We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large modern restaurant with excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Trinquette

La Trinquette
7 rue Joncal, 14450 Grandcamp-Maisy, France
+33 (0)231226490
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Large modern restaurant with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant on a Saturday night in September 2013. It was full! The décor is modern and the food was fantastic. We had oysters followed by Scallops and I had Turbot. All the dishes were good and the service was faultless.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    53
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very nice meal indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my first dinner in Normandy. I got the recommendations from my b&b and I must say it was excellent. I had white rice and scallops in a very nice white souce (with the hint of lemon). Loved it. Service was very good despite the fact that my waitress did not speak too much English but she was so nice and helpful anyway. I might have to go there again tomorrow :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food; not so amazing service !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Best food I had in the area ! However the service seriously ruined the experience... Some staff was very helpful and really tried to help us out as we didn't speak French, others were terrible to say the least . Because of the great food I would recommend this place for sure !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Go for it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

One of the best place in the area. Don't hesitate, that's the place to go (and we tried many...). Atmosphere, food, people, all is very professional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Didnt even stay long enough to eat here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The setting is not very pleasant: its noisy and dark inside. Service is unfriendly and indifferent. We waited so long for someone to take our order that we gave up and left after over 30 minutes. I have no idea what the food tastes like and I will certainly never find out because I am not going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huguette G, Propriétaire at La Trinquette, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Google Translation
Ce samedi 13 juillet soir était un service très difficile, tous les clients sont arrivés en même temps, nous ne sommes ni des robots, ni des machines. Vous êtes arrivés au mauvais moment !
Ce soir là, nous avions Mr le Maire et la Gendarmerie qui avaient un horaire à respecter : FEU D'ARTIFICE oblige...
Et comme le décor ne vous plaisait pas, vous avez eu raison de quitter les lieux. Il vient d'être refait, nous n'allons pas recommencer demain !
Le seul regret que j'ai ; c'est de ne pas vous avoir rencontrés pour faire plus ample connaissance... Revenez en basse saison un jour en semaine quand c'est plus calme.
Les commentaires Internet ne me laissent pas indifférentes mais l'âme d'un restaurant ne se crée pas sur le Web. Votre avis a été bien sûr lu par toute l'Equipe (bien avant moi, car je ne suis pas une "Mouse'woman", je préfère éplucher les Saint-Jacques et les cuisiner que de surfer sur Internet) Mais ma responsable de salle qui a 26 ans de maison ainsi que toutes ses jeunes collaboratrices n'ont pas compris votre propos écrit 15 jours après !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trinquette also viewed

Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
 
Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
 

Been to La Trinquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trinquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.