We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local cheese that gives you wings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Airelles

Les Airelles
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Neufchatel en Bray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Airelles
2, passage Michu, 76270 Neufchatel en Bray, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Local cheese that gives you wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

During the past five years we have regularly stayed at this hotel, to and from Portugal, because of the clean, simple, quiet and inexpensive rooms. But most of all because we like their menu and the local cheese. The menu offers a good choice of regional and some out of region French dishes, at prices that would please any seasoned traveller, for quality that seldom disappoints. It is not for nothing that the dining room is always filled with a mix of local patrons as well as a variety of foreign guests, often elderly Brits enjoying their leisure-travel. The owner speaks good English. If you intend to stay here, try not to wait with your booking for room or a seat in the restaurant until the last minute as you may very well be disappointed. We agree with previous reviewers that in France prices for some wines in this and similar restaurants seem to have become unduly high for what they are, while vin en pichet or the cheaper house wines are becoming extinct. We often, in that case, choose a large bottle of superb, cheaper local cider instead.
Some travellers frequently comment on the "poor" (and seemingly expensive) French breakfasts one gets in this country, like in the case of this establishment, but hey, when in Rome do as the Romans do. I, for one, hate sloppy, greasy English breakfasts and believe that baked beans are not intended for humans. Maybe these two travel tips help. A: if you don't fancy breakfast in your hotel for whatever reason, walk to the nearest baker for fresh croissants or pain au chocolat and eat these with a coffee in the nearest cafe of your choice. B: if you do stay in your hotel for breakfast, ask specifically for MACHINE coffee, which you will most likely get at no extra cost, to replace the usual chicory laden brew the French prefer. We recommend this hotel warmly for room and food.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Clean Tidy and a comfortable bed, tucked away up a little alleyway, you find this little gem. Book early for dinner as the restaurant is very popular as the food is excellent, in fact we had the best meal here on our last night of our 2 week vacation.
The manager was very friendly on our arrival and made us feel at home and his English is much better than my French, although we tried to do everything in pigeon french and the staff were all very kind.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are better than the 2nd floor, but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed overnight here on the way to Spain the welcome was very friendly and they spoke very good English.The room was very nice with small bathroom,it was in a quite road but near main square,for shops etc .We had dinner at the Hotel as it was a sunny day we had it on the patio.the menu was very good with a fixed price also they had very nice house wine,we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We travel to the south west of France several times a year. Although this logis hotel, conveniently situated in a typical northern French town just off the motorway, has been on our radar screen for some time, we only tried it for the first time last month. We were VERY pleasantly surprised. Monsieur was charming and most efficient, our bedroom, although not huge, was traditional in style (which we like) and decorated in a warm crimson, the bathroom was spotless , the linen generous and the beds very comfortable. Perfect for an overnight stay that involved a late arrival and an early departure the next morning.

And...dinner was delicious and among the best that we have enjoyed on regular overnight stays elsewhere over many years. The wine list was perfectly sensible and we could not fault anything.

Congratulations to Monsieur for providing such an enjoyable, quiet and comfortable overnight stop.

We shall be using Les Airelles as an overnight stop on a regular basis from now on and only wish that we had tried it earlier..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our second stay at the Les Airelles we stay in same room as our previous stay which is good for a 2 star hotel. The Dinner was really special and lovely and the service is excellent.
Our only critisicim is that there is not enough bread at breakfast and the breakfast buffet is tucked away in the corner by where other guests are seated so you have difficulty getting to the food and you feel that you cannot take what you really want to eat. We also had to ask for a second replenishment of coffee Patrick the owner/ manager of the Hotel could have come round asking if all was OK and asked if we wanted more coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent the last night of our holiday in this hotel. The room was lovely with plenty of room for our dogs. We had a good meal with good service. The hotel was well positioned being in the centre of town - close to the motorway although we heard no noise from the latter. I found an 'green footpath' not far from the hotel which made it easy to walk our dogs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Made a one-night stay here in July 2013. Wish it had been longer!

Our room was very pleasant, perhaps a little tired, but very satisfactory for an overnight, and we would have enjoyed a longer stay both at this hotel and in the lovely countryside surrounding it.

The highlight of our demi-pension stay was the excellent evening meal we had. Served correctly, with local produce cooked to an excellent standard, the meal was of a high standard from beginning (interesting amuse-gueule) to the coffee, served with lovely little treats.

Not quite sure why one member described Neufchatel as strange: we found it a lovely little place, though admittedly we only had the one evening to explore.

We look forward to staying here again. It makes a wonderful welcome back to France after the grey anonymity and endless rush of a visit to England.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Airelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Airelles

Address: 2, passage Michu, 76270 Neufchatel en Bray, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Neufchatel en Bray
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Neufchatel en Bray
Also Known As:
Les Airelles Hotel Neufchatel En Bray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Airelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Les Airelles to your Saves list