We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ring-0-Bells Restaurant/ Pub

Ring-0-Bells Restaurant/ Pub
Ring-o-Bells Lane | Lathom, Ormskirk, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 88 restaurants in Ormskirk
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After eating at most of the local restaurants in the area me and my wife had heard great things about this pub recently and thought we would pop in and try it.

The menu was very exciting and had a wide variety of dishes on there.

I chose the 12 hour confit pork belly, caramelized apples, glazed black pudding, pork and sage bon bon, crackling dust, pommery mash and cider sauce.

My wife had the poached chicken breast, pickled wild mushrooms, chicken consomme, homemade gnocchi and micro herb salad (i took a menu home).

The food looked fantastic, very high end presentation and tasted exceptional!!

The service was great, very polite staff and also very helpful when i asked how my pork was cooked, the waitress brought out the head chef Johnathan who explained the dish in detail, how it was cooked and why he put everything together to create the different textures and tastes. Wonderful experience!!

I would highly recommend this place to anyone in the area and we will definitely be visiting shortly.

Alex and Samantha.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    14
    6
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely food great choice of beer and a welcome stop during a walk along the canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Super little pub with great beers and a varied menu which caters for snacks as well as big meals. . Food is well cooked, homemade and very tasty - onion rings are a must! It's a good stopping point if you are walking along the canal between Burscough and Appley Bridge.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This pub is proving to be fierce competition for its local competitors following reopening last year.

The food is by far the best in the area with imagination, quality and attention to detail on every plate. I never tire of eating here as the menu changes on a regular basis and the food is fantastic.

There are a nice selection of beers (recently voted best newcomer CAMRA 2012) and wines.The pub caters for all with a family orientated section with play area, a quieter eating section and a bar area that accomodates locals and walkers with dogs. The pub is spacious enough to cater for all of these so it never feels cramped.

The staff at this pub are friendly, efficient and polite and nothing is too much trouble. Even during really busy periods (Sunday lunch especially) they are cheerful and smiling.

You can also sit outside , weather permitting and enjoy the canal views.

I would highly recommend a visit here if you havent been.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This pub is a pleasure to visit. The selection of wines and cask beers is spot on. The food is delicious, well presented and never disappoints. The decor is tastefull with antiques and interesting artworks. The service is friendly, efficient and unstuffy...it's everything a traditional watering hole should be. Even better the same welcome extends to your dogs :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beer festival weekend....they got it right!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were absolutely delighted with the set up and atmosphere of the beer festival this weekend. The focus was on the pub scene and not so much the food side which is what a beer festival is all about. Called in and tasted some ciders with friends at the bar. Spent a reaally nice hour or so. Well done guys.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Ring-O-Bells, Manager at Ring-0-Bells Restaurant/ Pub, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank You Very Much!! Glad You enjoyed it and Look forward to seeing you at the August Bank Holiday Beer Festival!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring-0-Bells Restaurant/ Pub also viewed

Lathom, Lancashire
Lathom, Lancashire
 
Burscough, Ormskirk
Bispham Green, Lancashire
 

Been to Ring-0-Bells Restaurant/ Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring-0-Bells Restaurant/ Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.