We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valbusenda Resort

Best prices from these 10 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Valbusenda Resort to your Saves list
Valbusenda Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. de Toro-Peleagonzalo s/n, 49800 Toro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Toro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in this beautiful resort for only one night to break up a road trip between Madrid and Vigo. Our first impressions of the hotel where mixed. It was located in a beautiful area and is quite remote. The hotel seemed deserted, and it had a very eerie feel to it. When we pulled up outside the hotel we were quickly greeted by a member of staff who quickly helped us remove out luggage and checked us in.

They did not speak much English, but that was no issue. We were shown to the main lounge area to have a drink while they took our luggage to the room. There was a good selection of drinks and I thought it was quite reasonably priced. Once we were ready, we went to the room. The room was magnificent!! I have stayed in a lot of hotels across the globe, and this was the best room I have ever been in. The staff had heard us talking about ordering room service for dinner as we were tired, and had set up a platter of fresh fruit and cutlery ready for room service. The views from the floor to ceiling windows were magnificent. The food was excellent, the bed was excellent, the view was excellent, the atmosphere was excellent. All in all is was excellent. We never tried to the spa facilities, so cannot comment.

The next day, we had breakfast. The breakfast serviced was nothing short of epic. it consisted of five large plates with a variety of cold means (typical Spanish types), fresh fruit, fresh fish and fresh pastries. In addition to these, an egg menu was available. The waitress was very attentive to our needs. I don't think I have ever had such a pleasant breakfast.

I believe there was only one other couple at the hotel, and given the size of the resort, this made it feel a little deserted. However, this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and we will be going back the next time we are in Spain. This is truly a hidden gem..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    16
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
109
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on the way from Madrid to Vigo. We arrived around 4pm to be greeted by a lovely helpful gentleman on reception who checked us in, took the bags to the room and parked the car for us. We enjoyed a coffee and a drink in the hotel bar which had lovely views of the surrounding Toro countryside. We said we would like some room service as our evening meal as we were both tired from a long drive and we arrived in the room to a laid up table, fruit stand and complementary wine and water. The room was wonderful, large comfy kingsize bed, an extensive pillow menu was available if you did not like the ones available, large bathroom area with a nice bath, separate walk in rain shower, his and hers vanity sink unit, complementary toiletries. The views from the room were lovely and we enjoyed a nice meal from the in room dining menu whilst taking in the beautiful views of the surrounding countryside through the floor to ceiling windows. We didn't use the spa so cannot comment on that. Breakfast the next morning was probably one of the nicest we have ever enjoyed from a hotel, we had a 3 tier stand set up on our table with smoked salmon and a white fish on the top, fresh fruit in the middle and a selection of spanish meats and cheese on the bottom accompanied by a plate of pastries, basket of warm fresh bread, coffee, juice and an egg menu so you could order eggs to your liking. All in all a wonderful breakfast that we enjoyed immensely. I imagine this hotel is very popular with the spanish looking to enjoy a 5 star retreat for a long weekend. We stayed on a Thursday night and I believe there were only one other couple staying in the hotel so it was a real treat and we felt very spoilt. I would recommend to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool and the surrounding countryside of Toro. I imagine all rooms from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in this beauty on a weekday in august and the hotel was almost empty, so we felt like the place was only ours. It is an incredible investment relative to the size of the property/ vineyard and the tourist traffic in the Toro region- which produces less known Spanish wines of amazing value. The rooms/ pool area are extremely well designed and stylish and the staff did everything possible to give us a 5 star experience, from checking in, valet service for the car, premium breakfast and winery tour. The only disappointment was the spa policy: 40 eur/pp fee just to access the facility? That's more than the ritz carlton. No waiving of the access fee if you choose a treatment? That was a first for us- and we've been to many spas. It is not even about the money as it is about feeling "robbed". I bet they would get more customer satisfaction if they lowered the fee or waived it for spa services.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel- very modern and excellent staff. However, it is very isolated and extremely expensive and offers no included extras. The outdoor pool was still not open in mid-May and the spa was prohibitively expensive. We travelled in to Toro for dinner each night where there was a great atmosphere, but you need to drive, as the hotel is a good 12-15 minute drive outside the town.
It is well situated to visit the exciting wineries of Teso la Monja and Numanthia, but again a good 15 minute drive away.
As a young couple we found the place to be isolated and quite soulless- we were only one of two couples we saw whilst staying there.
The most disappointing aspect was the that a tour of the connected winery was not discounted to visit (and judging by the complimentary wine left in the room, the winery is not worth the €30 entrance).
I do have to mention the exceptional breakfast in the morning. The food was plentiful and of exquisite quality and freshness. The views out of the dining room are absolutely fabulous, showing the natural beauty of this wine region of Spain.
The rooms are also very clean, modern, spacious and boast a lovely big bathroom.
If you are looking for a romantic, private, not to mention expensive, break this is a wonderful hotel. However, with no complimentary transport to the local town, if you are planning a wine tour be prepared to have your own transport and not be hoping to drink too much!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks down over the valley. The huge windows in the bedrooms on that side boast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We don’t normally pick this type of Hotel but we got offered discounted deal and took it. We arrived on motorcycles after a long ride and were welcomed outside the front door with the offer to take our bags to our room. I got the feeling that if we’d asked they would have parked the bikes as well.
Check in was accompanied with a welcome drink and they seemed unfazed that we were dressed in motorcycle clothes covered in dead flies. The room was spacious with complementary bottles of house wine. The pool area was very relaxing and the food was excellent. From arrival to departure the service was excellent .

In summary a genuine 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quijano, spain
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Strange area, although good for travellers who enjoy vineyards,

Zamora/Toro is THE place to try good wines. Loads of bodegas around to visit and buy.

Hotel is fantastic. From arrival to departure all staff were perfect. Room was lovely with views on to the vineyards. Huge bathroom. Everything spotless. Details as in a fruit platter waiting for us in the room (fruit delicious and ripe), 2 bottles of their wine (very good) in the minibar, when our car was brought to us, bottles of water for the trip...all in all, pampering which is very rare nowadays!

We did not eat in restaurant and had a bar snack which was very good quality. The breakfast was gorgeous - buffet style for the basics, but then various options for eggs and heavier stuff, all cooked to order. We had fantastic eggs Benedict and also eggs with chorizo and ham - fantastic!!

Staff were very helpful, friendly and very professional

Fantastic place, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
543 reviews 543 reviews
225 hotel reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Valbusenda Resort is beautiful venue, with comfortable rooms and fabulous view on surrounding vineyards. Thanks the large windows, you have look on the nostalgic, peaceful countryside. So, sitting in the comfortable armchair with the glass of excellent local wine, which is complimentary in your room, you admire this exceptional object.
However, some details and technical solutions, installed in the hotel, like taps and sinks in the bathroom, are nice and modern, but difficult in use. Generally, the hotel is "over-projected"; too large venue, like for 36 rooms only.
The restaurant is perfect. Not cheap, but with pretty nice choice of local, manly meat dishes, accompanied by fantastic red wines from Toro.
The weak point is the communication in English with some team members of the hotel staff. Anyway, they are very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valbusenda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valbusenda Resort

Address: Ctra. de Toro-Peleagonzalo s/n, 49800 Toro, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Toro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Toro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Valbusenda Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valbusenda Hotel Resort and Spa is situated between the wonderful wine area Zamora and DO Toro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valbusenda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valbusenda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.