We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camping La Siesta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calella de Palafrugell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping La Siesta
Save
You added Camping La Siesta to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Chopitea 110 - 120, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton Lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have returned to La Siesta many times. It's in the perfect location for exploring the idyllic area. The walks - coastal or inland are magnificent. The restaurants in Calella and Llafranc are a very good standard. The typically Spanish town of Palafrugell town is 1/2 hour walk or short bus ride away.

We travelled by coach with Siesta Holidays - Obviously 24 hours is a long time to travel, but we had a good relaxing journey. Excellent service from the hostess and drivers, and very comfortable seats with lots of leg room. Loads of films/tv programmes/music & games on your own personal tv with headphones. Siesta have their own area of lodges in a nice part of the site. Ann and Steve, the onsite reps have been there for many years. They are very helpful, very nice and have a great sense of humour.

There are 2 nice clean pools on the site - unfortunately for the last few years, the smaller one is only opened in July and August. Also the apartment block which overlooks the smaller pool has stood derelict for a number of years, and the bar in this area has closed down. This is a great pity because this used to be our favourite area of La Siesta. - nice and peaceful. This is the only negative point of my review. The fact is - we continue to come here because it's still a great place to stay.

If you want to hire a car, the helpful reception staff will arrange to have it delivered to the site for you, and the prices are very good.

The bakery is brilliant - try the fresh croissants in the morning - yummy!! The supermarket is well priced and well stocked.

We never get tired of returning to La Siesta, and will continue to come every 2 or 3 years (we like to try other places too, but have never found anywhere that makes us as happy as here!) .... our children and grandchildren are also carrying on the tradition :) xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    70
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
113
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

It was a great week - wish it could have been longer! I would thoroughly recommend Camping La Siesta to friends. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Palafrugell itself was delightful and picturesque, with it's shops, cafes and restaurants.- traditional Spain and not full of high rise hotels! Everyone came back relaxed - Fab!

Room Tip: We had a bungalow which sat in a row of three, which was very near to the entrance - but, it felt ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

we returned to la siesta for the 3rd year running at the end of june, we always went to castell montgri in the past, but tried this site because it was slightly cheaper, we havent looked back. its a great site, the kids (14 and 9) can go off with friends and you know they are safe, the pool is great the resturant and bar are good, violeta is a lovely lady remembered us from previous years. my only negative is the childrens entertainment, it does seem mostly for the non english residents who sit round the stage watching it like its the most fun they have ever had without spending any money, we spent money every day (this is what pays the wages after all), so did feel a little left out, apart from that its great, kids enjoyed anyway. Siesta holidays staff were great, problems with new tv,s on coach but refund already waiting when we got home. cant wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a great fortnight on this site with canavas holidays. The site is spacious and immaculate. Facilities on the site are good. Tennis court, beach football pitch, playpark, table tennis... Both pools are great. Three shops (supermarket, excellent bakery and news/beach goods shop) are very reasonably priced and well stocked. Lots of activities available on site for all ages, many free. Calella and La franc are a short walk and a big sand beach is a short drive away at Pals. The area is unspoilt and not built up and touristy in the way that playa 'aro is in the south and Estarti is in the north. Local bars and restaurants very reasonable. This is a really nice campsite. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just back from 2 weeks in La Siesta and thought I would give some feedback.
Flew into Gerona with ryanair and hired car at airport ,it was very reasonably priced. Its about half hour drive to La Siesta but roads are excellent. Booked direct with La Siesta park in a BMK4 bungalow. It was small but sufficient for 2+2 if one of the kids is 14+ as the extra bed is in the roofspace and not suitable for smaller kids. We thought there could be a few improvements in bungalow eg no kettle only saucepans, no hot water in kitchen area only in bathroom-but these are only minor issues. Campsite was spotless with lots of area around pools etc to relax. Nice gamesroom for teenagers and kids club for smaller people where the kids could go to paint, play games etc. Pool area was well diciplined with no horseplay allowed which made it comfortable for everyone although it was beginning to get quite busy from 5th july. Lot of spanish stay at weekends so busier at pool area. Night entertainment was very poor so we only went to that 2 nights. 5 mins walk to resort area which is very pretty with beautiful coastal walks and just enough restaurants and shops to ramble around without the big commercialised touristy shops. We visited different neighbouring towns in the evenings just to see the best of the area.Palamos is a 10 min drive , there is a lovely harbour there & excellent restaurants which are very reasonably priced. Pals is a really old town where you can visit lots of small craft shops and walk the narrow streets and Tossa de Mar which is further afield also has a lovely "Old Town" area which has fab views and little cosy restaurants. Costa Brava is a beautiful area of spain and far less touristy than solou etc so it would really suit if its a nice relaxing holiday you need. The only real disadvantage we found were the beaches. They are mostly manmade, some get deep very quickly and have very strong waves which I was quite nervous of with the smaller kids. All in all it was a very enjoyable holiday, relaxing and I would definately recommend both La Siesta and this area of spain but a car is essential if you really want to see the best parts of it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have just returned from this campsite and I have nothing but praise! We were two families with a 13 year old boy in each.
We rented 2, 2 bedroomed mobile homes from La Siesta.co.uk and were positioned on the nicest pitch ever!
The campsite itself is lovely. Clean, quiet, great facilities (gym, spinning classes, water aerobics, kids rooms etc, pools and restaurant.
We didn't bother with the entertainment but it is there if you like that.
The food is very good and reasonable and the supermarket is very well stocked and reasonably priced. There is a bakery which is open from morning to night selling wonderful bread and pastries.
The main reason I give this place 5 stars is the location.
It is the REAL Spain with the lovely small port just a 5 minute stroll down a hill. There are lovely restaurants (very well priced) and small coves for sunbathing and the sea is so clear with coral and fish swimming at your feet!
There are wonderful cliff walks with the most stunning scenery ever and wonderful flower gardens just a short drive along the coast (about 10 mins).
All in all I am sorry we did not book 3 weeks or more!
I will most definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Lasiesta.co.uk and the campsite cabins were in the best locations. I would not like the pitches that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed in the caella nou cabins for a week in June 2012. The cabins were great, BBQ etc included. The location is right beside the pool which may be a bit noisy during the busy season. It was quiet at the campsite really with the childrens activities etc mostly confined to weekends. Overall not an all singing, all dancing campsite but lovely and relaxed with lovely friendly bar staff. I loved that we could walk into the nearby village for drinks/food. We rented a car and saw some fab places nearby, Pals, Begur, etc. For sandy beaches the car was invaluable! There is a lovely walk along the coast which is amazing, though a bit of a challenge with a double buggy..but worth it! The area is one of the nicest we have visited in Spain, we will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping La Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Siesta

Address: Chopitea 110 - 120, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping La Siesta 3*
Also Known As:
Camping La Siesta Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping La Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.