We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Vacation at Hotel La Plantation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Plantation to your Saves list
Hotel La Plantation
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
New York, New York, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Short Vacation at Hotel La Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at Hotel La Plantation from 2/4 to 2/7 and had a great overall experience. The hotel is in an enclosed community which was perfect for a short vacation and solo travel. Upon arrival the very kind woman at reception led me to my studio and explained all the locks in the room. Pay attention because as other reviewers said the back patio door lock was especially tricky! Nothing to worry about though, and you can always call reception from the room if you have questions. The room was perfectly clean, I stayed in 612 and the room also had a new, modern kitchenette (2 stove burners and mini refrigerator), cookware is however minimal. The bathroom was also clean, and as mentioned the shower could use a little more water pressure but I think you have to keep in mind that you're on a small island, not at home. I also had no problems with the bed. No, it's not a super soft pillow top mattress but this also isn't a luxury hotel so it met my expectations. The TV in the room was also brand new, good selection of channels if that matters.

I think what I enjoyed most was the privacy you get at this hotel. Each room/studio is in a villa with at most 2 adjoining rooms. You have your own driveway and so it feels more like you're in a condo than a hotel. The staff was also so helpful and the hotel has organized trips to places like Marigot and Grand Case if you're interested. There's wifi in the lobby and pool area only. The lobby also has a large library of books in a ton of languages. There's also a shower and luggage room in the lobby, very useful!!

The breakfast at the hotel was free and you should definitely take advantage of it. It's buffet style with coffee, tea, juice, scrambled eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal and milk, bread, croissants, and sliced cheese and meats. Pretty standard offering and better than what I've had at most hotels. No, there's no waffle maker, it's not a Holiday Inn. In addition to breakfast there's a bar and dinner service in the evening. Every guest gets a coupon for a free cocktail which is just a simple rum, juice and grenadine. It's just ok, but who's complaining, it's free. Otherwise I didn't eat at the hotel because the prices were very high and from what I saw of the food, I couldn't justify 20 euro a plate.

The deal that the hotel has with the beach stands is really convenient! I spent my days at CoCo Beach which gives you free beach chairs and umbrellas. The chairs at CoCo Beach were very comfortable and it seemed a lot cleaner and newer here than at some of the other beach stands. I did eat at CoCo Beach 2 days which I half regret. Their menu is very pricey and the quality of the food wasn't worth it. I had a caesar salad and a panini. The panini wasn't bad but at 8 euro, you're better off walking down the beach for something better. Restaurants at the other end of Orient Beach had beers for $2 compared to the 5 euro Coco charged. If money isn't and issue for you and you want someone to bring you your food and drinks on the beach, go for it, but for better quality and price, I'd eat somewhere else next time. If you don't want to leave CoCo Beach, the snack stand is a lot cheaper than the restaurant's menu. Still can't beat those comfy beach chairs though...

Overall, I really enjoyed Hotel La Plantation. I was looking for a more non-traditional hotel, I wanted to get away from the all-inclusive resort and party scene and this was perfect. Orient Bay is also beautiful which for me, made Hotel La Plantation a perfect pick. If you drive to the hotel in a rental car, there is a large supermarket a little north of the hotel and a good gas station on the way to fill up before returning to the airport. This is a unique property and I think the price is very appropriate for what you get. Don't expect high luxury but it's clean, well maintained, the staff is friendly and you can't beat the location!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 800's are larger villas with the best views from the highest up, low 600's are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    141
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
165
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is our second weeklong stay at La Plantation. We came back largely because we had such a great time in 2012. The property was a beautifully landscaped tropical setting, with only a short walk to Orient Beach. The room was clean and comfortable, with a nice deck overlooking Orient Bay and enjoyed a constant tropical breeze. The hotel staff were aways friendly and very helpful, above and beyond!. Each morning we enjoyed a european style breakfast that was very good. Overall, both years were wonderful and we would not hesitate to make this our landing spot for return trips. We would recommend La Plantation to friends.

Room Tip: We opted for the larger king bed suite both years. It was roomy and had a large deck with table and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We just returned from 7 days at La Plantation. While not a 5 star hotel, we enjoyed the ambience of this location. When we arrived, our bags were put on a large golf cart and we were taken to our duplex villa located just above the reception area. The staff could not have been more helpful or accomodating. We had a view of the ocean from our large porch where we enjoyed a cold drink every afternoon. We stayed in #871. The king bed was very comfortable; we had a choice of air conditioning or ceiling fan or both. We didn't do any cooking but the small refrigerator was adequate. We enjoyed having a card with our name, hotel, and room number where we could use it to charge meals at several beach restaurants and also it provided us with free beach lounges and umbrellas as well.
The free breakfasts were very good, although the same every day. Juice, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, ham, cereal, bread baskets with croissants, coffee, tea or cocoa.
Internet access was available in the lobby area as well as around the pool; no problem.
Even though the beach was only a few minutes walk down a hill, we decided to rent a car. There is a rental agency right in the lobby where we were able to rent a small car very resonably.
We had a problem with the shower leaking through the bedroom wall on our 3rd night, and even though it was a Sunday, someone came and put a temporary caulking so that we didn't have to move.
I think for the money we had very good value. i would definitely request an upper level villa for the quiet and privacy.
We didn't ever eat dinner at the hotel; usually got a pizza at the Coco Beach restaurant, picked up salads and pastries at the supermarket or ate in the village, where there are numerous restaurants to choose from. On Tuesday nights, there is a taxi shuttle that will take you into Grand Case where in season there is a mardi gras type event that was interesting. We chose to eat in a goumet French restaurant where we had an excellent meal.

Room Tip: Upper level villas have a partial view of the ocean and are quieter and have more privacy. We had #8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

From check in to departure La Plantation more than met expectations. On arrival the reception staff we welcoming and friendly, as we had a car a member of staff guided us to room/suite in a golf buggy. All of the facilities in the room were fully explained, only thing missing was a map, the room was huge, with a large private balcony overlooking Orient Bay. The room had a kitchen area with more than would be needed, large fridge that was used mostly for ice, drinks butter and cheese. The airco was wonderful and kept the room at a very pleasant temperature, throughout the day and night. Breakfast had a very good selection and the staff were always pleasant and helpful, don't understand other why reviewers had a problem?. Only problem with breakfast was it became a bit repetitive towards the end of the fortnight. Big bonus staying at La Plantation was the arrangement they have with some restaurants on Orient Bay beach, free use of sun loungers, for a couple a saving of $20 per day, well worth it. Due to a change in my arrangements I had the chance to stay for another 2 weeks, again the reception staff were extremely helpful but due to other bookings it just didn't work out, only disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hotel la Plantation at Orient Bay on the French side of St martin in the Caribbean hasa lot going for it. Its basic rooms are called studios which provide a double bed small kitchen and balcony overlooking the foreground to Orient Bay which is the best beach on the island.

It is a short walk to the beach where there is free deck chairs and a good quality beach restaurant which is part of the Hotel.
Within a short walking distance there are a group of good quality restaurants in a square where there is live music on three nights. the square hasa great atmosphere and is ideal for kids unwilling to sit at a table for any length of time.
We found the approach of reception staff slightly variable but they responded quickly to any request.
A visit to Grand case on Tuesday nights is a must. In Grand Case, only a few miles away, there are a number of first -class french gourmet restaurants. We went to La Villa which was outstanding.
If you want a beach holiday with fine food this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Get studio not too far from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed here several times. This year we were in a renovated suite and evrything was very good EXCEPT for two minor irritants:
1. The so-called kitchen was very inadequate if you plannned to do any cooking. We had to ask for several additional items, including wine glasses (this is France!). In the end we could get by with the extras.
2. Hot water was a little sporadic and never really hot (which is not good for washing dishes). We heated up water on the stove to do this.

Service at the desk was friendly and efficient (they arranged our room for an early check-in) and daily room cleaning was excallent and prompt, in our case by Jean, with whom we have been friends for three years - she is a lovely lady who recognises us each year.

We shopped for our own breakfast (fresh baguettes from just down the street) except on one day when we had the buffet breakfast, which was excellent value at 12 Euros.

They now have free access to only three of the beaches on Orient Bay, but not a serious problem. We like Kakao best for its excellent restaurant.

See separate review of the excellent Cafe Plantation.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms are cheaper, but the upper level ones are no better. If you plan to cook, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Friendly staff and good food in a fairly good location. Breakfast was a little limited and there was supposed to be an a la carte breakfast menu but the staff didn't seem to want to make it available to me. The (superior) studio room was a little disappointing. The overhead shower didn't work, and even though this was notified to reception on the first day, it couldn't be fixed (room 851 - I hope they managed to fix it for next guest). So one had to use the hand shower, and due to a lack of a proper sized shower screen, the floor became incredibly wet. Toilet flush looked like it was going to fall apart any minute.The wardrobe wouldn't open and was eventually fixed. The safe was in the most inaccessible position imaginable, you need to be a contortionist just to locate it, never mind needing two hands to open and close the thing. Reception ran out of beach towels for a couple of days. When and if the place gets a much needed and throughly good refurb, then it will be very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.