We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perferct for a romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant Roc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sant Roc to your Saves list
Hotel Sant Roc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Atlantic 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perferct for a romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Sant Roc is located in the lovely village of Callela in The Costa Brava, overlooking the sea. It is a charming little hotel, run by a local family. The service is excellent, the staff is extremly attantive but never in your face, giving you a memorable personal experience. l loved the rich and tasty breakfast at the spacious terrace in the morning under the sun, overlooking the beautiful beach of the village. You can get a lovely view from here as the hotel is on the top of the hill/rock. Rooms are clean and modern but really stylish with some elements of antique design. The beds are amazing, I had the best sleep in ages in this hotel. There is a good wealth of history attached to the building and the area itself, really interesting. Location is great, if you drive you can easily go and visit nearby villages and cities. I would love to come back here again for a romatic getaway, it is just a perfect setting for a couple. Thank you for the staff for making my stay such a nice experience.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room overlooking the bay or the sea, amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
79
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel Sant Roc has been owned and lovingly run by three generations of the same family since it was built. A hand painted mural in the bar dated 1955 depicts the hotel. Its outline has not changed, nor has the setting. Quite simply the hotel has the best position in the most charming resort on the most beautiful and rugged coast on the whole Mediterranean.

Balconies of rooms that face the sea, especially on the top floor, have the view up and down the coast with the bays and beaches of Calella in between. The terrace of the hotel allows you the same view whilst breakfasting or sipping a huge gin and tonic before dinner. Watching the sun or moon rise and set over the reflecting sea, listening to the waves breaking gently on the rocky coves, observing the fishing and scuba boats sailing to and fro, smelling the pine trees, scanning the blue horizon... if the hotel gave you nothing more than this you would pity anyone who had not experienced it. But there is so much more. It has been continuously but discreetly modernised without losing any of its charm. Since our first stay about fifteen years ago it has acquired a playground, air conditioning, flat screen TV, wi-fi. Beach towels and parasols are supplied. Breakfast has expanded to include a broad buffet with crisp fresh bread and delicious croissants, and the coffee remains strong and fragrant. The half board menu has become imaginative and delightfully presented, with a separate vegetarian menu and a ready willingness to vary dishes for dietary reasons. The Crema Catalana is so good that you could easily choose it every night. Staff are warm, cheerful and helpful without being obsequious. Rooms sparkle and linen is crisp. Bathrooms are well equipped. Do not expect lavish overblown five star luxury. This is a hotel with real and seemingly effortless charm, not contrived boutique glamour. The effortlessness is the only illusion; the staff work hard to maintain it. Everything else is real and delightfully so. It is not a cheap hotel. But it is excellent value. And, if you get bored with the half a dozen beaches within day walking distance, there are so many attractions within a short drive, including Cap Roig, Girona, Figueres (with its dazzling Dali Museum), Cadaques and the old hill towns including Pals, Begur and Besalu.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Beautiful, overlooking water. The restaurant was on a lovely terrace overlooking the water and town. The rooms were comfortable and service was very good. I had some health issues and they made special meals for me...so appreciated! Rooms were comfortable and beds were better than most that we stayed at in Europe. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Certainly a great location but we got the hotel through a guide for presumably charming hotels. Its clean, personnel is friendly but rooms are small and as a result, we considered it somewhat overpriced. We had a 2 rooms with one bathroom and a big terrace overlooking the sea. We had to leave luggage outside on the terrace as an opened suitcase didnt fit into the room. The second rooom where the children slept, didnt fit anything else then the two beds. An advantage is that they cant fall out their beds! The village is lovely, room clean, view is magnificent, personnel friendly, breakfast ok, but we dont think this should classify as charming, boutique, luxury what several guides indicate. In august when its really hot, the great airconditioning is very much appreciated and works perfect. We eventually only spent one night and left for a equally expensive " masia " elsewhere but something that certainly met expectations of the same guide.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It's only a 3 star hotel and not pretending to be otherwise. But there's not a lot of options for higher-end hotels beachside in this area (the area is obviously full of apartment rentals, etc. for families who come year-after-year, etc.). But it suffices and our room was more than pleasant enough, although small; we had a superior with a large terace overlooking the port/beaches, a truly stunning view, great sun, lounge chairs on the terrace, etc. Bath up-to-date, very clean; decor somewhat ordinary, nothing to fawn over.

We stayed mid-August 2012, high season -- and the hotel was packed with families (as was all of Calella, lol). So a cautionary note if one were looking for a more couples oriented/quiet retreat.

The biggest -- and by far -- issue here is the food, and at least for our stay, the half-board requirement. We booked late in July and was told that the only room available required a 4 night stay (OK, it's high season) and half board. That made it 290E a night for 2 people. And I don't have a problem with that even -- if the food were, uh . . . edible. Frankly, it wasn't. And issues surrounding the arrangments were a comedy of errors and mis-communication. The half-board means breakfast and choice of lunch/dinner. BUT, you need to reserve in advance.

We arrived at around 2PM to check in and assumed we'd immediately have lunch in the hotel; nope -- was told no space available, we hadn't made a reservation (nor had we been told we'd need one). As we had plans for the evening (concert at Cap Roig Festival) we couldn't make dinner. OK . . . after some discussion, they gave us a credit for half of the half-board, and another meal during our stay. Fine. So, we then made a reservation for lunch the following day and dinner the following 2 nights.

When we arrived on the terrace for lunch the next afternoon (and it's a beautiful view from the terrace on a summer's day!) -- we were told sorry, our reversation was for the interior dining room only and there was "no space" available on the terrace. Um, Ok. Despite lots of er empty tables (less than half of which they've decided to use for outdoor dining). We changed our plans and decided to dine outside the hotel -- but couldn't help noticing as we left about an hour later that the empty tables on the terrace continued to remain empty -- I'd say after the time by which we would have been finished. The response? They hold the tables for the reserved guest the entire duration of the lunch/dinner service. Um, Ok . . . . all of the rigamarole seemed slightly absurd to us. But we don't own the place.

As for dinner -- when we finally had our "reserved" table on the terrace (about which they made great fanfare); well, it looks like they try. Menu, presentation, etc. all seem to aspire to be more than bland hotel fare. But . . . in reality it was pretty bland and unexciting hotel fare. (Oh, and did I forget to mention -- after paying half board, if you actually want to eat outside on the terrace there is a "supplement" -- they actually give you another menu (the place also functions as a restaurant open to the public) with the additional supplement for hotel guests who are dining outside. For dinner this amounted to an extra ~40E each night. Again, a comedy of sorts over having given us different versions of the menu - one for the public with "real" prices and the "supplemental" price menu intended for us, lol. It all seems rather unnecessary and complex.

But no matter -- while the location, public areas of the hotel, wonderful terrace all lead you to expect more -- really, it's not up to snuff. After eating dinner 2 nights in a row, and I can only describe the second evening as an awful, regrettable mistake -- we skipped out on the rest of any meals at the hotel. And while we didn't ask for it, they were kind enough to give us a credit for some portion of the half board when we checked out. And the staff in general were very friendly and at least tried to be very helpful -- so I regret not being able to be more kind on the food, but it is what it is.

The breakfast -- meh, a layout of breads, mini-pastries, smattering of cold-cuts & cheeses, etc. Fine enough for a cafe and bite in the morning on the terrace (luckily no reservations required for breakfast!!!!). Just consider it part of the pricing for the room (not sure if the half-board thing applies during other times of the year).

In short - we'd stay here again; location is wonderful, views hard to match and facilities clean and perfectly fine. Some might find a parking issue -- it's crowded and just not many spaces, but we managed to pack in front of the hotel every time. Just would never plan to eat here again - and there's so many good options a short walk away. The best investment they could make for the future would be to shake up their kitchen staff. If you ignore the food, it's a great little place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is very good located in Calella. It seems to be the best in the village, located on a rock with a stunning view over the sea. We went for the Family room, which means two nice rooms, a bath and a small entrance. A very nice terasse belobged to this appartment. One of the assets of this family driven hotel is the very good service: all employees are very friendly and understand english. The customer orientation is very good!

Another asset is the restaurant. Although breakfast could have a wider variety, especially lunch and dinner have been first class. Delicious meals, very good prepared and high variety of choices.

The hotel has an own terasse with an exceptionel view over the sea. It takes only a few minutes to reach one of the public beaches.

All in all: this hotel is highly recommended for families, but also for all generations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Lovely hotel, with well furnished rooms and friendly staff. But the restaurant was below average. The worst food we had in a week's holiday in Spain. Tasteless paella, poorly flavoured fish stew etc. stay here - but eat in the village.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sant Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Roc

Address: Placa Atlantic 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and peaceful hotel located in the heart of la Costa Brava. Come and let yourself be carried away by emotions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sant Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Roc Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.