We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Lieu Besnard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Cambe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Lieu Besnard
Save
You added Le Lieu Besnard to your Saves list
14230 La Cambe, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 La Cambe B&B and Inns
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We fell in love with Le Lieu Besnard, Yula and Brian during our first stay last year. As seen, when we returned this year with our teenage granddaughter and great-niece, this was our first choice, and no one was disappointed! The girls thoroughly enjoyed their private room, (as did we!) and we all enjoyed the lounge area where we congregated in the evenings to enjoy downtime with each other. The location is perfect for our excursions, the accommodations superb, the breakfasts great and our hosts incomparable. Brian and Yula are so knowledgeable and helpful, and seem more like family than the hosts of a B&B. The grounds and rooms are immaculate. If we ever visit Normandie again, we will look forward to a return visit with Yula and Brian!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. The two we had were great for families; the other we had last year was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It came as no surprise that my wife and I were sad to leave The Old French Farmhouse. From the time we arrived until we left (we stayed 7 nights) we were treated like long time friends who had come to visit. There were wonderful breakfasts (Brian went out every morning to the local Boulangerie to get fresh croissants, baguettes, and pastry) and Yula made sure that these were accompanied by Normandy butter (a local specialty), jams, cereal, cheese or ham, yogurts (with a different ingredient added each day; “did I just taste pistachio?”) and always fresh coffee for us (our choice; we could have opted for tea). After breakfast and in the afternoons there were always discussions of where we might like to go for dinner or what we might like to do either that day or the following day. In other words they were both perfect hosts. But that is only half of the story. The Farmhouse is centrally located even though it is situated in the middle of farm country. It is an easy drive to Omaha Beach, Point du Hoc, Bayeux, and Caen. And the Farmhouse is beautiful. The walls are covered in ivy which gives it a completely old French countryside appearance and the inside was completely renovated by Brian (who is a master carpenter; and it shows). He and Yula conceptualized the modifications that turned a hay loft into high quality 21st century accommodations (while still retaining the look of centuries past). Not an easy feat but it was done superbly. Our room (there are two for guests) had a queen size bed (firm and comfortable) with a wardrobe (for hanging clothes) and a chest of drawers to allow for unpacking. The private en-suite bath area had a modern shower and the sink and vanity area was spacious to allow all toiletries to be located in convenient positions. The windows opened easily to allow us to benefit from the night time air of Normandy and hear the birds in the morning to tell us that we truly were away from city life and firmly in place in farmland. This was underscored one afternoon when we had a short stop on the road to the Farmhouse to let a local farmer’s cattle cross to their barn for milking (the picture that I took became a hit on the travel album that I keep up to date to allow the family to keep abreast of our adventures). When we left the Farmhouse on that final morning we felt like we were actually leaving long time friends. For, after all, they contributed to a wonderful week in Normandy and provided us a wonderful experience that we will remember always. Our thanks to you: Yula and Brian!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. Both have private baths (ours was en-suite; the other is adjacent to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My Husband and I spent a few nights here in January 2011 and we were so delighted to have been greeted by Brian and Yula. Their thoughtful and charming home made us feel so relaxed and they were the sweetest hosts! We loved our stay and would go back to their B&B in a heartbeat if ever in the area again. We also would send any friends their way!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Once in a while, one discovers a gem unexpectedly. This was our experience at Le Lieu Besnard, near La Cambe, France. We almost don't want to give an excellent review because we may not be able to return if it is discovered by others! Brian and Yula Lawrence are awesome hosts with a genuine warmth and caring attitude for those who visit. They have added another wonderful room, which we thoroughly enjoyed, the grounds are gorgeous and the breakfast great. The restoration is unbelieveable, and the location near the D-Day beaches is ideal. We cannot wait to return. Le Lieu Besnard truly deserves a top spot for hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Love does not begin to describe my feelings for Le Lieu Besnard. Not just for the B&B but also for the lovely couple, Yula & Brian that owns the place. The rustic & quaint farmhouse has been restored to exactly what one would want when staying there. It feels like home. The bedrooms and bathrooms are cozy, clean and very comfortable. I wouldn't change a single thing about the look or design of the building. Each morning, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast that kept us full until dinner time. We'd get up, have a fantastic breakfast prepared by Yula, head out to the various sites nearby and return to rest up for the next day.
I also love the little town of La Cambe. Just a few basic shops but it really does capture the Normandy countryside. Location of La Cambe fits well into anyone who wants to visit the D-Day beaches or any other great sites around Normandy.
I already have it in my mind to return to visit Yula & Brian. They are just great host and wonderful people. I cannot give any higher praise for the experience. The rest of our vacation in Paris, Prague, and Rome was a letdown after staying at Le Lieu Besnard.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I can only echo previous reviews about this wonderful B&B. Brian and Yula are superb hosts, able to provide information about the area, ideas for visits, route maps and excellent restaurant choices. The house and rooms are simply perfect with so many personal touches which made our stay a real treat. Yula must provide one of the best and varied breakfasts to be had in France (and we have stayed in many other places to compare). This is the perfect location for the Normandy D-day beaches, Bayeux and for the ferry from Cherbourg. We would also agree that La Maree is a super place to eat and also recommend La Flambe where you will emerge very full.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed with Brian and Yula at The Farm for four nights and it was delightful. They arranged for us to have a tour of Normandy beaches with John Moules. He was an excellent, knowledgeable guide. Le Lieu Besnard is a bit isolated, but that is part of its charm. The owners have spent 8 years renovating this old farmhouse and it is lovely. The bathrooms are state of the art, beds comfortable and breakfasts excellent. They were very helpful in planning our trips and suggesting places to eat. We actually purchased food from a grocery for 2 nights and ate in the garden one night and inside the second. Eating out every night can be expensive and we were traveling with another couple with a 15 day tour on our schedule. This was our first stop. GPS is a definite must and all you need do is type in Le Lieu Besnard and the directions come up to get you there. We took several long walks through the countryside around the area, drove to Mt St Michel for the day and also visited Bayeaux as well as other villages along the coast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Lieu Besnard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lieu Besnard

Address: 14230 La Cambe, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > La Cambe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Cambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Le Lieu Besnard La Cambe, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Lieu Besnard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.