We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see new restaurant in Duleek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spire restaurant

The Spire restaurant
Church Lane, Duleek, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Duleek
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great to see new restaurant in Duleek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to the Spire restaurant - its lovely to such a beautiful building being used again and its great for Duleek village for a new business to open and employ local people. The choice of food and wine on the menu, prices and presentation of the food is excellent. We had a new waiter who did a fantastic job and looked after us really well. All our starters and main courses were delicious except for the fish and chips - the batter was very disappointing, a bit too floury and soggy instead of crispy. The desserts are simply stunning. Our only complaint would be to ask the manager to give people more time to eat their main course before coming over to ask how the food is, as we were all a bit surprised by their comment when we complained about the fish batter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
meath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, good setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Enjoyed my meal out in the spire great setting I don't think anyone can argue that !!!
For a newly opened restaurant they are doing fine I.M.O, Food is good,service is good i`m struggling to see how it wasn't given the layout of the dining area. I would agree with an earlier comment about it been a bit different than the run of the mill places we see, it says everything is made in house and I would believe it you can taste when a sauce is stock made and an Ice cream ...well I can, will be back for sure

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We happened upon this lovely restaurant as we came into town driving around ireland. I'm not sure what we expected but it was a wonderful gourmet surprise. The presentation of the food was absolutely superb from the appetizers to the desserts everything was so well plated and so delicious it makes my mouth water just thinking about it. The staff were such a delight we truly enjoyed our afternoon meal and wish we lived here so we were able to go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“i agree with not there yet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

we have visited twice and have been disappointed twice,i really wish it to come good for those concerned as everything is in place for this restaurant to be successful except the key ingredients ie food and service and i cant understand the earlier comment about the lack of good eateries in meath absolutely astonishing statement,we are spoilt for choice since we moved from dublin,again best wishes to the spire we will be back when we hear genuine good vibes,the galloping gourmet

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We dined here this evening - 4 adults with a toddler.
I made our booking online and requested a highchair. This was in place when we arrived.
We were pleasantly greeted at the door by the owner (I assume) - very good first impressions and decor was contemporary and on trend.
The food was the nicest we've had in a long time and beautifully presented.
Compliments to the Chef and kitchen staff - very impressive and delicious.
Having been former locals of the Duleek area, we knew of The Spire and was delighted to see it re-open.
Can't wait to visit again soon and enjoy other dishes!
Keep up the good work!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spire restaurant also viewed

Duleek, County Meath
Navan, County Meath
 

Been to The Spire restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spire restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.