We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alga to your Saves list
Hotel Alga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Joan Pericot i Garcia 55, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Typical hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This area was recommended by my Spanish son in law. The hotel was pretty ordinary though. Definitely missing the wow factor although nothing wrong with it. The only place that my travel agents could offer in this area. Lots of other places online if I wanted to go it alone. The room was really tiny and no balcony as requested, twice. I particularly requested a balcony. We could see that most of the rooms with balconies were unused. After going online suddenly head office from travel agents contacted us. Suddenly a balcony room was available but at €25 extra per night. We were already paying way more than the online price if I had booked myself. At check in we were told we could have a room with balcony for 2 days then would be back to tiny box. Not good.
Plus point was hotel was within 5 minutes of the beach and restaurants for the evening.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a balcony as rooms are tiny and claustrophobic. We overlooked the car park eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    74
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
64
92
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Had 6 nights here in July and really loved it. We had one of the newer family rooms on the ground floor, which I believe are the most recently done - it was very spacious, modern and well equipped. (Some other reviews seem to suggest some rooms are in need of refurbishment - definitely not the case with these newer rooms.) The bathroom is very modern, but a slightly interesting design - let's just say privacy can be an issue, so make sure you're happy with that situation, and who you're sharing your room with - you may know them a little better when you leave than when you arrived! Although being ground floor meant no view - you have a screened off area from the terrace outside - we really didn't mind this. Our outdoor space was big - perfect for sitting & drying wet beach gear, and there was no noticeable noise from the outside areas to disturb us at night, which we wondered if there might be. There are two pools - a small kiddie one, and a much bigger one. The big pool is really excellent, lots of room to swim, even with a lot of people there. The pool and grounds are very well tended & cared for. The breakfast was excellent, really impressive selection, especially the baked goods. We didn't eat there in the evening - reviews had suggested that was perhaps a weak spot - and there's so many options in Calella itself, so we went there - totally recommend Calau, the tapas place on the front - went twice & loved it - get there early to grab a spot! The hotel was closer to the town & beaches than we had thought it was. They have a back gate you can use your keycard to access which makes the walk even shorter than if you went out of the front of the hotel. Don't think the hotel is too far from the beaches or restaurants, it really isn't. Calella itself is lovely - a perfect seaside town, with a really good selection of restaurants, cafes & ice cream shops. For regular shopping, we think Begur is better, and cheaper - a short drive away. To summarise, this for us was a perfect spot for a week by the sea in Spain, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Newer rooms on ground floor were big & modern & recently completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauban, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Lovely hotel with beautiful gardens and pool area, a short walk to the beach. We booked a double room with a balcony and sea view. This was unavailable so we were upgraded to a family room with two rooms, a double bed in one and a sofa bed in the other, very spacious. Unfortunately that night, when we tried to sleep, we could hear a loud humming sound. We traced it to the wall of our main bedroom. We discovered we were above the kitchens and the huge extractor fan duct was attached to the outside of our bedroom wall. We spent an uncomfortable, noisy night on the sofa bed. The hotel moved us to another room the next afternoon, but we had lost one night of two. A lovely hotel, but DO NOT ACCEPT ROOM 122.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view, but NOT ROOM 122.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We came to Hotel Alga for the second time and it didn't let us down! The Hotel is in a great location with a 2 minute walk to the beach where there are lots of cafes and restaurants. The Hotel has great facilities including a big swimming pool, a Rackets Court a restaurant, a table tennis table and a small playground for young children. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. With a little extra money, you can get a room with a balcony with a beautiful sea view. I would recommend staying at Hotel Alga.

Room Tip: I recommend a Sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We considered ourselves lucky to stay here. The pool, grounds, and outdoor amenities surpassed expectations. The rooms were very bareboned, and the shower's hot water was a tad intermittent. We had trouble figuring out the a/c, it would just stay on all night and not shut off when it reached temperature. You're better off not using the a/c. The service and complimentary breakfasts were fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is an old renovated hotel, and it shows: some of the renovations are well done, but in other ways it still feels very dated. The grounds (gardens, pools, etc.) are fabulous! But if you're unlucky enough to get one of the rooms facing away from them, you're stuck with a view of the parking lot. The restaurant leaves much to be desired. The dinner menu is fussy, pretentious, and worst of all bad (except for the desserts). So skip the half-board and just stick to breakfast (which is decent enough).

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Why is this hotel rated only second in Calella? We have stayed in several hotels in Calella but since we first stayed in the Alga we would not consider using any other. From the moment you walk into reception the welcome is evident. The staff are courteous, cheerful and helpful. The food is excellent and varied. Out side there is a good sized pool set in a relaxing garden, which is very children friendly. In short I would recommend theAlga to Old and young alike

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alga

Address: Av Joan Pericot i Garcia 55, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel situate 200 meters from the beach of Calella de Palafrugell to focus on the Costa Brava. The restaurant offers fine local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alga Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.