We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterrani

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mediterrani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mediterrani
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Francesc Estrabau 40, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Picturesque view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. The hotel is ideally located in Calella within a few steps to the beach and centre. Our room was very comfortable and clean with a great shower, although we didn't choose a sea view room, the outside space looked slightly larger than the balconies. The room was also in a quiet spot. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The breakfast selection was fantastic and although the drinks were from a machine, there was a good selection of different coffees and other drinks. We were sorry to leave the great views from the breakfast room on our last day. Calella is a very romantic spot. We hope to return and have a sea view room next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire,England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having previously stayed at the Hotel La Torre we decided to try the Mediterrani having read that it had been refurbished. What a great choice ! Lovely helpful staff, spotless bright rooms and a WOW view. Not the largest rooms but well designed to make use of space. New and very smart bathroom with excellent shower. The public areas of the hotel would lead you to believe it was going to be all dark wood and dated decor. Just the opposite, our room was exactly like the one on the the photos with lovely modern styling. Unless you only wan't somewhere to lay your head, don't even consider rear rooms. The view from the front is totally mesmerising.
Breakfast was better than some 4 stars we've had with a very varied choice of items, but no hot choices.
The hotel has a small bar and offers snacks to order. A few tables outside are a nice spot for a light lunch.
The perfect location of this little hotel more than makes up for it's lack of 5 star facilities and the quality of the rooms together with friendliness of the staff make it a very good choice for couples.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms cost more but have a larger and more private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This recently refurbished hotel has an excellent position - looking over the "ramblas" of lovely Calella, surely one of the most romantic spots in the Costa Brava. The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast has lots of variety, and they really care for their guests. We were delighted with our stay of 3 nights and would recommend the hotel without reservation

Room Tip: A sea facing room costs more but is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandía
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We loved the hotel, despite we had windows to the rear side, the location is lovely with a frontal access to the beach and a bar service (with few options, not a real bar)
The rooms were very clean and confortable. We have a good memory of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place to stay. Very clean and stylish rooms, balcony with sea view (fantastic!), good breakfasts, very friendly staff. The only minus is no WiFi access in the rooms.
If i visit Calella de Palafrugell again, i won't think twice where to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Do you want to stay in a traditional Spanish hotel right on the sea? Then this is it. I have stayed here many times and never been disappointed. The view from your bedroom and the dining room is superb. The hotel has been refurbed to a high standard without taking away it's charm. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom has an excellent shower. The continental breakfast and service is very good. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is one hotel I'd unreservedly recommend, but you need to have one of the better rooms with a sea view. We loved to sit on the balcony early evening and watch the world go by. Mind you we did go to the little store around the corner (turn right out of the front door, then right again, 100 yards up the hill) with a cold glass of something. Mind you you need to ask the cashier for the ice, you won't find it otherwise.
Now everything else that's been written below is true, this is a truly wonderful hotel in an amazing location, with lovely staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mediterrani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterrani

Address: Francesc Estrabau 40, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mediterrani 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Mediterrani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterrani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.