We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a cold atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Srilak View Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Srilak View Holiday Inn to your Saves list
Srilak View Holiday Inn
A.W. Arther Sirisena Mw, Haputale, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Haputale B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food in a cold atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Positive: very nice and tasty food! Hot showers. It's a pity the atmosphere in the restaurant is rather cold and unpersonal. The rooms are quite ok. Unfortunately due to the humid climate all your stuff in the room feels quite damp.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    40
    31
    7
See reviews for
21
64
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had intended to stay here for a few nights but checked out after one night because:
- the mosque isn't just nearby, it is 100m away, the loudspeakers are aimed directly at the hotel, and the call to prayer starts at 4:30am.
- the neighborhood dogs all hang out on the covered porch of the second building, and get into regular dogfights throughout the night, making it dangerous to go outside at night, and waking you up regularly. They also howl along to the 4:30am call to prayer.
- We were given two towels that, yes, were clean, but one was damp and one was downright wet. If the hotel is constantly shrouded by fog and doesn't get enough sunlight to properly dry laundry on outside lines, it's time to get a machine dryer.
- The hot water heater for the shower was turned up to high but only provided lukewarm water.
- The wifi is Dialog - extremely slow and it only works near the reception desk.
- The staff tried to be helpful but gave us incorrect information about Lipton's Seat. Overall, they could do almost nothing to make up for the many shortfalls of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This B&B has two buildings. Apparently, based on the reviews, the main building is better, and with great views. Our building was just next to the main building but if you are put there choose your room carefully. The manager showed us the rooms in the ground floor that had musty smell just when entering them. We asked for the second floor and the room looked fine at the beginning but the mouldy smell was there as well and the second day we had enough. I think they rarely wash the blankets and as there is no sheet to put in between you and the smelly blanket this can be really disgusting. If possible choose the top floor where the rooms are breezier.
Breakfast takes them forever. We had to wait more than half an hour for tea and toast. Eat elsewhere. If you want Sri Lankan breakfast you have to order the day before.

Otherwise, we really loved Haputale with its local atmosphere – if you like places where you don’t meet millions of tourists, stay here! There is a great bakery in the village – the best stuff we had eaten in Sri Lanka. Must visit – go for egg samosa! Above the bakery there is also a simple but good restaurant.
We stayed 2 nights and traveled to Bambarakanda falls (by tuk-tuk, afternoon visit), to Lipton’s Seat for the sun rise (up there by tuk-tuk, walked down to the tea factory and then by bus) and did half a day/ one day visit to Diyaluma falls and Buduruvagala (traveled by red bus but this goes only once an hour or so from Haputale so careful planning is needed).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haputale, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed two nights from 3rd of April 2014 in the room no 17. It was with a private balcony spacious room with a Amazing view . had our dinner in the main restaurant where we got cool breeze. Food was good. Staff were working hard and treated us very well. Hope to visit again in August.

Room Tip: Room No 17 was Comfortable with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Indeed a great view.
We stayed for one night and came in late.
It's good we had reservations because the hotel was almost fully booked.
I think we were put in a spare room (nextdoor to the bar)
Too high price for a room with bedding that had it's best times...
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The views are amazing and, compared with the prices in Ella, good value. Some of the guys here will give you outstanding service, while others will give you some of the worst I experienced in Sri Lanka (though, the service standard in this country is quite high). I planned to stay four nights, and then, when I got the bill, there was no tax over the room price. I told the good fellow that I liked to stay for one more night, so he took the bill away. Next day, I got the bill from another guy, and he happily put 10% tax over the room price. I was in a hurry, so I decided just to pay it, but a good hotel does not rip off its customers like that, at least in my humble opinion. Notice that such tax can be expected in restaurants, but is normally not applied on room rates, unless stated in advance. The only service my room ever got, was by a guy who emptied my garbage bin and took the opportunity to snatch away my far from empty 5l bottle of water, which I somehow find quite funny. In short, be aware, this place has acquired some bad management, and for many of the staff you are just a short term profit. It is hard to blame them, since tourism here is a relatively new source of income, and the town is still pretty poor and full of desperate drunks. You might want to shop around a little. For many, Haputale will turn out preferable to busy busy Ella, and has better sights in its proximity (especially the tea fields & the factory, which offers an excellent tour for 250rps; and Lipton's seat, where the view is not so different from that of horton's plain, but for 50 rps only...). Yeah, go here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Well. Good things first. Amazing views over the valley is really lovely. Food is cheap (but not good so there you have it). If you are a solo traveller wanting to go to a place to hook up with other travellers this might be the place for you. And that can be difficelu other places in SL. But I must say that you get a feeling of being a part of a production line when you are here because of all the other travellers. We ate dinner and breakfat here. I would not recommend it. The curry is one of the worst we had in our holiday in SL. Really not ineteresting. You would be better off eating some lovely rotis at one of the run down places in the main street of Haputale. Would not stay there again but did the job.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Srilak View Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Srilak View Holiday Inn

Address: A.W. Arther Sirisena Mw, Haputale, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Haputale
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Haputale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Srilak View Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Srilak View Holiday Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.