We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Zalama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Zalama to your Saves list
Casa Zalama
C/ La Fuente 13 | Burgos, 09569 San Pelayo de Montija, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Toddington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The only downside to our stay was it was only one night. Travelling with a group of friends by Motorbikes we arrived late having travelled from the ferry port of Santander. The greeting was fantastic, the rooms beautiful and dinner in the small and cosy dining room the best of our two week route across Spain and France ! Do yourself a favour and book some time at this small and great place. Great value and good service in a lovely location.

Chris

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have just returned from 5 nights at Casa Zalama staying in the suite. The house was peaceful with a great rustic ambience created by Graham & Mari Cruz which made us both feel at home immediately. Excellent, healthy dinners and breakfasts made the stay even more enjoyable. The hosts advice and help on where to visit was invaluable for us to take advantage of our short stay - walking, riding, prehistoric sites, waterfalls etc. Marks out 10 - only 9 I'm afraid... just because I couldn't stay longer! A great way to change the (s)pace of life. Thank You Casa Zalama

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I totally recommend Casa Zalama! It is located in a small town, quiet and relaxing. It has been tastefully restored and it is full of little details (the owner used to work decorating houses and you can really tell she has a talent for it!). The room was spacious and beautiful. The garden is fantastic, with loads of flowers. The owners are very friendly and have had the most interesting life. They not only made us feel at home but gave us all sort of advice on what to do. Dinner and breakfast were home cooked and delicious, and we had a romantic table with fresh flowers and a candle. What a lovely experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We enjoyed a superb 2 night stay at Casa Zalama and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone seeking a quiet, scenic corner of Spain with good home cooking. The house is beautifully decorated and our room was spacious, homely and comfortable. The surrounding area is stunning, both for local walks in the village and for exploring Las Merindades. All in all we had a friendly and relaxing couple of days with great hosts and Mari-Cruz's delicious leek souffle remains one of the gastronomic highlights of our 2 weeks in Spain!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Just an update from my last report two years ago. Casa Zalama is as good as it gets. We have now stayed here four times and never tire of the place. Wonderful hosts, wonderful food and great wine - all at astonishingly low prices. We are hoping to return next year and bring four other couples! The Ebbro valley must be one of the most beautiful areas of Spain and has yet to be discovered by the tourist throngs. Go before it's too late!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Zalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zalama

Address: C/ La Fuente 13 | Burgos, 09569 San Pelayo de Montija, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > San Pelayo de Montija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Pelayo de Montija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Zalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Zalama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.