We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French charm & a beautiful beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Plantation to your Saves list
Hotel La Plantation
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“French charm & a beautiful beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed there for 15 days !!!! We really loved it. The little cottages are adorable. The grounds are full of flowers. We rented a car at the hotel and someone brought it there for us, we did not have to move at all. The beach was a short walk from the cottage and they have agreements with Coco Beach, Bikini, Kontiki and other beach clubs so, you can use the lounge chairs and umbrellas and it is included with your cottage. Coco's restaurant has amazing lunches.
The little village has a nice pastry shop and some good restaurants.
The only negative thing about this place is that the staff is not friendly for american standards. Do not miss Pinel Island, it is gorgeous !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    141
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
165
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, LA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed 10 days/9 nights at Hotel la Plantation. Hotel grounds were beautiful and kept up very well. Orient Beach is a short 10 minute walk down a hill. and is every bit of beautiful as it's billed for. If nudity offends you, this is not the place for you. Topless women abound and a little ways down is the Club Orient, a clothing optional beach. In the early morning nude beach goers stroll by the entire beach.

The hotel grounds and housekeepers were very friendly and helpful. Not so much for the front desk personnel. Rude and not very helpful. Asking for something like a beach towel or the key to the tennis courts was exhausting to say the least. The bed was as hard as a rock and not very comfortable. The breakfast was the same every morning, scrambled eggs, toast and ham. A small selection of breakfast cereals were available with but you'd have to eat it with luke warm milk. The tennis courts were complimentary but were in horrible shape...cracks and holes and a sagging net. The hotel restaurant was very nice and the food and service were exceptional. Most of the beach bars and restaurants closed at 5pm and nothing else was nearby, so a rental car or taxi is a must, although driving around the island can be challenging. I rated the service as average only because of the housekeepers and the restaurant workers...if not for them and relying only on the front desk, I would have given it a terrible rating. I was told that most of the front desk employees were new. Maybe they just need a little training. We may return to the island again, although nothing is planned in the near future. As far as la Plantation, maybe in a year or two the staff might be changed or better trained.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

After a one week stay, this is my review:

The good: I think this hotel is situated in a good location, though extremely difficult to find in the dark. The grounds are very pretty. The area has a village feel and the many speed bumps make it a relatively safe place to walk around. There is a plaza close by with a varied selection of good restaurants with great staff and grocery stores. The hotel has the use of 5 beaches/restaurants spread out along Orient Beach.
The front desk staff were very cordial.

The okay: Our 1 bedroom suite was plenty big, especially the sitting area, and appropriately appointed for the tropics. I enjoyed sitting out on the terrace, the views were stunning.
I was disappointed in the kitchen as it was poorly equipped. It is possible to make light lunches in it but not a meal.
We were asked, for safety reasons, to keep the shutters closed at night and whenever we were out. I found it gave the place a claustrophobic feel, especially in the morning. At home, I don't have curtains, shades or shutters, so I particularly noticed this.

The bad: One of the ladies that worked in the restaurant was so incredibly rude to us at breakfast. I did complain to the management and they did acknowledge that there was a problem there that they were trying to rectify. However the next morning, the blatant rudeness continued. I just stopped having breakfast there but we also avoided having any other meals in the restaurant for fear of having her serve us. There were plenty of village restaurants to choose from.

We used 2 of the beaches and their restaurants: Waikiki and Coco. At Waikiki, 2 of the servers were simply wonderful and charming while a third was such a jerk (he seemed to have a little more authority than the others) that we decided to try out Coco beach where everyone seemed very congenial.

I probably wouldn't go back to this hotel although the pluses outweigh the negatives. I would probably try a vacation home rental on the island the next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

After 10 years of visiting St. Martin, this was our first stay at La Plantation. The front desk staff is incredible, they cannot be more accommodating, from rectifying room issues to making restaurant reservations on short notice. The included breakfast is very European in style but adequate. The rooms could use some updating but they tend to be more comfortable than other hotels in the immediate area. The relationships between the hotel and the beach restaurants is great and really keeps your stay on the relaxing side in that you can direct bill to La Plantation. The rain showers are great and the balconies quite spacious. Overall, this is a property we will use on a yearly basis!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Trip in November 2010 was very reasonably priced compared to winter peak season...from Toronto $700 pp tax included for 7 nights. Ive been on a half dozen sun vacations, this was first that was not all inclusive. The walk to the beach was 10 minutes, not a big deal.
Weather was fantasic, beach was incredible with lots of topless women and the nude beach, well, most there were in their 60s and should have left the clothes on!
Beach restaurants closed by 6 pm except one affiliated with LaPlantation which was pricy but the food was good. The little places offered USD at par to the Euro, which was a 40% savings. Everything at LaPlantation was priced in Euros and quite pricy. La Plantation is affiliated with 4 beach restaurants, so you ge free beach chairs and can charge drinks / meals to the room and use the washrooms...but you pay the premium Euro rate. It was a good system, no need to carry cash on the beach.
There was no nightlife, no local foods or entertainment at LaPlantation. A $10 taxi ride to the nearest town allowed for an incredible seaside broiled seafood dinner, BBQd in the dining room, waves crashing nearby and the sound of the surf was amazing.
Breakfast was included and the same everyday. It was OK, not really great, but we ate there every morning. Staff were friendly, rooms were quiet and clean but there were very few guests.
Im a diver and I went out a couple of times with the dive shop operating on the beach. It was reasonably priced ( $40USD / dive ), excellent new equipment and friendly divemasters. Visibility was 40 feet, and the underwater reserve had lots of huge lobsters, turtles and fish.
We rented a car from the lobby for 2 days, and were told it was $35 USD a day...and then got charged 35 Euros...about $50 USD. I would rent from the airport for the entire week next time.
I would go back having gained from experience. At $700 it was a good deal, I see St Martin often at over $2000.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottkarenny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

This hotel is on the French side of St. Maarten. We stayed at a villa overlooking the ocean. The wrap around terrace was charming, but we ended up not using the room other than to sleep so this add on was a waste. The rooms are run down. The mattress is uncomfortable and there are no king sized beds. The front desk was pleasant and helpful, although don't try to find someone to check out early in the morning. The complimentary breakfast is mediocre. We had two lovely dinners at the poolside restaurant with good food and service. The hotel is a short walk to a beautiful beach, which has plenty of restaurants and bars. All tres cher. A bit of a surprise to learn that this beach is a cruise ship excursion destination. On our first day there, we thought we were walking in a crowded mall at the beach. Anyway, we had a delicious lunch at the bikini bar there. Although the French side of the island was largely patronized by American tourists, the businesses did not seem gracious to see us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This was our first time in the Caribbean and we were not disappointed. We loved the French flair of St Martin and I was pleased I chose Hotel La Plantation. We found the hotel safe, clean (though the kitchenette was a bit iffy-I had brought paper plates/utensils). Our room according to the innkeepers was the only `lower room' with a water view and it was quite lovely, room 631, I think...maybe 632. It was short walk to beach/village. Breakfast buffet was decent and filled our tummies for the day-ham/cheese, soft/hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, fruit, croissant, french bread...it didn't differ but it is breakfast.

We chose not to rent a car so we missed out on some of the island though Gus, our driver was fantastic-he was dependable, friendly but not overbearing. Be on time with him however because he left some folks at Mardi Gras. But it was nice not having the responsibility of having a car and we probably would have gotten lost or robbed and I don't think either of us wanted to drive.

Oh I did bring some kitty food a sandwich bag of kibble because there were kttty cats hanging around. My guy thought I was insane but there were some very friendly cats and I think they appreciated some Science Diet rather than people's leftovers. One cat hung out with us the whole time she was really sweet and not at all feral.

The walk to the beach/village was about a 1/2 mile -short but up a hill --I enjoyed it but if you have walking issues it could be burdensome and parking at the beach was tight.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.