We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean warmth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Orient Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orient Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Orient Resort
Save
You added Club Orient Resort to your Saves list
1 Baie Orientale | Saint Martin, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Caribbean warmth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent another two weeks at Club O and I can only echo my previous reviews. Staff is superb, from those in the boutique, to the reception desk, security, the beach guys, and the excellent, ever cheerful housekeepers. There seems to be a bottomless supply ( no pun was intended) of clean beach towels, the rooms were well maintained and the other guests friendly while not being invasively chummy.
The beach is always cleaned in the mornings and despite the windy and rainy weather, the machines were busy early in the morning to clean up. Yes, the gawkers are a nuisance, giggling as they try not to look at the noodies, although that's why they came to that section of the beach. I think they expect posed mannequins, not "regular" people reading, doing crosswords or sudoku, swimming, chatting.
We've booked our next stay and are already adding ideas to our SXM notebook.

Room Tip: The mini suite rooms whose front doors face the ocean provide more shelter from the wind and rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank piratepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I want to make it 100% clear that this review is for the beach at club Orient only, NOT the resort itself. Please take that into account while reading this if you are looking to stay at the resort. We were just visitors to the beach from a cruise ship.

The beach itself, water, and surrounding scenery were of course gorgeous just as expected. However, the beach was very very small, and i was extremely surprised by that. We walked from one end to the other in like 5 minutes tops, and getting from the water line to the non-beach resort section must have been like 50 ft.

Anyway, again the beauty takes your breath away, and the beach was safe and clean. Also, the staff, from the guys manning the lounge chairs ($7 per chair / per day) to the bartender ($3.50 per beer) were friendly and helpful.

So all in all we would go again in a heartbeat. The cab cost from the port area on the British side of St Maarten to Orient Beach on the French side was like $6 to $8 each per person each way, and took about 25 minutes to get to. You will arrive right where the two beaches meet (Bathing suit wearing Orient Beach and Nude Orient Beach club), so you don't have to be embarrassed about asking a cabbie to "take you to the nude beach" :-)

The only thing I didn't like is that the bathing suite wearing gawkers constantly strolled through the beach. There is no cost / barriers between the two beaches, and no nude only requirements for the club, so anyone can and does pass through. We saw single men, to couples (young and old), to (MANY) full blown families with children walking by us -- ALL fully dressed or with bathing suits. We must have seen a half dozen if not more groups of people from our own cruise ship which made my wife feel uncomfortable. It almost felt at times like us nude people were zoo animals, which wasn't so horrible with the adult watchers, but really was awkward and a bit humiliating with the (sometimes giggling) kid watchers who I can't for the life of me understand why their parents took them there in the first place.

Anyway, all of that said, the gawkers seem overwhelmed with all the naked people and they don't stare/focus for the sake of embarrassment at any one person. Even though we recognized all of those people from our cruise ship, I don't think one of them recognized us (to give you an idea of what I mean).

Finally, just another thought re the gawkers. I would imagine they come in groves with the cruise ship porting, so i would imagine if one were staying at the resort itself, beach going could be timed to avoid the clothed watchers.

Final words is that even with the gawker topic that I have beaten to death in my review, i would go again in a heartbeat and had a very pleasant visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JSEE08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Pros :
A unique location near a wonderful beach (a real Caribbean beach).
Clean accommodation.
Nice atmosphere.
Friendly and helpful staff.

Cons :
Food at the beach bar.
Mosquitos (!)
The safety in the island of St Martin (although you feel safe inside the Club Orient).
No pool (except a very small one if you rent the only villa... but who cares ? the beach is so perfect).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SWcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHILLIWACK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We just got back from 13 days at Club Orient and while checking out we put a deposit down for next year. Usually we will go to different places, never the same but my wife and I both agreed we have to go back. It was so relaxing with nice weather, nice accomodations and the people that work there are very nice. Just to name a few Stephen in the office at night, Vanessa and Mimi in the Boutique always had a smile. Security were very friendly and the guys in the morning lining the chairs and putting up the umbrellas.
We brought food with us and made our breakfast each day and one of supper or lunch each day and bought the other. It worked out perfectly and we are already looking at what we can take next year.
Every morning by 700am I ran 4km on the sand which is gruelling but very good excercise. Never had a problem going au naturel past Pedros.
Every afternoon at 400pm we played volleyball for an hour.
We took a couple Tiko Tiko cruises to Tintamere Island which were really nice. The second one we explored all over the island and it was a lot of fun.
I must say that the Beach at Club O is VERY well kept up. They have a tractor rake it daily. The other places along Orient beach is mainly lined with sea moss. It comes in with the tide and most places leave it to go out with it. Club O really looks after their beach and property.
The only drawback in the two weeks was some, NOT ALL the people from the cruise ships. Some are just plain rude and lewd. Club O is not that type of place. If anyone has any questions please feel free to email me.

Room Tip: we stayed in a mini suite. Served its purpose for our 2 weeks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 2fromthewack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Love the beach and everything else. This was our 8th time at Club O. The rooms are starting to get tired. In our unit the last time it was painted (really varnished wood) it was on the bathtub,floor,etc. I know it is difficult to keep wooden structures healthy in a tropical location but their rates keep rising.
YES, we return dispite this. Morning croissant are still great

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Londonhobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This was our second vacation to Club Orient. We were delighted that many of our favorite features of the Studio's and Grounds had not changed. We decided this time to not rent a car but rather have us picked up at the airport and take to Club Orient by taxi. Club Orient put us in contact with Louis Taxi cab (Club Orient has used Louis's service extensively, you can email Club Orient for his email), we emailed Louis the day before to arrange our pickup and he got back right to us. Louis's taxi service was great and he was on time to pick us up and got us to Club Orient in about 45 mins. We had emailed the Club Orient Boutique ahead of time to have groceries stocked in our refrigerator prior to our arrival and it was all there as we expected and no extra charge. I am impressed with Club Orient Customer service. Now you have to understand, we are not expecting the Maui 4 Seasons, we recognize this is a clothing optional resort and their accomodations are just like what the videos show on their site. Our studio was comfortable, a small well stocked kitches, AC that worked fine, a ceiling fan that was great, a comfortable bed (we have bad backs but the bed was fine for us). Our price for a studio was in the 200 Euro range which include the 10% discount but frankly that is about the same price we pay for an ocean view in Maui and the room is about the same....so we were quite satisfied with the room. The beach was lovely and the water is warmer then Hawaii, we love to swim. People are extremely friendly and the Tiko Tiko catamaran ride is alot of fun. Most folks are either nude and/or topless but this is a clothing optional resort so if your spouse is just getting used to naturist environment and feels more comfortable with a few more clothes on....that is fine as well. The age of the population at the resort tends to be 40 years old and older but there are younger couples here and there. The nude beach is right out front of the resort and there are plenty of folks who come in from other resorts to enjoy nude sun tanning and the water. All in all, we had a spectacular trip again and we are planning our next trip for 2013.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JandJwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have visited St Martin several times, always staying on Orient Beach. This time we stayed at Club O as my husband wanted to sunbathe 'au naturel'. Overall it was quite enjoyable. We booked the mini-suite deluxe, which gave us plenty of room. Room 103 was perfectly situated mid-way between the store and the beach. Every morning I walked to the store for pastries, coffee and newspaper. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, hot water was plentiful in the bathroom and the kitchen included all the necessities. The kitchen cabinets needed some repairs (better yet, replacing). Our neighbors were quiet.
The downside - cruise ship gawkers walking the beach staring at all the nude sunbathers! I couldn't believe how obvious they were. The other downside - food at Papagayo's was mediocre. And since we are not nudists, it was odd having dinner in a restaurant filled with nude or partially nude people.
We've stayed at Esmerelda several times. I like the French ambience there much more, as well as the villa pools and the relative lack of day trippers. Unfortunately they no longer allow nude sunbathing, so Club O is the only choice. And we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: There isn't much difference between the mini-suite and the mini-suite deluxe, except the deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PattieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.0 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.0 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#4 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Orient Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Orient Resort

Address: 1 Baie Orientale | Saint Martin, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Orient Resort is situated on the white sand beach of Orient Bay on the Island of St. Martin. We offer 137 spacious ocean front or garden bungalows. Every room is equipped with a full kitchen, dining area, Air Conditioning, WiFi, falt screen TV, front/back patio and more. Onsite grocery store, boutique, watersports facility, spa/fitness center, restaurant, beach bar and grill, tennis courts... All these conveniences are located on our property where clothing is optional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Orient Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Beach Club Orient
Club Orient Baie Nettle
Orient Naturist Club
Hotel Orient
Club Orient Naturist Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing