We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Suite.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Plantation to your Saves list
Hotel La Plantation
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Little Falls, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Suite.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The service at La Plantation could have been much better. We dealt with several staff members who were not very friendly or accommodating. Upon our arrival a staff member showed us to our room but did nothing to help with our luggage. We were expected to load it in the golf cart ourselves and then unload and drag it into our room. The accommodations were very nice. The suite was spacious and clean. It consisted of a private outdoor patio, separate bedroom, small kitchen, large living room and large bathroom. The air conditioning didn't really cool the bedroom well or the bathroom at all. It got pretty warm with the bedroom door closed. The grounds were very pretty and well maintained. The food at the restaurant was good but not great. It was really no comparison to some of the other great food on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    140
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
43
162
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time at La Plantation! We loved the setup of the room, very roomy and we liked the patio. It was nice to have a fridge and sink. Breakfast was just fine, same thing everyday but enough of a variety that we enjoyed it the whole week. Friendly staff and the room was cleaned well. It was a 5 minute walk to the beach but we didn't mind that. We liked that an umbrella was complementary on the beach and you could charge beer to your room at the beach.
There are a number of restaurants less than 5 minutes away. If you have a car be sure to go to Grand Case and eat at a lolos. We ate at Sky's the Limit on the Beach and the red snapper was the best fish I ever had.
There is no exercise room and our bed was a little soft, but all in all we highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We just returned from a week at Orient Bay where we stayed at La Plantation 3* and found it friendly and comfortable and clean.The rooms were large and airy and had a cottage feel to them. It was good value for the money. There were 5 beach restaurants with longue chairs and parasols at no cost to use and it was about a 10 min walk down there. The breakfast buffet was ample with had a nice selection of fresh fruit. To get around , we used the local buses which you flag down and pay $1.50 per person and then returned later with a taxi which was $15-20 from Grand Case or Marigot and a bit more for Phillipsburg. We found the French side of the island less commercial and the locals were very helpful.
The only snafu was on the return trip through Charlotte, NC airport which took ages at Pass Control , no special lines for transitting passengers and only 50% of the boothes were manned, meant a 45 minute wait added to the 30 minute delay while the airport assigned us a gate caused us to miss our flight to DC. My recommendation is to avoid this airport at all costs!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this little cottage. The patio was my favorite spot to enjoy tropical breezes and quiet time, but there's not much of a view of the ocean. Breakfast was lovely, served poolside and certainly appreciated more once I found out how much food costs on the island. Don't have dinner in the La Plantation restaurant unless you're planning on spending big bucks for blah food. To their credit, La Plantation has a wonderful staff, who went out of their way to put a mosquito net over the pull-out couch for my son's protection. He really enjoyed sleeping in his little "cocoon." And beleive, me you need the mosquito nets.

Room Tip: If you'd like a view, ask for an upper level cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at La Plantation. This was our 6th year to stay here. We love this charming little place. The reception is always friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean and the views and patio decks from the upper rooms are beautiful. The property is well maintained and very peaceful and quiet. A romantic place also suited for well behaved children. The breakfasts although the same every day are quite nice. The breakfast staff is very warm and accomodating. The outdoor dinning is delicious in the evenings. Would not consider staying anywhere else on the island. La Plantation is the perfect place for a relaxing low key vacation.

Room Tip: For best views, choose the upper property. For proximity to the pool, reception, bar, restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, FL USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

La Plantation is like staying at a friend's summer cottage. It was clean, kitschy, but the refrigerator had some rust on it & the drawers would stick when opening. BUT the view was incredible, the staff was VERY friendly & helpful, the food in the restaurant was first class. The breakfast buffet (included) was the same every day, but included a range of breakfast items. On our last day, they were having trouble with the water, but we were able to use a shower in the reception area after our last beach visit. The beach is a 5 minute walk down the street & chairs/ umbrellas are included from 5 different beachfront bar/restaurants with your hotel card.
Free wifi in pool, reception & restaurant areas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Kind staff. Nice rooms in small 'cabana's'.
Located on a strip with more hotels en restaurants, bars and shops.

Internet access is hardly ever working. But you're on a holiday, so why need it.

Lovely breakfast at the poolside.

La Plantation is located on the exact opposite of the island (compared to the airport) and depending on time of day and weahter conditions the drive there can take a while.
However, once you've arrived it's holiday paradise!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.