We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterrani

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mediterrani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mediterrani
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Francesc Estrabau 40, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Decatur, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

When I first booked the Hotel Mediterrani, I was unsure of the value as it was much more expensive that I usually book. However, it did seem to be appropriately priced after looking at other hotels nearby. The location couldn't be beat. The views were phenomenal and the rooms were comfortable but a little small. We loved hiking the Cami Ronda and relaxing on the beach. The beaches were a little crowded, but with a short hike down the trail, we were able to find a pretty secluded one. There were also plenty of lovely little places to eat right on the water. Breakfast at the hotel, I felt, was wonderful. They had several breads, sweets, meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit.... I'm not quite sure what some of the other posters were complaining about. We very much enjoyed it as well as the view from the dining room. Overall, we loved the town, and the hotel was very nice with a prime location.

Room Tip: pay extra for a balcony overlooking the sea. it's not that much more, and the view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    34
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have traveled all the catalan coast, and stayed in all kind of hotels. Mediterrani is one of my favorites. As many other reviewers mention, its location is amazing, in one of the most beautiful locations in the Costa Brava. I don't usually stay in a 2-star hotel. But, this one is definitely more like a 3-to-4 star. Service is great, rooms are very comfortable, and breakfast with a view is awesome. One of those great places that would still be a "hidden gem" if it wasn't for TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a terrace room , the view was amazing ! The room was newly refurbished very nicely. Good Air con. Could have done with some drawers and a fridge but for a 2 star hotel our expectations were exceeded. Staff were very helpful and mostly friendly. Very good breakfast with selection of cold meats , cheese , yogurts etc , yummy cakes ! No hot breakfast , so of you fancy egg on toast or a fry up you won't get. Bar was reasonable but if you want water there's a 'spar' Rhonda the hotel where a 2L bottle of water is .50 centimes instead of 3 euros at the bar! Normal I guess. All the restaurants / town are a very short walk. Beach was very crowded but very well behaved children and nice people. ( it was peak season!). Lovely weekend , great hotel will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a nice little hotel with smallish but modern rooms. We had a lovely terrace with amazing ocean view . Breakfast just ok. Wifi worked . I would stay here again and thought it was great value for money in a charming location close to good restaurants.Was so relieved to arrive in this lovely part of the Costa Brava after driving through the more developed beaches closer to Barcelona

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I spent two nights at this boutique hotel last week and while the bay in front of the hotel was divine, although terribly crowded the hotel fell way short of divine. The hotel fails to make the most of its position ie overlooking a gorgeous cove and the Med beyond, by serving breakfast in a room with a great view and wonderful food but with windows firmly shut and plastic table cloths, albeit plain grey, giving an institutional ambiance. The room I was first shown had a window with a wall I could touch and when I was moved, I did have the balcony as confirmed on the booking.com confirmation, but it all overlooked a back street. I really would say to think twice before booking if you don't have a sea view room confirmed. There are plastic chairs in a row out the front of the hotel where you can have a coffee or a drink but no tapas.. I didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast. The bloke in reception was quite the magician in producing a beach chair to have for the day, it made up for Mrs Sourpus I had only seen up until then.. There were no suggestions as to fabulous spots to eat despite emailing in advance saying I had a cooking school and swell culinary destination hotel in Marrakech.

Room Tip: As mentioned already, I really wouldn't stay if I couldn't have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

this hotel is hard to fault - it's central but quiet , modern but still retains some olde worlde charm , all the staff were helpful and friendly , the food at breakfast was great - lots of choice (and with a fantastic view of the sea and boats from the breakfast room ), cleanliness second to none , our room was spacious , the bathroom lovely with a great shower and the bed comfortable . our room was at the rear of the hotel so although the view was pleasant it wasn't as good as the stunning view from the front bedrooms .we loved the old pictures of the hotel that were on display in the public areas which date back as early as the 1920s !! i have two gripes which is why i have not graded the hotel as excellent ... firstly i felt that the amount the hotel charges for a room with seaview is far too much ( we were quoted an extra £200 for one week !!!) and the lack of parking . we either had to use the small public carpark ( 12 euros a day !) or drive around until we found a space on the roadside that was within a comfortable walking distance . maybe this is only a problem during the peak months but i thought it was worth a mention .
we did have a fabulous holiday and will definately return again to enjoy this wonderful resort !!!

Room Tip: be prepared to pay if you want a room with a sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. The hotel is ideally located in Calella within a few steps to the beach and centre. Our room was very comfortable and clean with a great shower, although we didn't choose a sea view room, the outside space looked slightly larger than the balconies. The room was also in a quiet spot. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The breakfast selection was fantastic and although the drinks were from a machine, there was a good selection of different coffees and other drinks. We were sorry to leave the great views from the breakfast room on our last day. Calella is a very romantic spot. We hope to return and have a sea view room next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterrani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterrani

Address: Francesc Estrabau 40, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mediterrani 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mediterrani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterrani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.