We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unpleasant restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Zure

Zure
Lumbarda, Lumbarda, Korcula Island 20263, Croatia
+385 20 712 334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Lumbarda
Price range: $6 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Mtunzini
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very unpleasant restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

24 June 2012 - My wife and I chose this restaurant in Lumbarda from the local advertising boards.
We drove to the restaurant and finally found parking - not easy. We walked up to the restaurant and heard very loud music being played - not our style. The restaurant had no other customers.
The owner/waiter? stopped us as we turned away and said he would turn the music down - which he did.
We ordered wine. water and food.
We sat for a fair while and the shouting between the owner/waiter and someone in the kitchen got louder and louder. It was evident they were having an argument.
At the same time there was a very loud intermittent engine noise in the back of the restaurant.
Finally I could no longer take the shouting in the restaurant and spoke to the owner/manager and suggested to him that we were the only customers and we were looking for peace and quiet, and could they please stop the shouting.
He became aggressive and asked us to leave the restaurant. I said I was happy to pay for the small amount of wine and water we had drunk, but he refused to discuss anything and shouted that we should leave the restaurant and never come back.
We were very happy to do this.
I asked for the restaurant complaints book, which I understand is a legal requirement in all Croatian restaurants. He responded that he had no such book and had never had such a book.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan B, Owner at Zure, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
@mtunzini99,

we apologize for what happened, but I'm sure you've been asked also in another places to leave because of you behavior. My opinion is that you can't come in other people house and start yelling at them. We are not a disco or caffe bar where the music is loud. But you insisted to turn of the music which is not your right and of course, not to yell. Please do not spread lies any more (I'm not surprised) and until you start to behave good, please stay away of our restaurant. And to your honor, you're the first case like this. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“hidden gem, great fresh local Croatian seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We visited this restaurant in early june before the hight of the summer season. We didn't choose from the menu we asked the owner/waiter what he recommended, he brought out a bucket of that days catch, some lobsters and three large fish and said he could cook that and some garlic zucchini mash. The atmosphere was very relaxed, i chatted with the chef as he grilled our fish. When the dish came out it was amazing- drizzled with the restaurants own olive oil with plenty of fresh bread and their own Grk wine that Lumbarda is famous for. We had the best meal of our holiday here. It wasn't as cheap as other places but definitely worth it. Make an evening of this with a tour of a couple of the wineries in the same area and it will be the best day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melhus, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Poor service, long time before food is served.... The waiter did not have control on what we ordered. Don't bring your kids on this restaurant

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zure also viewed

Lumbarda, Korcula Island
Lumbarda, Korcula Island
 
Lumbarda, Korcula Island
Lumbarda, Korcula Island
 

Been to Zure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.