We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just along from the D-day beaches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum des Rangers

Museum des Rangers
30 Quai Crampon, 14450 Grandcamp-Maisy, France
+33 231923351
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Percy, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just along from the D-day beaches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

You have to see this - as soon as I arrived I remembered it from the old films....

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    11
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tn
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Skip this one”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We spent 9 days in the Normandy area visiting all the sites and museums related to the events of 6 June, 1944. We can say out of the 9 days the Musee Ranger Museum was the only disappointment. This museum can be officially labeled a "tourist trap". The previous reviews are exactly right. The film is a complete joke. Please, save your euros and skip this museum. The rangers at Point Du Hoc deserve so much more. Skip this museum and just go to the actual site (just down the road).

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
544 reviews 544 reviews
203 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Disappointing......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Ranger Museum in Grandcamp Maisy is very small, with a number of outdated displays. The movie they show upstairs is primarily cut from the movie, "The Longest Day" and news reports from 1984. If you have a keen interest in the Rangers, then please go, if you don't, then there is no need to go. All the information you could want can be found at numerous museums throughout the area. I am glad I went to see for myself as it was closed when I tried to go last year (closed Mondays), but I see no need to return.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not worth the petrol.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I went this year as I remember having been many many years ago with my parents. And tbh there just wasnt anything in there. Its just bigger than a garage. and they play what looked like park of saving private ryan on a screen upstairs..... I can watch that at home surely?

Much recomended the maisy battery just outside town. So much better!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum des Rangers also viewed

Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
 
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Vierville-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Museum des Rangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum des Rangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.