We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very memorable, excellent meal and wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zure

Zure
Lumbarda, Lumbarda, Korcula Island 20263, Croatia
+385 20 712 334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Lumbarda
Price range: $6 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very memorable, excellent meal and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a family operation, a few blocks off the main road into Lumbarda. We ate at a few places during our visit and this was by far the best. The boss caught the fish on our plate that morning and it was cooked perfectly. we ordered a bottle of their excellent grk wine and bought a second bottle to take home with us. The vegetables were grown on the premises and everything about this place felt uncontrived and simple in the best way. The porch area where we ate was covered by mature grape vines. Highly highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good and fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Zure is very nice place in Lumbarda (agritourism), and selling own vegetable, fruits, wine and fresh catching fish.My wife and me had nice diner with reasonable price:octopus salad, grilled fish and homemade cake.Only one small objection is that fish was very big, so I had felling that owner try to sell, as much as he can, so be careful when you order meals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Local cuisine - perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved to chose our own fish and felt very much at home with this cosy little restaurant, that opened only for our family!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“good meat selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Zure is one of the better known farms in Lumbarda. We went for dinner and ordered their salt fish (which is homemade) as well as the olives (also, homegrown). These were both nice and the olives had capers and other flavorings which were unlike those served by most of the other restaurants in Lumbarda. For mains, we selected the grilled lamb and quail. These were served family style with chips and mashed potatoes. I thought they were both cooked excellently and both had tons of flavor- the only problem was that we were only given butter knives. We asked for sharper knives once we attempted to cut the meat, but the waiter told us they didn't have any. Even with perfectly cooked meat, a sharp knife is still needed! We felt a bit silly trying to hack through our meals. For desert we had marmalade pancakes which were really nice. Their homemade wine (Grk) is fine. We had a bottle of their Premium selection (there was no Quality available) and this was good, but I would have liked to tasted the Quality wine.
The servers were all very friendly and helpful and we were happy with our meal-great place, worthy of the recommendations in the travel guides.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenfeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant for fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is only selling what they are growing or catching on their own, therefore menu is not that big, but food is good, especially the fresh fish. What we didn't like is the arrogant art of the owner as he didn't listen to what we wish, but just wanted to sell as much as he can.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zure also viewed

Lumbarda, Korcula Island
Lumbarda, Korcula Island
 
Lumbarda, Korcula Island
Lumbarda, Korcula Island
 

Been to Zure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.