We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with wonderfull seaview” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterrani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mediterrani to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterrani
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Francesc Estrabau 40, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Москва, Россия
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place with wonderfull seaview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place to stay. Very clean and stylish rooms, balcony with sea view (fantastic!), good breakfasts, very friendly staff. The only minus is no WiFi access in the rooms.
If i visit Calella de Palafrugell again, i won't think twice where to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Do you want to stay in a traditional Spanish hotel right on the sea? Then this is it. I have stayed here many times and never been disappointed. The view from your bedroom and the dining room is superb. The hotel has been refurbed to a high standard without taking away it's charm. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom has an excellent shower. The continental breakfast and service is very good. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is one hotel I'd unreservedly recommend, but you need to have one of the better rooms with a sea view. We loved to sit on the balcony early evening and watch the world go by. Mind you we did go to the little store around the corner (turn right out of the front door, then right again, 100 yards up the hill) with a cold glass of something. Mind you you need to ask the cashier for the ice, you won't find it otherwise.
Now everything else that's been written below is true, this is a truly wonderful hotel in an amazing location, with lovely staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The service at Hotel Mediterrani was excellent. Each member of the staff I interacted with was gracious, friendly and helpful. It was much more than you would expect from a 2-star hotel. The design and decor in my room and throughout the hotel was simple and clean. Everything was impeccably maintained and made for a very relaxing and inviting environment. The quality of the breakfast (included in my room price) was good and there was a great deal of variety. I agree with other reviewers that the only thing I would have appreciated at the breakfast was real coffee (instead of instant from a machine which for me, was undrinkable).

And of course, the seaside location looking over the center of town in Calella de Palafrugel cannot be beat. Although my room did not have a view, the views from the lobby, the breakfast room and the terrace were breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great hotel with a good price for being right on the beach. Staff was very helpful, breakfast was very plentiful and the room was comfortable clean and cozy. Room was also very quiet at night. I think that they controlled the a/c as it was not on at one point ( but it was a very cool evening). It did come back on later and got quite chilly so it does work well! It is right by the hiking trails and and everything there is to do in Calella.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is located just over one of the wonderful 'calas' of Calella, with splendid views of the see and the small town. Directly in the pedestrian area, itis a few minutes walk to the center restaurants, the see and even the diving club.
Rooms are modern and very clean, the ones with view to the see are a real dream.
Service is very good, friendly and fast to attend.
Breakfast is really good, spanish omelete, serrano, fruits, and a lot more.
Good value for money, We've been there now 4 years in a row!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I returned to the Mediterrani Hotel for a second trip after having such a good experience last year alone. This time my husband came too. They have made changes to the Hotel and it is even better than last time. I really cant fault the Hotel in any way. Breakfast is excellent with a good variety and choice. Loved the coffee it was great. The staff as last year were helpful and attentive. It is spotlessly clean, comfortable bed great shower. The room was amazing and the view - it was like opening the curtains on paradise everyday. my husband was also impressed and we will definately return.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea are definately worth the extra money, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterrani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterrani

Address: Francesc Estrabau 40, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mediterrani 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mediterrani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterrani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;