We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely campsite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping La Siesta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calella de Palafrugell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping La Siesta
Save
You added Camping La Siesta to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Chopitea 110 - 120, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Merseyside
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely campsite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed for two weeks end of May in our own touring caravan. It is a lovely clean site situated just 10 min walk to the lovely beaches of Calella and Llafranc. The shop on site is very good with plenty of choice and reasonable prices. The wines were especially good value and no more expensive than the big supermarkets. I could image it would get very busy in the peak season and you would struggle to get and loungers by the pool, as on the weekends when we were there, the site filled up with locals coming for the weekend, and all sun longers were taken. The site is always full in peak season. I prefer it a bit quieter out of season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    70
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
113
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have been visiting this area of spain for over 40 years now and 3 years ago I decided to rent one there cabins and have been going ever since. So good for, kids as it is so safe, the people, service, cleaniness, entertainment, location just under 10 mins to the beach. Love it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar, Spain
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

FInding a place in busy Catalonia summer time where you take for granted things like cleanliness, lack of noise, quality children activities and a beach that is simply to die for can be hard. These guys achieved it easily it seems. This place offers all that and more.

Get a bungalow for a 100% massive experience. You will find nice people, many Dutch, some Brits, and French too. It is totally family oriented. Night activities rock!

It was 2013 our first time. It will NOT be the last.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows on the Western part of the complex, away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We have been going to La Siesta for many years n we love it so much we are still going back again n again. The staff, the people, the cleanliness, everything about La Siesta is just fabulous. Walk down to the front n down to La Franc n it's stunning, you don't have pub after pub n no lager louts either. Sheer heaven.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We decided to have a late summer holiday, just for a week, at the end of September. Excellent decision!! We travelled as usual with Siesta holidays, on the coach. We thought it may be a bit too much travelling as we were only staying for a week - but it was fine. Good coach journey as always. Nice sunny weather all week. Excellent service on the site, very helpful reps. No problems at all. To top all this - being in this idyllic area of Catalunia. Who could ask for more. As I have said in earlier reviews, we keep returning to this site - just the 2 of us, or with family. Probably been coming for 25 years or so. It's nice to visit other places, but this is our home from home and where we relax more than anywhere else we go!! We find new places to visit each time we come. I think we probably know most of the walks in the area, but we always manage to to find another one on each visit. We like to venture further inland by car to see the beautiful villages - Besalu being the latest find. Can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: The Siesta 4's are just right for a couple - using the 2nd bedroom as a dressing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N lincs
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

booked with canvas holidays. Friendly staff. good position for beaches & coastal walks. Within easy driving distance of more beaches & towns. Tourist train great for trip home if legs are too tired!!
Supermarket excellent value for money & very cheap. Nearly everything you could want. Bakery good with freshly cooked bread all day. Although sometimes we had a daily competition to see who could get the staff to smile first!!
Nice walk to beaches but can be a long haul back with chairs, snorkelling gear etc!! Steep steps down to some beaches so not suitable to less mobile . Sea absolutely clear, clean & warm. Lots of fish.
restaurants in town good & varied. Lots going on at night. Very comfortable walking about.
Like most campsites can be noisy at night and in early mornings
lovely coastline. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Filthy, that describes the state of our Canvas mobile home: Washing-up basin in cupboard beneath sink full to overflowing with stagnant smelly water which has cascaded down into bottom of cupboard filling our saucepans. Cutlery,china and glasses had not been washed. Toothpaste and grim on mirror in bathroom. All windows covered in finger etc. marks. Pillows really dirty and one which was found under bed on a grimy floor soaking wet with who know what. When we advised the rep that this was far, far from what our Canvas accommodation is normally like, he advised that he would give it a quick clean. I told him that it would take a team over a week at least to get this mobile up to standard and that we would liked to be moved he said that there were no others available. I got quite stressed and upset and felt very insulted to expect us to accept such filth and so after a while my husband said he thought it best if we check out and go elsewhere. The rep asked us to wait while he checked again and funnily enough he found us a very clean mobile home. When we looked around the camp site, there were several empty clean mobile homes, not in use and actually were not used for the full time we were there.
Upon our return home, we contacted Canvas UK with our complaints and photos of our complaints only to be told that our feedback was important to them and that they would try to ensure that this did not happen again. We thought a small gesture of goodwill would have been offered to us for the stress, wasted time and insult. We replied to that effect and requested either the CEO or Company Secretary details to see if they were of the same indifferent opinion. They would not provide us with their details and said the matter was now closed.
If you have a problem with Canvas, don’t expect to get treated with respect. We had been loyal customers of theirs for several years and had recommended them on to various family members and friends and felt they would only be too pleased to show us that we were valued. Not so.

Room Tip: Don't use Canvas - Siesta holidays are on the same site use them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping La Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Siesta

Address: Chopitea 110 - 120, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping La Siesta 3*
Also Known As:
Camping La Siesta Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping La Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.