We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Establo San Rafael B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Establo San Rafael

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Establo San Rafael to your Saves list
Establo San Rafael
San Rafael Floralia Frente al Mirador del Rio, Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Establo San Rafael B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I absolutely love every time I come to stay at the Establo san Rafael B&B. Brenda and her partner Abel are some of the nicest people you will ever meet, and the combination of immersion in the lush hills of Costa Rica along with the amazing cooking and the opportunities to see horses frolic in the ring below make Establo B&B a place impossible not to have an amazing time at.

Room Tip: any room you can choose is a good room, but I would advise taking one of the cabinas, due to their m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great place, beautiful surrounding, cute cabinas, good fresh food, nice horses (!), really nice people who gives you the feeling that you're a part of the family, a place where you can really relax and forget everything but also a place where you can be active as you like. For me it felt as a little paradise!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at Establo San Rafael with Brenda and her partner Abel. They are excellent hosts and the food was plentiful, fresh and delicious. As a guest at the farm you can completely make yourself at home, swinging in a hammock on the porch, looking out over the ring where the horses love to play and at the surrounding mountains bathed in sunshine is utter bliss. The horses (and all of the other animals) are extremely well looked after and very well loved. For me this trip was a perfect opportunity to relax in a horsey atmosphere, learn about natural horsemanship (in which I was a total beginner so don't be afraid to give it a go even if you never have before!) and to get to experience the real 'Tico' lifestyle. Tourism has not really hit Puriscal, the nearest town, and riding around the surrounding villages is a fabulous experience of authentic Costa Rican countryside. I could not recommend Establo San Rafael highly enough for a horsey retreat for any animal lover!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

i am so glad that i found brenda`s place, the place is great, the food, the rooms, and best: is like be in home!!!!

I used to visit new places and people make the difference, and here i found that places where you feel like home!

Every time i need to visit the area, I am sure i will be there!!!



gracias!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After contacting Brenda by wwoof she proved to be the most reliable in the community I wrote to. I stayed two weeks at Establo San Rafael when travelling through Central America last year. For I was not used to living on a farm I thought about my stay there as an adventure. Sleeping in this lovely cabin I had to get used to all these bugs around. Equipped in a toilet, shower and a sink plus a lot of adorable details you are able to see the personal touch of the family. Talking about family when spending time with the family I felt a lot like a good friend, even a member. After all I never thought about connected so closely to this family as I felt afterwards. Brenda taught me in horsemanship which effected - well I don’t want to exaggerate, but –somehow of a wonder J: at the beginning I was pretty afraid of horses and couldn’t manage to bring all horses in their stables -at the end we were riding on horseback through the country. I become really a lot of self-confident in natural horsemanship.

Time was over and I had to go ahead and I was really sad to leave the farm, the animals, the environment and the ambience … etc. But the most I was sad about was to leave the friendly, warm and helpful family as well as all the people around who made my stay there to an unforgettable story of my life …. Not just an adventure

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My daughter (age 13) and her friend (age 12) and I spent nine days with the good folks of Establo San Rafael, their visiting natural horsemanship instructors, horses and guides. The two girls were thrilled, especially when their week culminated riding their horses bareback on the beach, and playing in the waves. I learned so much, and returned from my holiday rested and refreshed in every possible way.

The highlight for me was learning from 3* Parelli Natural Horsemanship instructor Susan Nelson, and 4* Maurice Thiebault. I had enjoyed their instruction before in other locations, but they were equally generous with their time and talent in the beautiful setting of Costa Rica.

The trip fulfilled my expectations. There were parts that were rough, as expected, and parts that were more luxurious, also as planned. Our final hotel on the beach was a bit of a disappointment, especially when the other guests on our tour stayed in a nicer hotel, but nothing could really mar the lovely week we had.

Room Tip: We moved around, so it's hard to make specific suggestions. However, if you have any wishes, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've been these stables twice now (just for the day), the first time trailing with family and friends and the second time on my own for instruction. I can say Brenda and her team were excellent on both occasions, demonstrating a flexible approach to make sure that everyone was well looked after, comfortable and had a great time. The horses were in excellent condition, and seemed to be part of the family. I shall certainly be returning whenever I'm in Costa Rica for more instruction in natural horsemanship from Brenda, I enjoyed it so much.
I can't comment on the rooms as I only went for the day, but if you love horses and fantastic scenery then look no further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Establo San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Establo San Rafael

Address: San Rafael Floralia Frente al Mirador del Rio, Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Santiago de Puriscal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Puriscal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have two cosy Cabinas, each with their own shower and bathroom. We also have two ajoining rooms with kitchenet and privet bath. All Located on our beautiful horse farm. Enjoy our gardens, breakfast is served on the porch overlooking the mountains and riding arena. You may choose to ride our horses on the mountain trails surrounding the farm, or try a session in natural horsemanship, we also give lessions in natural dressage, or jumping. If you are not interested in riding it is also nice to just relax and enjoy the farm or hike to the nearby waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Establo San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Establo San Rafael Costa Rica/Santiago De Puriscal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Establo San Rafael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.