We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travara Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courtmacsherry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travara Lodge
Save
You added Travara Lodge to your Saves list
Courtmacsherry, Courtmacsherry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The other reviewers are not exaggerating, this place is a dream, beautifully situated and perfect hospitality. The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable, the breakfast is as good as any you will get anywhere and the hospitality is without equal. Richard and Brendan have clearly gained experience working in top establishments and have brought the best of hospitality to their own place. Brendan is a superb chef specialising in baked good, so make sure you take some of his bread and cakes home with you.
The pub next door does nice meals and of course excellent pints of Guinness. What else could you ask for.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've recently enjoyed a brilliant 4 day stay at the Travara Lodge, in the beautiful village of Courtmacsherry. Brendon and Richard are wonderful hosts, very welcoming and great fun and their recommendations for places to visit or places to eat were spot on. The house is lovely. we had a room which overlooked the sea estuary, it was very comfortable and clean. Brendon's breakfasts in the elegant dining room are to die for, his homemade bread and croissants being exceptionally yummy ! The Lifeboat Inn next door is a friendly traditional pub which serves food in the evenings and surprisingly you hear no noise from it at all. I will definately return there one day and explore more of stunning West Cork, the people are the friendliest and most hospitable I've met anywhere and Travara Lodge will be the only place to stay. Courtmacsherry is ideally placed to act as a base from which to explore the West Cork coast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The second time I have stayed at Travara Lodge. B&B's just don't come any better. Wonderful hosts, wonderful breakfasts and good pubs within easy reach (one next door). Our room was clean, comfortable with a great view of the estuary. We will return!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

It is a small ,well run, welcoming b+b in a 19c house with a view of the estuary Our room was small but comfortable.There is a pub nearby but the double glazing is very effective -we heard nothing.The breakfast is wonderful- fresh fruit salad,homemade jam,bread,croissants[ the owner is a professional baker],smoked salmon, eggs to order.Not luxurious but very good value.We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Had a very brief one night stay at Travara Lodge recently on route to Glandore. A lovely spot, have to recommend the place for a night if you are in the area.

Our hosts Brendan & Richard lay on a great breakfast - you have to try the brown bread.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Great warm welcome, rooms have lovely period features and bed linen was of a good quality. Breakfast's were delicious with generous portions and homemade bread, jam and relish. Great location in the village and room had view of the sea.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed here recently as part of a business trip visiting West Cork and wish I could have stayed for longer than one night !

The House itself is beautiful with fantastic views of the harbour in Courtmacsherry which itself is a lovely little town with plenty of places to eat and drink. ( LifeBoat Bar next door is particulary good)

The room I was allocated was very spacious and comfortably decorated. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was divine- had the best nights sleep ever ! The hosts seems to leave different books in each room which is a nice touch , and there is also a selection of books downstairs for you to take a loan of.

The Sitting room downstairs is also decorated in an eclectic theme with antique and modern pieces which look wonderful, and is open all the time should you fancy watching a bit of tv.

My breakfast the following morning was delicious and was accompanied by home made breads, jams etc. The hosts certainly make you feel at east with their friendliness and warmth and I for one cant wait to revisit !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travara Lodge

Address: Courtmacsherry, Courtmacsherry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Courtmacsherry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Courtmacsherry
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.