We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Plantation
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in July of last year and had a lovely experience. The bungalows are very nice, the property is quiet and well kept, there was plenty of parking for the car we rented, and it was close to Orient Beach.
To people who are used to going to the tropics and staying in super air conditioned, hi-rise towers, with no natural scenery, this place is not for you. It is the tropics, there may be a mosquito in your room (that's what the net is for), a bug may come into your room if you leave food out. Welcome to the islands.
Orient beach is nice, clean, with some relaxing bars, but for true beauty and perfect swimming, head to St. Petersburg. Grab 2 chairs, and umbrella, and a bucket of beer for $20!
In general the food on the island wasn't great, but there was a lovely french restaurant on the other side of the island that was very good.
In general this hotel is a good value, and I would stay here again.
Oh! and there is a cat that comes around during breakfast (we named her breakfast kitty), please give her little pieces of ham, she is very skinny :)

Room Tip: As for a room up the hill overlooking the bay, but note there will be a very steep driveway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    135
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
157
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samorin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is a lovely hotel consisting of beautiful bungalows just a few steps away from the famous Orient Beach. The staff is very friendly and we got an upgrade to the upper level. The breakfast could be a bit boring for some people, but for us it wasn't an issue. There is also a pool, but we haven't used it all. Though, looked nice. The internet works only around the reception, but that's good enough for checking your mails. Come on, you are on holidays and try to live without all the gadgets ! There is a rent a car possibility at the reception, very convenient. We rented one small car for 2 days and had very good fun all around the island. Hope to be back next year with the kids too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first trip to SXM and I have to say I am a bit confused over why so many people rave about this island. Yes the water is beautiful, the beaches are nice and the shopping and restaurants plentiful, but after you have seen one hundred nearly identical duty free shops, a dozen restaurants featuring local creole cuisine, and a million street vendors selling the same crap the warts tend to show through. In this case, the warts are the run down, somewhat dirty towns, often lousy roads, and the arid landscape which, while not any worse than many other Carribean islands, is really just more of the same. I was hoping to be blown away by Ste. Martin and I guess I just wasn't.

But I digress - this is a review of La Plantation and if you are going to go to SXM, La Plantation is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious (we did not have any mosquito issue, unlike others) and the views from our upper level suite (we were upgraded without asking) were amazing. The pool area is nice and the breakfasts tasty as long as you don't mind the exact same spread (scrambled eggs, fruit, cereal and croissants) every morning. The staff was great the bed was comfy, and everything worked, which is not always the case in the islands. I am told that some of the rooms may have been remodeled and ours apparently was one of them.) The hotel is a few hundred yards up a hill from the beach and also steps from the Orient Bay village, featuring a number of shops and restaurants. The climb back up the hill after a day in the sun can be tiring or refreshing depending on your point of view and how many Caribs you have consumed. While I might prefer accomodations right on the water, the hotel gives free privileges (otherwise beach chairs have to be rented) at three different beach areas - I would stick with Coco Beach, which is much less crowded than the others, though the food and drink is a little more expensive than it is further down (where it can get very crowded).

So what's not to like? Well, for one the hotel still needs a bit more upkeep. The boards on our deck were literally falling off and the tennis court? - well don't bother. It is there (at the adjoining resort), but it is garbage strewn and missing one essential - a net. The gym is a storage room for old mattresses and lamps. And even finding the resort can be a bit of a challenge, though it is in a nice quaint gated community - where the gates are seemingly always open - where security does not seem to be an issue. And the distance from the beach is less than ideal. But these are all minor considerations. If I ever go back to SXM, I would not hesitate to stay at La Plantation.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the extra climb, choose an upper level room for the incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed a week in paradise at this resort -- the rooms are quaint with a caribbean charm, the views are beautiful, and the meals were fantastic. It is set back from the beach a few blocks, but that may be a good thing, as it makes things feel a bit more secluded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Water Mill, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is our fourth time at this hotel. It is on the French side within a 5 minute walk to Orient Beach. We have the beach facilities including two chaises and an umbrella included in the hotel price.
The beach is gorgeous and the many restaurants on the beach are excellent. The hotel has a Creole feel and has recently been renovated. The kitchenette is a great asset and the bathrooms have two sinks. New furniture and new mattresses make this hotel a great deal. There is breakfast every day and a most friendly front desk staff. Although not a luxury hotel, it is perfect if you want location, beach, and large accommodations. We stayed in the one bedroom suite on the lower level which still had a view of the ocean. The terrace is an added plus.

Room Tip: The upper level offers the best view but the lower level also has a partial view of the ocean. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Excelent hotel, very quiet, good breakfeast. You can seat in three restaurants (beach chairs) on the beach for free. The Cafe restaurant in the hotel was very good for dinner too. The only problem was the mosquitoes in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at La Plantation for 2 weeks in January 2013. La Plantation comprises a number of bungalows built on the side of a small hill overlooking Orient Bay - our bungalow was quite nice, clean, included cooking facilities and had a balcony/veranda with a view on the bay. The only drawbacks of this hotel would be the lack of a gym/fitness room, and the fact that the breakfast was fairly basic considering the price. Staff were helpful and attentive - overall a good accommodation option even if a tad too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;