We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing 2nd stay...but we'd go back to upper level unit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Plantation
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing 2nd stay...but we'd go back to upper level unit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

WE are extremely well travelled, mainly 5-6 star on business and holiday. We stayed here last Feb with our adult daughters in a 2 bdrm suite. It was disappointingly right by the road and driveway, and the cocktail lounge/pool area. We had no privacy and listened to cars thump over the speedbumps all night.The maids would chatter endlessly outside our window at 7am. Other than that, they have fixed up the rooms a bit since our stay in Feb 2007 and it was very clean. We love the ambience of this place. A glass of champagne by the pool before headign off to dinner is wonderful. Would definitely recommend only taking an upper level suite - we loved that our 1st time. Huge patio to have a glass of wine and listen to the ocean up there. The walk to the beach is no bother, we enjoyed the exercise. Orient Beach is THE most incredible and we LOVE Coco's for lunch and beach loungers - great service, amazing food. You can't go wrong in any of the village restarurants and must tri Ti Bouchon a short cab ride away. Momo will spoil you. Grand Case food is amazing too. Book a table ahead in winter on the patio at Auberge on Tues night to watch the parade while dining. We've been to St Martin 4 times and love it most of all Caribbean and Mexico. Couldn't get a flight or hotel after Christmas this year, so we'll be in Mayan, our 2nd choice. But St Martin beats Barbados, Nevis, Antigua, Caymans, etc. If you can afford it, Le Petit Hotel in Grand Case is amazing! But La Plantation is cozy and has everything you need. But yes, the beds are hard, brign a soft pillow.

Room Tip: Only stay in the upper level units as per my notes. You can hear the ocean up there and have a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    135
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
157
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hawthorne,nj,usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is very good located. The rooms are large, but old. Very bad mattresses to sleep uncomfortable and a lot of mosquitoes.The hotel needs renovation and reconstruction. A lot of inconvenience at the hotel. The hotel staff is very friendly and responsive. Restaurant is average, but it is better to eat in restaurants in Marigot and the Village which is located next to the hotel,tastier and cheaper. In general, all of the food on the franch side very excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a blast! Great beach with lots of activities. The staff is very helpful and friendly and definitely well above standard. Had great fun playing beach football - Olivier and Curly, you were great friends! Food was great and wonderful variety. Evening music and dance shows were very entertaining.
Only bad comment: our room needed plumbing maintenance three times during the 9 days - leaking pipes and water dripping from ceiling due to air con unit. TV remote also didn't work, but we rarely used the TV. Some general maintenance on the older units might be a good idea.
I would recommend that travellers keep quite a bit of cash at hand for the paid activities, since these people don't accep cards.
Generally the complex is beautiful and well kept!

Room Tip: Pool viewing rooms are close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloeil, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not a 5 stars but for location, cleanliness, service of "some" good employees, its close...

The suite with one king bed was clean every day. The view (upper), fantastic. The kitchen, very use full. Giant balcony with 4 chairs table and 2 long chairs. Wow.

Only bad commentary for the hotel: dont forget to take the welcome drink in the night. Paper is required but its not written. The french barmaid was completly indifferent when she said "no". I live her tips for breakfast lunch but when we will come back, i will forget it too....

Once again, Wow for the hotel and Wow for the personnal except the french barmaid.

See you in january, Saint-Maarten.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The moment we drove up knew our stay would be perfect. Lovely property, secluded yet close walk to the beach and shopping. Beautiful landscaping, nice pool. Area seemed very safe & secure. Staff helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: end units are suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinique
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Surround yourself with lush tropical plants, stay in rooms that are spacious and in keep with typical Caribeean style, high wood ceilings, fans, mosquitoe nets but still maintaining the comforts of
Modern day,air conditioning, refrigerator, hot showers. The rooms have large outside terraces to relax in to the sound of the singing frogs in the evenings. Included Buffet breakfast by the pool is simple but adequate. The staff are very helpfull. This hotel is more for those seeking a little quiet after the bustle of Orient Bay. The beach is 5 minutes walk away and use of facilities at Waikiki and Coco beach restaurants, such as sun beds is included. Be aware that there is a great deal of traffic and you need at least
an hour to get to the airport taxi fare from Dutch side 25 to 30e. From French side airport 15e with15 min drive.

Room Tip: Away from the road and reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midtown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have travelled to many spots in the Caribbean, but we always head back to Saint Martin La Plantation. The staff are fantastic and so helpful. The suites are generous and incredibly spacious with a full kitchen which is essential for cooking easy meals back at home. And it feels more like a home because you are in a bungalow with a wide porch with room for tables and chairs, rather than in a high rise. Even the studios are great - we stayed in them many times. One of the best deals is their relationship with the beach bars on orient beach - no extra cost for chairs and umbrellas - which can easily run an extra $20 USD a day. The beach is a short 5 min walk away, but since we travel with two small kids we just drive the rental car to the beach. A huge US Supermarket is a 5 min drive away, and their are smaller shops in the village to buy food in walking distance. The pool is great - the kids favorite part. Breakfast is also good (though I like the boiled egg option they previously had, but I suspect it became too messy) There is no better place for families in Saint Martin. Go for dinner in Grand Case - Brasserie des Iles or to the Lolos for BBQ delicious crab farcie and fish - about 5 min drive away. If you like loud hotels and casinos the Dutch side may be better for you.

Room Tip: I didnt mean to check spa - there is no spa there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.