We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Port Bo

Best prices from these 3 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Port Bo to your Saves list
Hotel Port Bo
August Pi i Sunyer 6, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a 2 bed apartment in this hotel from 21st to 28th of September together with our two small boys ( 22 months & 7 Months) and my wife’s parents. All of the group were very happy with our stay, the place ( Calella) is very nice , and the hotel was kept spotless. Breakfast like everybody has mentioned was excellent, and after the first morning, there was a table ready for our group every other morning, a nice little touch, in fact all staff at the hotel and the staff behind reception went out of their way to help. Overall we were very impressed, it’s only a 3 star hotel, but it had 5 star cleaning staff and 5 star attitude towards its guests. The hotel and Calella itself was at the end of tourist season, and was very quiet, nothing much happening which suited us perfect. We would definitely go back and hope to someday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
624 reviews 624 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
1,602 helpful votes 1,602 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is on a quiet street in this small seaside town. The rooms and bathe while clean need to be updated. We had a room with a good sized terrace facing the sea. The pool is great, the breakfast is one of the best we had, special orders are brought to your table as well as cappuccino or expresso. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful.
Jeremy T

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Once again this hotel provided the perfect base for a holiday in Calella. Spotlessly clean due to a team of cleaners that never stop, large rooms with plenty of space, food at breakfast that far exceeds any expectations and the staff are so friendly. Xavier and his colleague are brilliant with everyone and David and his team on reception are so helpful.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet area, at 5 min walking from the sea.
It is very clean and our room was so comfortable.
The swimming-pool is lovely.
Staff are pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hotel is situated close to the seafront, about 5 mins walk. Our room was very clean, fresh and comfortable. The Hotel is very quiet and has a lovely swimming pool that never needed towels on sun beds at 6am, however some people still do that!!
We were on a room and breakfast basis, (the hotel do not do evening meals), and the breakfast is excellent. It is buffet style with an excellent choice. If requested they will freshly cook eggs in just about any style for you. The restaurant staff are very helpfully and friendly especially the restaurant manager who is exceptionally friendly and goes out of his way to meet ant requirements asked of him. Our towels have been changed every day, and the room is serviced to a high standard.
If I was critical, perhaps the TV could be upgraded as the one in our room was quite dated. However we don't go on holiday to watch TV so it didn't bother us. Certainly recommended.

Room Tip: The Hotel has rooms which all have a view or partial view of the sea, and also apartments that overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in an apartment off season (12th & 13th April) I booked a great offer which included breakfast. The apartment was great with dishwasher, hairdryer and we got an upgraded to a two bed apartment which was perfect for my 4 year old daughter. I managed to cook lunch and dinner and the apartment is well equipped. The pool area is lovely (although it was freezing) good size with a nice slide and kids minipool. There is also a shower room near which would be pefect for after check out. The location is idea and we took a 5 min walk to the beach which is ideal. Upon check-in we were a little worried with the old fashioned decor of the hotel but it didn´t bother us because our apartment was fine.
The breakfast is amazing and I didn´t turn down the copa de cava!! but the fish yes. They offer everything and will do even more if you ask ...eg.. bacon, eggs, I asked for a ¨proper coffee¨ not the machine and it was no problem (in other hotels im always charged for it but not here. I was really pleased with the hotel for the price it´s great and suited us perfectly...in fact on check out we re-booked to return next month , same apartment !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epworth Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Port Bo in September and it was fantastic just as we remembered it was 9 years earlier. The high standards of cleanliness and the buffet breakfast were just as we remembered excellent. Staff are most helpful and polite and we cannot think of anything that could be improved. It is a family run hotel and they do it so well and we look forward to our next visit Thankyou.

Room Tip: Unfortunately no rooms have a direct sea view but may get a slight sea view from the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Port Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Bo

Address: August Pi i Sunyer 6, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Port Bo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Bo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Port Bo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.