We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay at our favorite hotel in Athens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Life Gallery Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Life Gallery Athens Hotel to your Saves list
Life Gallery Athens Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Thiseos Avenue, Ekali, Athens 14578, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ekali
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“2nd stay at our favorite hotel in Athens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

While booking this last trip we hands down decided to book our 2nd Athens visit with Life Gallery. Why? It's quiet, peaceful & has great views. Plus, it has a modern vibe & architecturally interesting rooms & it's sits in a cooler area at the edge of a wooded, forested area.

Pluses: quiet, great views & a nice urban area away from the hustle of Athens city center. Good, but not great, food. Has a pool, lawn & good spaces around the hotel in which to chill in.

Minuses: about 30 minutes away from the top tourist areas (if this is what you crave) such as the Parthenon & mass transit. You will need a car & driving in Greece can be a little hair raising since signs (such as STOP signs) are merely a suggestion to the Greeks.

So, if driving into "town" is cool with you & you would rather have a relaxing place to hang up your hat every night, after the craziness (& summer heat ) of Athens. This place is for you!

Management: while we enjoyed our last stay with you, we unfortunately noticed mold in your showers (so much so we asked to move into another room) that needs to be addressed post haste!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property for a quieter experience since the hotel sits on a busy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
18
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

the hotel is very very nice. rooms are big and I got a nice terrace facing the swimming pool and the trees.
the breakfast variety was a bit less than average hotel of the same category but the biggest disadvantage if the location, 30' from first restaurant area....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Life Gallery Athens Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much or choosing Life Gallery and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to see, that you liked your stay in our hotel. The hotel is located in Athens/ Ekali, which indeed is a bit away from the city centre in a quiet location. A lot of big Greek and International companies are situated nearby, so the hotel’s location is good for business and leisure at the same time. Of course for travellers who want to stay right in the center of Athen’s the location may not the best, but we also have the very famous restaurant "Kool Life" located in our hotel, which is really worth a visit. Find our more on lifegallery.gr!

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again during your next business trip to Athens!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Life Gallery Athens Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had a pleasant stay in Life Gallery Athens Hotel. Hotel’s location is ideal if one wants to relax, have fresh air and be away from Athens centre. Hotel has one of the best restaurants in town.

Pros: Luxury environment, Breakfast, Location, Local market
Cons: Away from Athens centre

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Life Gallery Athens Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Life Gallery Athens the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the unique atmosphere of the hotel and the breakfast. Indeed we have the advantage to be away from the center, so the air is fresh and the climate far better than in the town center. Anyhow, we have a lot of international companies nearby.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Life Gallery Athens Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall my rating for this hotel would be average as there are many positives but also many negatives that balance out.

Let's start with the positives:
- The food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) is great. The menu us not huge, but the quality of both the ingredients and the preparation is excellent
- The design of the hotel is very modern and of good taste. This includes both the rooms and the hotel in general
- The spa menu is extensive and the facilities are what you would expect from a 5-star hotel.
- The bed was one of the best beds we have slept on.
- The staff are very helpful and friendly and try their best to accommodate your needs.

And now for the negatives:
- The location is food, but it is too far from Athens center or from the closest metro station, which makes it inconvenient for both business travellers and tourists.
- This is obviously a hotel that has functions (weddings, baptisms, company events etc,) as its main source of income. We stayed for one night and there were 2 baptisms and a wedding, I discovered that, apart from the bride and groom, we were the only room guests in the entire hotel... This means that the management don't really care too much about room guests, which creates a number of issues for "individual" guests:
- We were denied access to the main pool because the entire area was booked for a christening reception.
- We only managed to sleep after 3am because of the noise from the wedding party in the area directly below our room. Our complaints to the front desk went unnoticed (we were the only room guests in the hotel, you see), but at least they had the decency to give us a €30 discount when we checked out
- Breakfast is only a la carte and there is no buffet. Unfortunately there is no menu to choose from. You have to think about what you want and they prepare it for you. As a result it takes about 40mins to prepare and serve breakfast.
- The spa shows evidence of relative neglect: steam room out of order, the staff did not know how to operate the sauna, a number of showers did not work, the jacuzzi/pool water was not clean (there was stuff like oil floating on the surface) and they did not seem to care about limescale build up all over the place...
- Pool deck furniture is not cleaned very often (there were spiderwebs in many places)
- The bed was squeaky
- The shower had limescale built up which distorted the flow of water, the cordless phone was not working (thankfully there is a normal phone in the toilet wall)
- There is no stationery
- There is no room/hotel directory
- There is no room service menu in the room. You have to call the restaurant to request one.

All these are small details, but this is a 5-star hotel which makes them necessary.

I would strongly recommend this hotel for functions or large business meetings that require a stay-over, but not for tourists or individual business travellers.

Room Tip: For some strange reason the better rooms are in the front of the hotel, which is adjacent to a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Life Gallery Athens Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for staying one night in Life Gallery and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a save trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback concerning the service, the food, the design oft he hotel, the comfortable beds and our spa.

Also your critical points found our full attention. Please accept our sincere apologize that we were not able to fulfill your personal expectations in all points.

Please allow us to explain some points. The hotel is located in Athens/ Ekali, which indeed is a bit away from the city centre in a quiet location. A lot of big Greek and International companies are situated nearby, so the hotel’s location is good for business and leisure at the same time. Of course for travellers who want to stay right in the center of Athen’s the location is not the best, but as you told us during your stay, you have chosen Life Gallery especially because it’s away from the center.

During your stay, in total we had 7 rooms occupied, so you were not the only in-house guests. We really regret that you felt disturbed by a wedding celebration which took place during your stay, as we always do our best to allow a peaceful stay for all our guests without any disturbances. Unfortunately you informed us on the next morning about your worries and not right on the spot, so in this case we did not have the chance to react anymore.

Our glass swimming pool is exclusively for hotel’s guests use. We are very astonished to read, that you felt the access denied and think there might have been some misunderstanding and wonder, how you could discover spider webs and weaknesses in the pool area. Please be sure that we will check this issue.

Concerning the breakfast menue and the room service, we would like to inform that currently we are changing our menues for the summer season and we do not want that a guest finds something on the menue, what we don't have anymore. This is why during your stay there were no menues. We are very sorry for the inconveniences caused.

The hotel – room directory in each room is located above the mini bar together with the emergency map and evacuation procedures. We have checked this in your room as well and think that maybe you did not see it.

Our spa is rented to an external company and in your case the employee of this company was new and unfortunately not informed yet about all the facilities and procedures. Thank you for informing us about your experiences. Please be sure that this point is already solved and fixed.

Kinldly note, that limescale in bathrooms, shower, etc. is very common in Athens/ Ekali region and even with intense daily cleaning not always to avoid, as the tap water contains a lot of limescale.

In order to apologize for not having satisfied you completely and as a courtesy, during your check out we charged only the rate for a lower room category.

Dear guests, the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Please accept again our sincere apologize and be sure, that we will use your critic for further improvements. We would be glad, if we might welcome you again, when you one day come back to Athens.

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Life Gallery Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

the review is of the new kool life restaurant that is inside the hotel.
we choose the athinorama menu which is half the prices of the catalogue(40 euros per person). without is double the price.
the ambience outside by the pool is very nice. also, the service was fantastic

the menu

• Vegetable soup with smoked cheese pelletizing Metsovone
• Vitello tonnato - the carpaccio was excellent, but the sauce was more more mayonnaise than tuna!
• Shoulder beef with couscous flavored with beetroot - also excellent but the bacon ice cream was a very bad idea!
• Rooster with onion confit and baby sprouts - fantastic
• Millefeuille with caramelized puff pastry and apple - very good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Life Gallery Athens Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for coming to Life Gallery and for sharing your opinion about Kool Life Restaurant with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are also thankful for your suggestions, as they help us to improve.

For us, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you back soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Life Gallery Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Rooms are excellent for 2013. Service brilliant and friendly / professional. As a regular to Athens this is my favourite. I even left light's on my car and was politely reminded during an excellent dinner. All staff communicate to make your stay as smooth and comfortable as is possible. Credit to the management.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Life Gallery Athens Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for coming to Life Gallery and for sharing you experiences with other travelers! We hope you had a save trip home.

It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our small hotel and that you found especially the rooms perfect after the renovation we did last year and that you appreciate the service.

For us it would be a big pleasure to welcome you again!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Life Gallery Athens Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Did not have the chance to stay overnight at this beautiful hotel however, we enjoyed their spa package for couples and it was divine. Strongly recommended for couples and business travelers, this hotel, though on the outskirts of Athens (45 minutes to downtown Athens) is a very hype hotel with minimalistic design and wonderful interior design. Would not recommend it for families or elder visitors as it is way too modern and access is rather difficult. Their landscape design is also fantastic and the spa packages are exclusive though a bit pricey.

Room Tip: All rooms have view to the hotel gardens. I would ask for first floor rooms to avoid the noise of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Life Gallery Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Gallery Athens Hotel

Address: 103 Thiseos Avenue, Ekali, Athens 14578, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Ekali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ekali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Life Gallery Athens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life Gallery Athens member of Bluegr Hotels & Resorts was founded in 2004. Modern architecture finds its expression in a building with glass surfaces, Zen gardens, and ethnic elements. 2 Suites, 3studios and 24 deluxe open space rooms provide the ultimate experience to the modern business traveller. It is an ideal venue for meetings and incentives offering conference and board rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Life Gallery Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Gallery Athens
Life Gallery Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life Gallery Athens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.