We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Living Saint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise View

Paradise View
View point, Orient Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
06 90 61 94 42
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Price range: $3 - $34
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Living Saint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

When you visit the French side of the island, stop at Paradise View, a restaurant with a killer view overlooking Orient Bay and St. Barth's to the east. The restaurant is nice, but the real jewel is a little stand called Rums and Spices right outside the restaurant. Bernadine Ali sells bottles of local rums (excellent!), spices and island sauces. She also rescues homeless dogs and cats. Buy a shot of rum for a buck. She uses the buck to feed and care for her homeless friends while she works tirelessly to get them adopted. Then buy something from her. Contribute whatever you can to her cause. The woman is a St. Martin version of Mother Theresa for animals.

Visit Bernadine and help her help the helpless. It will be a highlight of your visit to St. Martin gauranteed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been here quite a few times and can recomend the breakfast served by delightful staff and a view over Orient Bay which is stunning. Will try dinner there next time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place lives up to its name, with an incredible view from up high. I had the American Breakfast, prepared with scrambled eggs with gruyere cheese. Along the side were some little red-colored, soft peppercorns that tasted sweet, drizzled with fine balsamic vinegar. The fruit cocktail was freshly prepared, the espresso to die for, the baguette worthy of France, and the crepe sucre for dessert (yes, you get dessert with THIS amazing breakfast) was out of this world. The little shops nearby have nice souvenirs and low prices. Don't miss it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stopped here for lunch and were truly impressed. The food was delicious, my crepes were fabulous and my boyfriends sandwich was so good he didn't want to share. They had an added gratuity but it was fine with us because service was on point! We highly recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good crepes, but not a wow.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

When planning our St. Martin trip, I put Paradise View on the itinerary, not just for the view but for the crepes. We were slightly disappointed in both, but one of those issues was not under their control!

That day it was raining, so our view wasn't what we were hoping for. While we were there, an amazing storm blew in (I did get some incredible pictures of that), and they had to close the windows and drop all the shades to keep the wind and rain out. We actually switched seats a few times, first to get away from smokers and then once they left, to get away from the rain!

We finally got settled and ordered. I had a salmon and dill crepe, and my husband had one with ham, cheese and mushrooms. Both were good, but not impressive. My crepe had very little salmon in it, making it rather overpriced. I also ordered a mango daiquiri, which was tasty, and my husband tried a Kir Royale for the first time. It had quite an interesting taste! It was served in a really cool glass that had a coiled wire stand. We would have bought one but they only had a double available.

We decided to order a dessert crepe to share, and we got the Irish crepe, with Kahlua, whipped cream, Irish cream and coffee ice cream. It was supposed to be a flaming crepe but wasn't. The crepe itself was very tasty, but the ice cream was severely freezer burned and inedible.

With those items, a coffee and tip, our bill came to $60 American for our lunch. Rather expensive for a lackluster meal and very slow service. (Also, we'd asked for water, and the waitress brought a bottled water we had to pay for, versus tap water. Ask for tap water in every restaurant you go to if you don't want to pay for bottled!) There was initially only one waitress, and after a large party was seated, another waitress came out to help, but the service was still quite slow. We are used to being able to get crepes that are far less expensive and stuffed with much more of a filling back here at home, so we were a bit disappointed.

We did return later in the week just to get pictures on a sunny day. On both visits we enjoyed petting some local cats that were rescue cats. The shops there were open on the rainy day but because of the rain, we didn't stick around to shop. They were closed on Saturday when we returned.

We did not try other crepes on the island but I read great reviews about Taste Factory. If we return to the island, we'll try them instead.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise View also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Paradise View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.