We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for what it is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Pey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Pey to your Saves list
Aparthotel Pey
Av. Montserrat, 10, 25560 Sort, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sort
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for what it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A lot of space, a decently equiped kitchen, very nice staff and ping-pong, all brutally affordable. A fantastic deal! A father with his 2 sons, we thoroughly appreciated the space and the views and the ping pong. It is nothing fancy, but it does the job very effectively!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Unlike the other reviewers I visited this hotel without being attached to a tour. My girlfriend and I came in June during the week and it seemed like we were the only people in the hotel! (Or in Sort, for that matter) An older gentlemen (perhaps the owner?) manned the front desk in the morning and taught us how to count in Catalan. Another woman manned the desk in the evening and provided excellent restaurant recommendations. The rooms are nothing fancy but the property has a good breakfast buffet, a pool, and a perfect location -- situation right on the river and in the center of town. I definitely recommend this hotel if you're vacationing along the Noguera Pallaresa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the apart hotel Pey with Activities Abroad when we were doing an adventure holiday with our two sons, age 8 and 11. We had a wonderful time, the activities were fantastic, especially canyoning and white water rafting, the food was delicious and the location of the hotel was perfect - centrally placed with a lovely swimming pool, very near the town's park and all the restaurants and shops. The owner of the Pey is a real character, very funny and friendly to the children. He was an Olympic kayak champion and very involved in the development of Pey for sporting activities. His son also works in the adventure sports industry so they are all very helpful and knowledgeable.

Our family apartment was very comfortable and clean, everything we needed, although quite basic and the decor was dated. We didn't mind though as we had such fun doing the activities and then in the pool the rest of the time so it was just a comfortable place to flop into bed at the end of the day.

The person who really made our holiday such a huge success with Activities Abroad's rep Martin. He was so incredibly nice, knowledgeable and fun. Nothing was too much trouble. He was great with all the children and really taught us a lot about the history of the region, the flora and fauna and traditional Catalan food etc. I can't recommend him highly enough. We had the holiday of a lifetime and have already booked another trip with Activities Abroad, this time to Lapland for a winter holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We travelled with Activites Abroad to the Hotel Pey, Sort, for the Catalan Pyrenees Level 2 activities holiday. Hotel Pey was friendly and very clean but could do with a little updating!The holiday overall was brilliant! Once again, the team back in the UK provided first hand information pre booking and were excellent before departure when I wanted further clarification and suffering from last minute panic attacks about some of the activities I had signed us up for!! The range and level of activites during the week was tremendous and was fantastic for our teenagers. The local activity company used were highly professional and safety was a high priority. Our local representative Martin couldn't have been more helpful both with the activites and in helping us with our choice of venues for eating out which we frequently did en masse (32 in the group!).
We would highly recommend Activites Abroad.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We had a large though fairly basic apartment with a large eating/sitting/sleeping room (with our one child in) but our room was cramped with only basic storage.

The hotel is right in the heart of this small town and you either overlook the park (ex-riverbed) and town or the river. If the river, it's noisy because of white-water conditions all night which sounds like non-stop air conditioning. A/C would have been preferable as we were too hot at night (30degC evenings) so had to leave the french window open making the noise worse and meaning bright morning light as well.

We didn't use the kitchen facilities which seemed basic but OL - the 'fridge was useful though, if only for water.

With a full hotel and cool weather breakfast downstairs would be cramped but we spilled out into the garden which was great. Food was fine - wide range though the same dvery morning. we quite grew to like cold boiled eggs and cool bacon & frankfurters!

A friendly non-English speaking 'patron' wanders around making sure everything is OK and the garden area is good for sitting out in. The pool is a good size though cold but needs refurbishing as the sides are extremely rough and edges dangerously ragged.

In all, a basic but but very acceptable hotel with helpful staff and a family atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Pay as part of an activity holiday with our kids and also my sister's family. We had an unforgettable time doing things like kayaking, canyoning and best of all a 5 hour white water rafting trip on the beautiful river which was undoubtedly the best day out we've ever had as a family, it even included lunch in a riverside restaurant!

The hotel was in the centre of Sort and perfect for the choice of restaurants and bars in town including a Michelin Starred place called Fogony - just go! The kids loved the pool and the owner was a reason to visit in his own right and with a mixture of Spanish, Catalan and French he kept us all very entertained.

All the activities were very well organised and it was obvious that they valued safety above everything else. We'd been slightly concerned about this bu twere reassured by our holiday company Activities Abroad and even more so when we saw the activity company in action.

Finally, aword about our wonderful rep Carlotta, she made the holiday all the more special and we can't express our gratitude enough.

We want to go again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We were 2 families traveling with teenage children through the Pyrenees, booked the Pey Hotel in advance for 2 nights. The hotel is well-kept and the apartments were very clean and comfortable but basic. The most notable points were 1) the friendliness and helpfulness of the reception manager, Natalie, who helped us with restaurant recomendations, booking a rafting trip, etc., while providing lots of useful tips and information that made our visit enjoyable and made us feel welcome - the emphasis on "friendliness" which is unfortunately not a typical Catalan attribute, and 2) the setting of the hotel with the river at the front (view from the rooms) and a very nice pool area at the rear facing the center of the town with a view of historic buildings. Pleasant lobby. Breakfast was included in the price and was very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Pey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Pey

Address: Av. Montserrat, 10, 25560 Sort, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > Sort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aparthotel Pey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Pey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.