We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel! Great location !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Plantation
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel! Great location !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel! The friendliest staff, georgous large rooms, huge balcony, quiet quiet quiet!!

Skip the lobster tail night! It was sooooo expensive and not that great tasting!

The breakfast small buffer was good!

Beautiful beach, on beach go to the right and stop at 'The Sun Clubber' free chairs and umbrella when you have lunch there, food is fantastic and pay in US dollars instead of Euro, since the accept it at par when you pay cash!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    137
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
40
155
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hotel on the french side in an enclosed area that gives an exclusive feel. But the hotel itself has a relaxed feel to it. We liked the feel to the hotel. The exclusive or elite feel we did not like so much.
You do need transportation if you want to get away from the beach/hotel. The rooms are very big. Amd they comfy beds with musquito netting. The seperate bathroom and toilets are another plus for us. The breackfast was good. But a bit limited if you are staying longer then a few days.
A nearby restaurant called "le piment" is awesome for a french style dinner. Its hard to get a local dinner nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I had another great time at La Plantation. Like the previous time, the staff was helpful and friendly, and the room and the hotel in general, were very clean. Breakfast was good too. I never had to ask for anything, and I didn't see anything that needed to be improved, either- they've got it wired!
With that said, I did have a small issue with some of the teenage kids that call St. Martin home. Apparently, a few of them have made a hobby of annoying tourists- sometimes it's something said under the breath; one of them might follow you into a store and mimic you, or like last visit, skid a bicycle behind you to startle you. This isn't rampant and these little backbiters aren't dangerous, but they are a nuisance. I brought it to the attention of a store owner who told me that they are "good boys." (After this chat, it stopped immediately) I got this on my walk to Orient beach, but it seems that most people rent a car, in which case they'll drive past it. I don't think they would bother a couple or small group (i traveled solo which is probably a factor)
In any case, it has nothing to do with La Plantation obviously, and it's not a deal-breaker either. More kudos for La Plantation- they're top-notch...parents of St. Martin/ Orient bay, have a chat with your kids

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI Canda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Left maritime Canada with snow in the back yard. Did not want an all inclusive and were on a somewhat limited budget-you can spend a lot on accomodations in St. Martin
The cmplex is made up of about 8 seperate buildings each with 4 or 5 rooms. Ours was a suite which is twice the size of a regular room. It had a seperate bedroom, a large living room which was open with the kitchen. Our reservation included a breakfast buffet which meant we planned on not eating til supper. We often gave in though with baguettes, cheese and ham, either in the room or on the beach. In the evenings we alternated between making something in the room and going out. The full size fridge and glass top stove were immaculate. Each accomodation have a balcony so you could put towels out to dry. It is intereseting that in the evenings, at the onsite restaurant, at 6 P.M.there would not be a person there, while at 9PM there would be 15 tables being used.
The location was about 5 minutes from the beach which made for a nice walk and was close enough that you could return easily. This is a gated community, with many, many speed bumps and round abouts so the traffic is slow, unlike elsewhere in St Martin/St. Maarten.

A strong word of caution though. We had been warned about thefts from auto- dont leave anything visable. At Oyster Pond, just on the Dutch side there is an interpretive display/observation deck. There was a parking lot with about 8 cars in it. People were kite surfing immediately next to the parking lot. We didn't plan on staying for more than a few minutes and were not more than 100 m from the car. On our return to the car, both front door locks had been forced and our back pack from the back seat was gone. They got a grand total of a book and two towels, but did extensive damage to the locks. We are still settling on that. Don't leave anything visable tin the car that might be enticing

We rented from United Rental at La PLantation which was alittle more expensive, but thought that if we encountered problems note by other travellers, the hotel might help us out. United were great and rather than having an older beat up car, our little Hundai was new, with only 3500k. That is why we were so upset that the locks had been detroyed and a scratch put in the paint as part of the break in.

I would not hesitate to use la Plantation again, both as a place close to Orient beach, but also as a jumping off point to Anse Marcel and Grand Case.

There is a significant drop in prices starting April 15 for accomodations, car rentals etc

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very nice place to stay in St. Martin. The grounds are lovely. The upper level bungalows have a great view of Orient Beach and nearby islands. The walk from the room to the office/pool area is nice and not very strenuous (worth the walk for the lovely view). The rooms are nice and the patio is large with wonderful views. The breakfast served is very good and quite hearty.
The staff is efficient and very pleasant. Fresh flowers in the room upon arrival is a nice touch.
Only complaints are: limited cutlery provided in kitchen (no sharp knives).
Water service is sometimes cut off, which can be problematic. Wi-fi is provided in common areas in office and around the pool area only (not in rooms).

Room Tip: Upper level rooms provide an amazing view of the water and islands nearby. If mobility is a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms make you feel very "islandy" and we had a great little patio. Orient Beach is beautiful and a 5 minute walk (but be prepared for MANY topless women and scantily clad men which may be shocking for Americans). Other reviewers were correct about breakfast being repetitive, very few dishes in the kitchenette and unreliable beach towel service. However, we found those things to be really minor in this beautiful setting! This place is a close drive to Grand Case - don't miss La Villa there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel consist of several little houses with a bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. This gives you the feel of a little cottage, which was great! The breakfast was served around the swimming pool, but the selection was little. Still the place was great! The bar at the was not very lively, but there were many options at the beach! One of them was Patrick at Bikini Beach.. (a true recommendation.. the service here is great!). All and all we really liked this hotel and its location, and we are definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.