We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality rooms which were spacious, clean and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton

Save Saved
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton
Miller & Carter Aughton, Springfield Road, Aughton, Ormskirk L39 6ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Quality rooms which were spacious, clean and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked three rooms, a double, twin and single. We were all impressed with our rooms, and particularly room 1, which had a roll top bath. The staff were all pleasant, the food excellent and the atmosphere relaxing. We didn't quite get used to the "country smell", but it wouldn't put us off staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Ormskirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked two rooms for fri 12th july for a wedding down the road. On arrival none of the rooms where ready, told one would be available in 15minutes, 30 minutes later still no room. Finally got to room and had minutes to get ready for wedding. The hotel knew we where with a wedding party and the time of the wedding. Location for wedding venue was good. On arrival back to hotel, the windows in room left open and strong smell of pig manure in the room. Second room had a blocked toilet and was unclean.
In the morning had a continental breakfast (had to pay extra for full english) no staff in restaurant, had to put own water in the kettle and make own tea!! Dirty plates everywhere. Croissants rock hard and inedible.
We paid £90 per room for one night and would certainly expect more than this!
If looking for accomodation for a wedding at west tower, use the holiday inn 9 miles away approx £9 in a taxi for £45 a night! Far better value!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very pleasant but some strange points. Firstly, the name in invisible being totally obliterated by the Miller and Carter steakhouse franchise, which makes it very hard to find. Is this the [ower of big business- surely an inn s entitle to its name??? Secondly, though we stayed 3 nights the room was not cleaned even once, nor shower gel etc replaced, nor even bins emptied- only towels were changed which we did not really need. Thirdly, NO local information (map, brochures) nor newspapers- staff react was -"there's a shop over there (wide sweep of hand to indicate where.
I accept that I travel a great deal and may be too critical but this was not good enough.

Room Tip: Make sure to check that it is cleaned
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

On arrival for a one night stay, was asked to produce identification in the form of a License or passport ...... even tho was paying CASH and did produce debit card used for booking . Found this a bit strange .. Nice Hotel tho . Restaurant good too ( But not a large variety of choice on menu ) .. Bit noisy as right on main road at the front , Good shower in my room , bed fairly comfy . Fairly good value .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really good for the price. Nice clean room and staff attentive and polite. Although I didn't eat there, the restaurant looked nice too.
Some fresh fruit would have been nice for breakfast, but I'm being picky now.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Paid £94.00 for Bed and Continental Breakfast It was extra for Cooked so for Value compared with other Hotels with a Cooked Breakfast it does not compare,The Rooms are spaciacious but ours only had one Double socket in and that had the TV plugged in as well and was hidden behind the Dressing Table there is also no Chair in the Room and no Telephone which i have never known in a hotel room !! We went down for Breakfast the waitress came over and said " You do know if you want cooked breakfast you will have to pay " the resturant was not busy but they kept running out of stuff.Juice,Coffee etc,would not go back as too overpriced for what you get.Also after hours was noisey with the staff and our room was above the Kitchen so when the fans started up at 6am there was a constant hum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel bedroom was fine with nice bathroom and extra toiletries. There was a problem with some of the TV channels but the Wi-fi was one of the best I've seen - too often reception in the bedrooms is poor.

We had dinner with friends in the attached restaurant and that was excellent. Breakfast is a DIY continental - although a cooked breakfast is available to order,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton

Address: Miller & Carter Aughton, Springfield Road, Aughton, Ormskirk L39 6ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty lodging in Ormskirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a comfy hotel in the Ormskirk area? Nestled next to the pretty village of Aughton, our luxurious lodge provides some of the smartest yet most affordable accommodation in Lancashire and Merseyside.It's perfect if you're planning a country escape - or want a quiet base away from the hustle and bustle of Southport or Liverpool. We're just off the A59, and within easy reach of attractions such as Knowsley Safari Park, Chester Zoo, Formby Golf Club and Aintree racecourse.At the lodge, we have 12 elegantly furnished rooms offering a world of little extras - including free WiFi - as well as a Miller & Carter steakhouse. So you'll find everything you need whether indulging in a short break, unwinding after business or simply treating yourself to a special dinner and stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.