We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful campsite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Moby Dick

Camping Moby Dick
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calella de Palafrugell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Moby Dick
Save
You added Camping Moby Dick to your Saves list
Costa Verda, 16-28, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful campsite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Last summer my girlfriend and I stayed at Campsite ' Moby Dick' for one month. The campsite is fantastic as it very quiet yet only 100m from the beach. Don't expect to find loud teenagers or drunken tourists here The staff are extremely friendly and go above and beyond to make sure your stay is great. I can highly recommened the restaurant located at the campsites (mussels for 4€!). We've already booked for next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very pleasant campsite. It is attractive and the facilities are clean and well maintained. It does not have all the flash swimming pools etc of Camping Siesta up the road (where we have previously stayed), but it is closer to the beach and centre of Calella and offers a more authentic camping experience. Service at reception and in the bar / restaurant is friendly and efficient. We stayed at the top of the campsite, and the walk will make you sweat, but it is an effective way to burn off all those tapas.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in a Bungalow at Moby Dick in july 13
the campsite staff are very friendly and welcoming always waving and ready with a smile ,
it has a nice cafe bar area with a relaxed atmosphere subtle music and cold beer :-]
the site is terraced on a hill so walking up to the top of the site was challenging for the unfit but car assess throughout the site is very good and parking near your pitch is available ,
the site is wooded and offers nice shade the gardeners maintain the pitches too a good standard sweeping leaves chopping bushes ect ,
the site in whole is a refreshing relaxing place and the staff care about the customer,its not noisy at all its a tranquil family run place and i cant wait to go back !!
the situation is superb 5mins from the spar supermarket so we could get all our supplies easily,
8mins walk to beach and town restaurants ect.. calle de palafrugel is unspoilt gorgeous catalan fishing village ,picture postcard perfect ,
dont let any negative review on here put you off its a campsite a very good one !!!not a 5 star hotel

Room Tip: less mobile people should ask for bottom of hill pitch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here after reading the Lonely Planet who suggested itand we were not disappointed. It was mid June so it was quiet so shared the place with only a few other people.
The site is set in pine trees so you get some sun and shade and some areas you get a sea view as well. Sites are a good size as well. The sites on the other side of the road are better we thought. 100m from the beach and supermarket. Restaurant and bar were not open when we were there so cannot comment if they were good.

Room Tip: Sites the other side of the underpass were better some with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago for a month and loved it, beautiful calm natural surroundings of Mediterranean pine wood,friendliness of staff ,a family run business where you feel at home . I am disappointed to read the negative reviews perhaps some people would be better off in hotels, but for us this was an authentic camping experience with no commercialism or gimmicks, would love to go back!

Room Tip: A place for nature lovers who dont want to be bothered with tourist trappings, in a lovelly village
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molandier
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very nice campsite, shady, calm and very very close to the beaches and village.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed here during a backpacking trip around Europe. The camp site was adequate (it may have been updated since as it is a long time ago that I went there). It is a very small campsite.

The village of Calella de Palafrugel is lovely though with nice restaurants and little beaches.

  • Liked — the village where the camp site is located
  • Stayed August 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Moby Dick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Moby Dick

Address: Costa Verda, 16-28, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Calella de Palafrugell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Moby Dick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.