to have your order charged to your room.
Perhaps the reason for not having an "All inclusive package" is that Saint Martin is known to have the best restaurants in the Caribbean. "Orient Beach Resort" is an area just to the North of the club where there are five more lodges and about a dozen restaurants. Grand Case, a difficult to get into town on the West Coast is about ten minutes away and has the highest concentration of restaurants anywhere you've ever seen outside of a mall food court. So while its awfully attractive to enter Club Orient, take off your clothes and never put them on again, its hard to resist the virtual smorgesboard of restaurants on the island.

One last note.
Meals aren't cheap. Saint Martin is a small island, it takes less than an hour to drive all the way around it, and there aren't any farms. So most all of the food has to be brought in. (Club Orient desalinates its own water and generates its own, 110v, electricity.)

Room Tip: Look at the map. The website has a map of the resort and details the locations of the types of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct & vt
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Spent the last ten days of April at Club O (5th time). Going back for Thanksgiving for two weeks. That should say it all.
If you need to stay at a 5 star there are plenty of hotels on the island for you.
If you don't and you want to enjoy you vacation you'll love Club O. Try it you'll like it.......(first timers).
I like to say thanks to the entire staff that makes our stay ALWAYS a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Having been to St Martin many times and stayed many places while visiting Orient Beach. we finally decided to stay at Club Orient and not have to drive over everyday. First it isn't luxurious but it is clean and comfortable, the beds are good which is for some reason difficult to find in St Martin their is a wall unit A/C that had the bedroom quite cool at night blanket needed. I love that.
There is a patio where you can have breakfast, the store has fresh croissants and rolls every day you can walk to the beach, you have your own marked chairs and umbrella so you don't have to be the first one there in the a.m. staying a little later because you can just walk back a few feet to your room is nice everyone is very friendly, the dinner at their restaurant is reasonable and really good. Great little kitchen, made service every day. Will definetly go back

Room Tip: They have rental carts for people whose rooms are a bit away from the beach. We stayed on the side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent another two weeks at Club O and I can only echo my previous reviews. Staff is superb, from those in the boutique, to the reception desk, security, the beach guys, and the excellent, ever cheerful housekeepers. There seems to be a bottomless supply ( no pun was intended) of clean beach towels, the rooms were well maintained and the other guests friendly while not being invasively chummy.
The beach is always cleaned in the mornings and despite the windy and rainy weather, the machines were busy early in the morning to clean up. Yes, the gawkers are a nuisance, giggling as they try not to look at the noodies, although that's why they came to that section of the beach. I think they expect posed mannequins, not "regular" people reading, doing crosswords or sudoku, swimming, chatting.
We've booked our next stay and are already adding ideas to our SXM notebook.

Room Tip: The mini suite rooms whose front doors face the ocean provide more shelter from the wind and rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I want to make it 100% clear that this review is for the beach at club Orient only, NOT the resort itself. Please take that into account while reading this if you are looking to stay at the resort. We were just visitors to the beach from a cruise ship.

The beach itself, water, and surrounding scenery were of course gorgeous just as expected. However, the beach was very very small, and i was extremely surprised by that. We walked from one end to the other in like 5 minutes tops, and getting from the water line to the non-beach resort section must have been like 50 ft.

Anyway, again the beauty takes your breath away, and the beach was safe and clean. Also, the staff, from the guys manning the lounge chairs ($7 per chair / per day) to the bartender ($3.50 per beer) were friendly and helpful.

So all in all we would go again in a heartbeat. The cab cost from the port area on the British side of St Maarten to Orient Beach on the French side was like $6 to $8 each per person each way, and took about 25 minutes to get to. You will arrive right where the two beaches meet (Bathing suit wearing Orient Beach and Nude Orient Beach club), so you don't have to be embarrassed about asking a cabbie to "take you to the nude beach" :-)

The only thing I didn't like is that the bathing suite wearing gawkers constantly strolled through the beach. There is no cost / barriers between the two beaches, and no nude only requirements for the club, so anyone can and does pass through. We saw single men, to couples (young and old), to (MANY) full blown families with children walking by us -- ALL fully dressed or with bathing suits. We must have seen a half dozen if not more groups of people from our own cruise ship which made my wife feel uncomfortable. It almost felt at times like us nude people were zoo animals, which wasn't so horrible with the adult watchers, but really was awkward and a bit humiliating with the (sometimes giggling) kid watchers who I can't for the life of me understand why their parents took them there in the first place.

Anyway, all of that said, the gawkers seem overwhelmed with all the naked people and they don't stare/focus for the sake of embarrassment at any one person. Even though we recognized all of those people from our cruise ship, I don't think one of them recognized us (to give you an idea of what I mean).

Finally, just another thought re the gawkers. I would imagine they come in groves with the cruise ship porting, so i would imagine if one were staying at the resort itself, beach going could be timed to avoid the clothed watchers.

Final words is that even with the gawker topic that I have beaten to death in my review, i would go again in a heartbeat and had a very pleasant visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
540 helpful votes 540 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Pros :
A unique location near a wonderful beach (a real Caribbean beach).
Clean accommodation.
Nice atmosphere.
Friendly and helpful staff.

Cons :
Food at the beach bar.
Mosquitos (!)
The safety in the island of St Martin (although you feel safe inside the Club Orient).
No pool (except a very small one if you rent the only villa... but who cares ? the beach is so perfect).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Orient Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Orient Resort

Address: 1 Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Orient Resort is situated on the white sand beach of Orient Bay on the Island of St. Martin. We offer 137 spacious ocean front or garden bungalows. Every unit is equipped w/ a full kitchen w/ dining area, ACs, Internet access, front/back patio and more. Onsite grocery store, boutique, watersports facility, spa/fitness center, restaurant, beach bar and grill, tennis courts and more. All these conveniences are located on our property where clothing is optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Club Orient Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Orient Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Club Orient Baie Nettle
Orient Naturist Club
Beach Club Orient
Hotel Orient
Club Orient Naturist Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Orient Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.