We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort, beautiful diving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raja Laut Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Save
You added Raja Laut Dive Resort to your Saves list
Bunaken Marine Park | Pangalisan Beach, Bunaken Island, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort, beautiful diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Raja Laut was the perfect place to end our journey after a couple of weeks backpacking in Java and Sulawesi . We spent the most relaxing and at the same time impressing 9 days under water and on land with Silvia and Roberto and the Raja Laut crew.
Not having dived since 4,5 years we felt very safe after a refresher and during our daily two or three dives. The diving was exceptionell beautiful and spectacular and thanks to our dive guides -especially Dolvi - we saw the most incredible creatures like the mimic octopus and the pygmy seahorse. Also the snorkelling at the reef right in front of Raja Laut was great and it would have been hard to leave the water if there would not have been the delicious food, the hammock, the cosy hut with sea-view, the very nice talks with Roberto and so on. We appreciated the small size of the resort and the familiar atmosphere. If we could we would come back immediately. Thanks Silvia and Roberto! Christine Drawer and Robert Schluck, Berlin

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    20
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
69
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Raja Laut is without doubt the best place to visit if you are serious about diving, want to use great gear and would like to find and view the most extraordinary submarine life on this wonderful reef and for the nearby muckdiving. Roberto and Sylvie were knowledgeable, entertaining and very accommodating hosts and Dolvi (sp?) was the consummate divemaster.
The food was excellent and the cooks really went the extra mile for Gaye, who is vegetarian. Everyone helped us out with finding our way around the island, putting money on our phone and buying Arak as well as telling us the best places to go on the mainland to change money, buy a kopi luwak, some fruit or a nice pastry.
An unexpected bonus was the pile of wonderful underwater photos of things we saw that we were given when we left. They are sublime!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights and had a really great time. The staff were very friendly. The meals that they served were also nutritious (mostly fish, and they always served vegetables and fruits). The room was very neat and you can enjoy a stunning sunrise from where you lie in the bungalow. Although, I don't recommend travellers with acute wood allergy to stay here because the furnishings and the interior finishing were all made out of wood, except the bathroom. In addition, this place had a good snorkelling spot only a few metres from its beach and the dive center provided an undoubtedly satisfying service.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

If you are a diver, Raja Laut is your place! The Roberto's great passion and the staff courtesy will let you to fully enjoy unforgettable undersea paradise!
The food was plenty and tasty. The bungalow was spacious and clean. The diving center was well equipped. Dolvi, the local divemaster, has a very keen eye and can find every kind of small creatures: nudibranches, ornate ghost pipefish, pigmi seahorse, mimic octopus, ...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed here for a week at the end of May - was an idyllic experience, a much needed break from the hustle and bustle of the daily grind.

The bungalow (one of just four at the resort) was wonderful, full of traditional character and a great size, all the staff were exceptionally friendly, the food great, and the diving out of this world - Dolvi, the local divemaster, was incredibly attentive and always keen to share his obvious enthusiasm and knowledge of the local dive sites. The equipment is new and well maintained - a welcome change from some other places I have been diving.

Bunaken will not appeal to all, it is not 5 star luxury, there is no a/c and no internet and not a big party scene but if you're just looking for a relaxing getaway then I can't recommend Raja Laut highly enough - and the diving is sensational.

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

It was our first stay on Bunaken Island and we were happy to stay at Raja Laut. It is situated on the "clean" east coast of Bunaken and the Bungalows have a view on the sea. Food was very good (specially the fresh fish everyday), Diving with Dolvi and the whole Boat crew was great and our Bungalow was clean and very spacious. Unfortunately none of the owners (Roberto and Silvia) were arround but the resort was still working very well. We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed at Raja Laut Dive Resort in march 2011 and enjoyed it a lot. The bungalows are very very nice decorated (just one year old), clean and spacy. the food was good, the staff always very helpful and friendly und the diving great.

not the cheapest place we stayed at in sulawesi, but by far the best value for the money. we can definitly recommend staying there.

daniela and eric
berlin, germnay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raja Laut Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Laut Dive Resort

Address: Bunaken Marine Park | Pangalisan Beach, Bunaken Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Bunaken Island
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raja Laut Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.