We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grayling House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grayling House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Grayling House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Very Good Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at Grayling House B&B in April 2013 and we must say that Rick is a EXTREMELY great host. The room was very comfortable and the place was very well kept. He gave great tips on where to go and what to do. Excellent breakfast. Very nice fireplace. Two wonderful pet dogs. Right in front of his house (50 meters) the river Grayling. Would have love to stay a bit longer. Certainly worth another visit. Rick, many thanks for your hospitality extended to us. Kudo to Grayling House B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
31
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

What can I say? A brilliant location for a wonderful, charming B&B in the heart of Wiltshire. The rooms are amazing and kept to a 5* standard, the owners were pleasant and directed me and a few colleagues to Stonehenge and recommended other tourist attractions. The stay was cut short due to a cancellation at work but the couple of days stay emphasised how much hard work has been and is put into making The Grayling B&B what it is, simply superb!

Room Tip: The very last room on the right ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were greeted by Rick and he showed us our rooms and explained the locations of the nearest pubs for meals. We had two great nights stay here and enjoyed the information that Rick was able to share with us regarding things to go and see. We visited Lacock on his recommendation and we were not disappointed. The breakfasts that Lorraine and Rick provided were excellent as well as the sandwiches that they made of us on one day. This is great stepping off location to see Stonehenge, Avebury, Salisbury, Lacock and countless other locations.

We were very grateful for our wonderful stay at your Bed and Breakfast Rick and Lorraine - Thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a very nice b&b, very close to Salisbury, Stonehenge and other tourist attractions. The owners are friendly, hospitable and offer lots of helpful tips about the area, where to go and what to see. Our room was nice and comfortable, with a big, well kept bathroom. And it was all very clean. The cooked breakfast is really good ! This is also an excellent location if you like fishing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Grayling House is a very pleasant B&B. Rick is a very genuine, friendly, helpful chap. Didn't get to meet Lorraine. The whole place shows the love and care that's been lavished on it - everything clean, well looked after and in good working order. And breakfast was excellent. The beds in our twin room were a bit on the narrow side - presumably wouldn't have fitted in otherwise, but the memory foam was very comfortable. Breakfast finishes at 9.00 on a Sunday - a bit early for us, but Rick, and presumably Lorraine in the kitchen, were obliging and let us be a bit late.

We can also recommend a walk by the nearby river - a beautiful chalk stream.

Room Tip: Don't go for a twin if you like a lot of room in bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very nice English breakfast, good service and good family room for 2 children plus an excellent pub, family friendly nearby: The Royal Oak. We had a great weekend! Salisbury and Longleat are close by car. Beautiful countryside

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

What a fabulous B & B offering a friendly atmosphere and very clean and comfortable accommodation. Rick and Lorraine made us and our dogs really welcome and Lorraine cooked the best English breakfast we have had in years. The walks on the doorstep are fabulous and Rick took time to explain the best routes. There are also several nearby pubs serving good food and ales. Would highly recommend the Grayling House and will definitely return when next in the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grayling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grayling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grayling House is a charming 4 star Bed and Breakfast in Salisbury on the banks of Wiltshire's jewel in the crown Chalkstream, the river Wylye. Its position offers guests the chance to enjoy a wide range of rural pursuits such as walking, fishing, shooting, horse riding and cycling etc. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grayling House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.