We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Ivy Cottage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room to your Saves list
Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Green, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our stay at Ivy Cottage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Ivy Cottage on Sat 4th & Sun 5th May. We booked this after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We booked the ensuite room. The room itself was clean & comfortable. The plumbing was very noisy & I would imagine that this would have disturbed other guests staying. Breakfast was standard fayre. At £170.00 for a 2 night stay think it was a little on the pricey side for a room in need of a bit of refurbishment. Reeth was lovely, a good area for walks & wwe had excellent meals at Overton House and the Buck Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    22
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Mike & Janet perfect hosts, hospitality second to none our room was clean and the bed very comfortable, breakfast was superb, if we are in the area again will stay here for sure. Eat your evening meals in the Buck Hotel across the green, excellent meal.

Bill & Nai Cook

Pontefract West Yorkshire

Room Tip: Room 2 has nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Called in for lunch on the first Friday in April. Between the four of us we had all three of the home-made soups that were on offer. The verdict from all of us - delicious. Served with home-made bread as well. My son's cheese and ham toastie had an extremely generous amount of ham. Not cheap but fair value in view of the quality of the food. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet W, Owner at Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We thank these reviewers for taking the time to comment on the lunch they had with us in April. We pride ourselves on offering a selection of homemade soups and are introducing more homemade breads, teacakes and cakes and freshly prepared sandwiches, toasties and light lunches. We are glad to hear that they were pleased with their choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very helpful friendly hosts.
Comfortable bed and excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.
Shower room/toilet in need of refurbishment.
Delightful village in stunning scenery with a choice of eating places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We didn't stay at Ivy Cottage & Tea Rooms, but called in for an afternoon cup of tea. We ordered a pot of tea for two and two toasted teacakes - the bill was £6.20, which we thought was expensive, as the tearooms were not over-impressive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet W, Owner at Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are sorry to hear that these customers found our fayre expensive but we are frankly quite amazed to hear that £3.10 each is felt expensive for a pot of tea which gives at least 4 or 5 cups and 2 freshly baked teacakes. We are in a National Park overlooking the Green with wonderful views, not a supermarket cafe overlooking the carpark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Whilst the host was friendly the accomodation was in all honesty rather tired. The breakfast was good and plentiful By comparison with the other b&bs we have stayed in this week in North Yorkshire this was the least memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Woodburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed only for 1 night and enjoyed it very much. Wished we could stay longer! Very friendly welcome. Small, but clean and comfortable room with lovely view over the village green. Excellent breakfast. If we go to the Dales again, we'll definitely stay at Ivy Cottage.

Room Tip: If you want an en-suite bathroom, choose one of the 2 rooms in front of the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room

Address: The Green, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy Cottage is a traditional bed & breakfast set in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. The accommodation is set directly overlooking Reeth village green and has three letting bedrooms and incorporates a tea room during the day. Our rooms consist of a king size en-suite, double en-suite and a double with private bathroom. Reeth is a perfect base location for visiting local attractions, walking, biking, fishing or simply relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you to Ivy Cottage in Reeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room Reeth, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.