We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmont Marco Polo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Belmont Marco Polo Hotel to your Saves list
Belmont Marco Polo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Jalan Clinic | P.O.Box 1003, 91008, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Tawau Division B&B and Inns
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We were upgraded to the executive floor at no extra cost, and they serve free food and drinks (including cocktails) from 5:30 to 7:30pm which was excellent. Very good service from the manager and all staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. There are some issues with the water pipes making noise, but that was the only drawback.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
4
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Stayed one night on route back to Kuala Lumpur. Hotel is nice, rooms are clean. They have very few non-smoking rooms. Bar is very slow in making drinks, so stick w/ beer. Chinese restaurant was superb. The best meal of our 2 week trip. Cost was $10 US per person, including several drinks. Breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Chinese dinner
  • Disliked — Smoking room.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

Stayed one night before heading off to Mabul/Sipadan for diving.

Slight hiccup with arrival - the hotel bus was sent to pick us up from Tawau airport, but the guy was late and then he drove round and round without stopping three times and was clearly going to go back without us if we hadn't thrown ourselves and our luggage in front of the minibus. Already feeling rather hot, this made us a bit irritable, but he did apologize profusely.

Arrived at the hotel about 30 mins later, and reception was excellent. We got a room on the 5th floor (the executive area) which needs a key to access it from the lift. We felt very important!! Room was a good size, well proportioned, and easily the plushest we stayed in on mainland Borneo. Bathroom was clean, looked reasonably new and in good condition, and had a good range of towels, lotions and a drying rack for clothes. Aircon was good and quiet, no mozzie issues.

Lunch downstairs in the buffet area was great - and soooo cheap! There was choice of 2 main dishes and as much buffet food and dessert as you could eat, all for around £3! Breakfast was good too. In the evening, we were exhausted and ordered room service - this was excellent and very cheap, but I did have to explain 'toasted sandwich' to a puzzled chef - so why have it on the menu if the staff don't know what it is?

Outside the hotel, Tawau is quite rough and ready, much more than Sandakan. Very bustling but very 'unfinished' - the pavements were very hit and miss and the rainwater run offs were the equivalent of open sewers in places and could have done with covers on them as there was a definite danger of falling in some of them. The general smell was quite strong too, of lightly rotting garbage and fish waste. However, it was really interesting to wander round, and there are some excellent fish eating houses down on the waterfront.

Only one minor niggle - the hotel didn't have any tourist info, and the only map they had was half the size of a postcard and worse than useless (Hotel was pointed out with a big arrow in the midst of a range of unlabelled squiggles we assume were the nearby streets). We'd already heard of the Tek Guan cocoa plantation (Google it) before arriving, and so we just phoned them up and they arranged a factory/museum tour for us, and picked us up from the hotel for about £10 all in.

Overall, a high quality room and good food made this a very pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Very plush room and amazingly cheap, and tasty, food
  • Disliked — No tourist info and no maps
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada - Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

Stayed at Marco Polo for 2 nights in late November on the way to and from Kapalai for diving. Nice clean rooms. Restaurant on site had good inexpensive food.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmont Marco Polo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Marco Polo Hotel

Address: Jalan Clinic | P.O.Box 1003, 91008, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Tawau Division
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tawau Division
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belmont Marco Polo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmont Marco Polo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Marco Polo Hotel Malaysia/Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmont Marco Polo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.