We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific service, great diving, excellent value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Bunaken

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Village Bunaken
Save
You added The Village Bunaken to your Saves list
Pangalisang, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific service, great diving, excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We (family of five) stayed eight days and had a great relaxing Xmas and New Year at Bunaken Village. Our teenagers took diving courses and had very good and dedicated dive masters; they left with diving certificates and sold on diving. We really appreciated the friendly and engaged staff, Angelina and Jochen have created a fine athmosphere and make all guests feel comfortable. The spa is recommended. Excellent value if you look for a relaxing vacation, not necessarily diving every day. We hope the reef around Bunaken remains healthy and rich for many years and many visitors to come.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    39
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
88
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was not one year since we left this wonderful place, now we are back again. Please see that review. We were at least as happy with The Village Bunaken this time. The room is very good, the lunch and dinner buffet event better than last time. The breakfast however was not as good as last time. It is still good though, but we were missing something to drink besides water, like smoothie or juice. It is still very well maintained, not expanding, but evolving to the better. The building style is so well made, and tasteful. This time they had new boats. The diving service is of really good standard, and you can tell that the guides like their job. They are genuinely polite, but yet working hard to top up your diving expirience. I feel very safe when diving here. We love this hotel, and we will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are snorkellers who stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the house reef immensely! The food is included in the rate and is quite tasty. The kitchen girls worked hard to please. We used the Spa twice and both agreed it was one of the best massages we ever had! The welcoming Management saw to our requests and made sure we were enjoying our stay. Angelina saw to our transport needs coming and going. One of us was bothered by mosquitoes and would have appreciated some netting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Driver pick us in the airport, and bring us to a fantastic holiday! The room is clean, bathroom is good, just like what u see in their website! Good food as well! I am a non diver, many resort in Bunaken only welcome diver to stay, but not The Village Bunaken. I like snorkelling very much, Bunaken is really a good place, it is the most beauty place I ever snorkel! The dive master - June is a funny guy, he gave me and my friend lots of fun although we are not learning diving! I am also surprising Angelina can speak fluence Cantonese (I am come from HK), I really like this place very much!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was staying there with my friends, for holiday, 2 days and 1 night. We were picked up by boat with the owner herself, she was so nice and welcome us so friendly. The Village Bunaken is really like a small green village by the sea. There's no reception like any other hotel, you can do the registration at the bar area while you enjoy the refreshing welcome drink. They gave us a 2-rooms villa, near the restaurant area, with air conditioner (*limited) and fan but no tv. At the room terrace, there is a hanging bed for you to relax. The food was so good, the staffs are friendly and familiar. They arranged all the activities for us; such as diving, snorkelling , and go to Taman Laut Bunaken. The rooms are always full, many long staying guests from Europe and US. You can spend the whole day enjoying the underwater world, sunbathing by the pool, relax at the spa or you can go for a walk to the friendly neighbourhood or rent a motorcycle, and can enjoy some traditional food or buy some handmade souvenirs at Taman Laut Bunaken.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After all the rave reviews we had high expectations. We were a bit dissapointed though.

As every hotel on Pulau Bunaken it has a full board formula. The food is OK but not that good, with some good dishes.

There is a good reef in front of the hotel where you can snorkel. Lots of fishes and good coral.

You absolutely need a mosquito net on the island, and there is none in the room. The room itself is good, with tasteful design (a lot of dark wood) and a veranda with a hammock. The tap water is brackish (they have their own well) so you always have a salty skin.

Staff is good, the owners have dinner with the guests each evening. We missed a smile on the Dutch owner's face though!

We made an introduction dive here. The dive instructor was OK, but could have been a bit more attentive and less robot like.

Obviously a lot of Dutch here, but also Germans and French.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Bunaken was the end of our trip thru Sulawesie and we really needed a comfortable place to relax at the end of our holiday. We first checked the other places on the island and we concluded that the Village resort was the best option. We can recommend this resort for the quality, super friendly staff, good kitchen, spa and snorkel & diving facilities.
We absolutely enjoyed this resort and his friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Bunaken

Address: Pangalisang, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale Resort, Diving center and Spa on Bunaken with attention to detail and a touch of authentic indonesian styling. A place to relax and enjoy the underwater wonders of Bunaken right at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Bunaken Hotel Bunaken Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Bunaken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.