We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay on Bunaken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunaken Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Bunaken Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bunaken Island Resort
Liang Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best stay on Bunaken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Bunaken Island Resort is a very special place to stay. Cute, spacious bungalows adorn the hill side with wonderful balconies. They are air-conditioned & each have good bathrooms attached. Power is conserved daily & shuts down in the afternoon which is fine. Lie on a hammock in the afternoon breeze if you find time to steal yourself away from the magical reef. The hotel restaurant is the hub of the resort for guest. Staff are beautiful & so helpful. Food is delicious. Pancakes, cereal, toast or a selection of eggs for breakfast. Lunch & dinner are a selection of yummy local dishes that also cater for vegetarians shared by all staying guests. Beautiful fresh cooking with lovely flavours. This is a lovely time for guests to get to know each other which we really enjoyed. There is also a cushioned lounging area with a stunning view at the front of restaurant that we frequently used. Evelyn heads the beautiful staff and will help you with anything required, diving, massage, laundry or how to walk into Bunaken Village. An advanced diver, she loves & knows the island well.

We stayed 5 nights & simply don't want to leave.

Lisa, Matthew, Lisette & Rex (Australia)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    17
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
49
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asti, Piemonte, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent one week at Bunaken Island Resort.. The place is amazing, the food excellent and the staff very friendly!! The sunset from the terrace of the restorant is the most impressive in Bunaken.. One of the best place for diving in Indonesia!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very overpriced, Terrible price to quality ratio
The dutch owner is there only 6 weeks per year and has no control over his local staff
The beach is dirty, the rooms not made, backpacker style but luxury hotel prices. No electricity during the day (the hottest time), no running water either. A very disappointing place on the whole, especially compared to other resorts on the island which offer the same at much lower prices or similar prices but for a much better quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Charming resort with nice traditional bungalows and pretty gardens. Excellent location right in the middle of one of the world's best diving and snorkelling areas (Bunaken Marine National Park) with intact and overwhelming coral reef life. Very good and professional PADI dive center connected with it (Panorama Dive Center). The staff are VERY obliging and the food excellent Indonesian home-style cooking. The grain of salt refers to a) the beach which is not very appealing (old sunloungers, no decent padding, an ugly wooden wall to keep the water away); b) the dive center compressor is situated right under the three nicest bungalows type "ocean-view" and makes a lot of noise; c) the whole bay is full of trash (apart from the limited area cleaned by the resort), especially (but not only) after a storm. Divers are not so much affected by this but snorkellers are and the resort is therefore definitely not the right place for a typical beach holiday. Having said that we went there for diving and we had a great time as long as we didn't leave the resort on foot. Eco-tourists would be disappointed but for us it was a wonderful diving holiday. PS: No shops close by so bring enough insect repellent, sweets, shampoo etc. with you. Or order them with the staff who will bring them from Manado city when they go shopping every approx. 3 days.

Room Tip: Bungalows 4 and 5 still have ocean views but are further away from the compressor and are therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Very authentic atmosphere, with the resort somewhat loosely integrated into the surrounding "kampung", and local people playing a decisive role in the overall organization. Diving was beyond words, paradise underwater. Our beachfront bungalow was elegant (beautiful furniture) and confortable. Food healthy (no fresh juices, though) and rather varied (luckily hardly any Western dishes!).

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millicent, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for a week as part of our joint 50th birthdays. April 2012.

What we liked

First off the marjority of the the guest interaction makes for a good holiday, pretty much everyone goes for the diving...so that is a clue as to what you mainly do here. I learnt to dive here and Sven was excelent. The reefs are pretty amazing and the waters are crystal clear. The rooms were nice. The communal eating was good fun. Sharing a lovely wine with the hosts for our birthdays. Making some friends.

Other helpfull information from our experince.

It is a remote place, when we traveled the lcoal staff overbooked by two rooms. Due to the location it was a bit hard to go to another hotel. So we stayed in a shack that had a bed in it, mind you it was comfortable. Not the optimum start on your wifes 50th birthday. Had a big storm that night and coconuts fell on the roof, I slept through it. So check your booking the day before just in case.

Its more a dive site than a snorkle I think, but the snorkling is good...take footwear if going from the beach to snorkel out front as you may have to walk 100m or so depending on tide as there are a few spikey things on the reef. The tide can be quite strong so be carefull we snorkeld for a while and realised the current was carrying us away, lucky for us the dive boat was close by.

We witnessed the slackness of another crew from a different resort when two girls were close to drowing as they didnt keep an eye on them, our boat crew went to there rescue.

So be sensible and all will be well.

The dive boats here are fine but very slippery when wet, my wife slipped on the stairs and hurt herself, another chap did the same. So becarefull.

We found a twin beds were really uncomfortable and swapped the matteress for the lounge cushions, I beleive the beds have been changed. Sleep is very high on my comfort list.

Breakfast was very basic.

Rubbish, it comes in with the tide and disappears with the tide. Its all from the mainland and can be quiet bad, its a bit off putting to snorkel whilst rubbish touches your head. But when its gone elsewhere he water is beautifull, just asia what can you do. They sweep the beach everyday to keep it clean.

The beach is not picture post card but a normal beach.

Take local money in small notes for the market or the peopl that come to the resort to sell to you.

Alcohol is was very limited so BYO .

Room Tip: I cant remember our room number but check they have a good matterres. Other than thatour room was ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

the resort offers great views, spacious and beautiful accommodation, with every room having a large veranda and a great hammock facing the ocean ..... the view is AMAZING!
the restaurant offers a great spread of local dishes and caters for all - meat lovers and veggies.
there are many sites to dive and snorkel and one of them is just a few meters from your front door...all in all a great place that we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bunaken Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunaken Island Resort

Address: Liang Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bunaken Island Resort and the Dive Centre are located at Liang Beach of Bunaken Island. The resort provides spacious and luxury accommodation in a tranquil and lush tropical environment with two Villas (150m²) and 6 Bungalows (65m²), all built in the famous Indonesian Minahasa Style and tastefully furnished. Balinese-style en-suite bathrooms with a hot shower tub and an open-roof shower, Wifi-Internet throughout the resort, air-conditioning, grand balconies with large hammocks for chilling out are standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bunaken Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunaken Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.