We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very knowledgeable dive instructors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Froggies Divers Bunaken

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Froggies Divers Bunaken
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Liang Beach, Bunaken Island, Manado, Bunaken Island 95555, Indonesia (Formerly Froggies Divers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable dive instructors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

On my second trip to Bunaken I chose to dive with Froggies and would probably stay there the next time also. Nice cabins, good food and most of all very knowledgeable dive instructors is the main reason for that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
27
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Extremely nice staff, great food, chilled atmosphere and nice divesites. We stayed in small but clean room with private bathroom and nice view to the sea.
Dive gear quite new and well maintained.
Will come back some day for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 5 days with my girlfriend at Froggies. Very nice bungalow settlement, quality lodging, service and of course outstanding dive options.

All bungalows offer good standard of accomodation; cleaned daily; free laundry available for all guests.

Only one setback : stay away if you are not diving. The beach suffers from the garbage brought by the sea from Manado, and there is not much more to do.

Diving opportunities are excellent however. We did our Padi Open water with Chris Gloor as dive instructor (very good, safe, professional and nice instructor!) plus a couple of leisure dives and were already overwhelmed by the beauty of the underwater sealife our beginnner-eyes could see.

The prices are high for Indonesia, and no swimming pool

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Overall, the location, room, diving are good.
The room that I stayed does not have an A/C, so it was hot in the afternoon.However, they are comfortable and huge. I got 2 rooms in my bungalow and with 1 big living room. Also, there are alot of mosquitoes but that is beyond their control. The food is great and the staffs there entertain us with their ukulele. There is nothing much to do there at night except for having few drinks at the bar. Simon the instructor there is a very friendly and humorous guy.
The diving experience is great. The staffs there prepared our diving equipments and cleaned them before we check-out the resort.

Room Tip: Try to get room that is nearest to the dining area and dive centre. The further ones require strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Overall being by Indonesia three times and Thailand twice on dive trip I must say I had great diving there however not great stay at all, hopefully if they can improve on below comments which may give me enough reason to come back again!?

Diving:

I was welcomed with a surprise that they cannot provide Nitrox tanks however in correspondents I was told it is available, and highly recommended dive Nitrox there!

Guides tend to know the area very well but only certified as PADI Advanced Open Water Diver; being PADI Pro. Didn’t mind however in case of any dive accident I am not sure they are trained to rescue any diver!?
I dived with two dive guides during my stay Shandy was much better than the other one.

Boat crew seems careless about divers or not been properly trained as I and Shandy (Dive Guide) were left on the surface for 30 min. while we signal with SMB on safety stop as well as at the surface with whistle! Knowing condition / currents can be very rough I did not have good feeling at all!

Resort:

The resort is fairly old and not in great condition since I had time to have look around some other resorts nearby and saw them in much better condition.
Rooms are equipped with fan only however due to humidity I suggest you need A/C but not provided in Froggies.
Hot Water is available; remember water is somehow salty water not only in Froggies but whole Island.
Drinking water will be in jar and glass in the room and refilled everyday, I did not like this and I found one small lizard in the jar (No Joking)!

Food is all local Indonesian not great (I had better Indonesia food elsewhere) plus most of the times served cold and very small dish!
Tea and Coffee is available in living room (the main hall) all the time, sugar is having small ants in it so you can have you tea / coffee with sugar + ant or no sugar!!

Staffs are nice but hardly speak English, apart from Benny (GM) and Chris (Dive Instructor) who both speak few languages! I must say Benny is very helpful man!

Free laundry service however I tried my laundry on first day, given them White colour and received in Grey!

Wi-Fi is free but speed is not great at all! Took me three days to book my hotel in Jakarta!

There is no TV, no Music and no Bar in whole resort, seems like it is banned for the resort to have such thing by management? However a bit of music (any kind of music) would make whole place a bit lively.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little red dot
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

There were only abt max 7 guests at the resort when we were there...the focus now seems to be lazy diving...max of 2 day dives n 1 night dive....unlike other resorts where u can do 4 days a day...there's wifi throughout which is good cuz there's really nothing else to do here...it was too hot to sit at the balcony of our bungalows so most of the time we were hanging out at the restaurant...the food was good...I liked the tea time snacks....there's a village nearby but we didn't go n explore...dive guides were young but good....now for the bad...the email responses to our enquiries were so bad...as in they got my dates wrong even after I repeated myself like 3 to 4 times...in the end I had to call to speak n confirm personally...really kind of frustrating..so first impressions were not good at all..esp compared to the very efficient communication I was having simultaneously with another resort I was going to stay with after froggies...and the very worst thing was that some sick pervert filmed or take photos of me with his phone which he squeezed through a gap on top of the wall when I was showering !!! He must have known that i was the only single female guest...the horror !! So ladies beware...I was staying in Pygmy when this happened....the mgr was very apologetic and we were upgraded to a bigger bungalow for the rest of our stay...but still I will be paranoid whenever I use a resort bathroom for a long time...or at least till my 40s when no one will want to peep at me anyway ;-p

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetzlar, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

here you can concentrate yourself on diving. Everything will be prepared by the friendly stuff & you can be sure, that the diveguides know the divesides very good. They can show you everything!!
The rooms are VERY clean and the moskitos kept away from the whole resort because of fogging them several times in the year.
The food there is very good and everything is included. When you want to leave one day before or cannot do a dive, they will not put it on the bill.
Everything is included in the price they told you, also the transport to & from the island.
Something special is the magic-box: You put in your cloths in the morning, and when you come back in your bungalow from the second dive in the afternoon, your clothes are clean and lying on the bed.
Making holiday and relaxing with diving and without any thinking is really possible there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Froggies Divers Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Froggies Divers Bunaken

Address: Liang Beach, Bunaken Island, Manado, Bunaken Island 95555, Indonesia (Formerly Froggies Divers)
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Froggies Divers Bunaken 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Froggies Divers is a small dive resorts and eco-friendly PADI operation on Bunaken and Lembeh Island.We try to make it a home away from home and many of our guests also become friends. Our main concern is to offer a very personal service and exceptional diving. The groups are small, no more than 4 guests per guide . We take good care not only of our divers but also of preserving marine life. All our boats are equipped with Oxygen, First Aid and safety standard procedure.With the help of our experienced crew and our Indonesian English speaking dive guides we try to make the operation run as smoothly as possible.In order to show you all the riches of our underwater world we choose long, slow and relaxed dives; no need to go very deep, most of the beauties are well above the 30m, and we like to take long long safety stops, while admiring the upper part of the reef. Your dive time is limited by your air consumption, you will be underwater for at least from 60 - 75 minutes on most of your dives. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Froggies Divers Bunaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Froggies Divers Bunaken to your Saves list