We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra service all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sokol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Sokol to your Saves list
Villa Sokol
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Lumbarda 44, Lumbarda, Korcula Island 20263, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo
1 review
“Extra service all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a wonderful week stay at Villa Sokol. The host and hostess were always helpful, friendly and full of information. Excellent breakfast served to our likings every day. The free bikes were in very good condition and the House was 5 minutes trip away from Central Lumbarda. In general we got more than we asked for. Only drawback was the hard beds. Thad did not give a perfect sleeping quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Villa sokol was fabulous - large apartment with a balcony and wonderful sea view. High standard of accommodation with free use of kayaks and bikes and we took advantage of both. Very friendly and helpful hosts who go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. They brought breakfast to our apartment each day which was lovely - even when we left at 530am for the ferry they made us sandwiches and drinks for the journey. We could not fault this place - we loved it. Korcula town is only 5 to 10 mins away by taxi and there are plenty or taxis - it was never a problem getting one even for 5 of us. If you want an active or relaxing break in a quiet location away from the crowds book it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Cannt fault this place.
Beds were comfy. Hostess and cleaner were incredibly kind people.
Air con was great, loved the sunbeds on the balcony.
We got free ise of bikes, kayak (didn't use these but were offered) and swam in the little beach at front (1 min walk) as well as many other beaches on island. Got a car for a day and went to some amazing beaches - LOVED Korcula, this accommodation was perfect. The free platter of snacks in the fridge was so tasty & generous. Honestly, the internet was fast and strong, too. Not sure how to make this place down as it was just perfect, and I was super pleased to be in Lumbada rather than Korcula town - a cpl of quick visits was more than enough, and big cabs tended to do car pooling so reduced rates anyhow. Felt fortunate not to be one of the mass tourism Korcula Town sheep, and had many experiences that others missed out on. Wished I stayed here much longer, and Hvar, Split and even Dubrovnik did not match up.

Room Tip: Paid for a 1 bedroom, received a 2, amazing value and beds were comfy (we were worried about my trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our hostess was very friendly and accommodating. We were given the 2 bedroom apartment which had a great balcony and view however, for 2 people it was a bit large, it felt a bit vacant. We thought that it was a bit expensive on the whole however, the free use of WiFi, kayaks, deck chairs, pontoon and bicycles were a definite bonus. We self catered for breakfasts and lunches but dined at the nearby Natura Restaurant almost every night. Don't expect the service to be fast as all the food is cooked fresh, to perfection and reasonably priced - noticeably less than prices in Korcula Township & is of a better quality. The owner/manager was full of life, a friendly, colourful character who, with his staff, enriched our memories of the time we spent in Lumbarda.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This place is roomy, hostess very friendly and helpful, free kayaks and bikes and a wonderful area to use both. just one back from the water with lovey views, good swimming, lovely walks to beaches, and a wonderful vineyard just 10 mins walk away.We were very glad we stayed here and not in Kortula as it was just so relaxing being amonst locals rather than tourists all the time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Villa Sokol is only a hundred yards or so from its own jetty area, from where we were able to use the canoes for free and to swim in beautiful clear water. Bikes were also freely available. The owners were very nice and friendly without being intrusive. The terrace had a lovely view over the sea. The centre of Lumbarda is about a mile away where there is a nice small beach and beach bar, a choice of restaurants (The Lina has a great position), a supermarket and cash point. There are also a couple of nearby sandy beaches. Korcula town is wonderful and only about three miles away. We had a hire car for the length of our stay and this made a big difference in being able to get around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed here with a friend in a 2 bedroom apartment and we loved it! it is the perfect spot for a relaxing holiday. if you get bored of relaxing you can make use of the free kayaks or bikes, go swimming in the beautiful crystal clear water off the jetty at the bottom of the drive or go on one of the many exciting daytrips that the owner also runs that leave from the jetty ("Sokol adventures"). the apartment had everything we needed, was very clean, well furnished with comfy beds, airconditioning, nice bathroom and a gorgeous deck. the owners(who live on the top floor) were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. when you arrive in the apartment there is some local wine and a plate of yummy local cheese and cured ham to greet you. best wine we tasted on our trip. zoran also dropped us down to the local supermarket on the first day so that we could get some supplies which was really appreciated.
lumbarda is about 7km away from korcula main town. there is a bus but it is infrequent so if you don't have a car you made need to catch a taxi to and from town (unless you are keen to bike). we really liked being 'out of town'. it was much more peaceful than if we had stayed in korcula town(which gets overrun with tourists when the cruise ships pull in). there was a really excellent local restaurant in lumbarda which wasn't far too from the villa.
i would really recommend this place. i would love to go back for another stay. we regretted not having more time as we would have loved time to bike to explore some of the local vineyards and would have liked to go on one of Zoran's daytrips to one of the other islands.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sokol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sokol

Address: Lumbarda 44, Lumbarda, Korcula Island 20263, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Lumbarda
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Lumbarda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sokol 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home is a beautiful stone Villa Sokol surrounded with palm & peen trees only 30 meters from the clear blue sea. Villa Sokol and our brand name korcula-adventures offers: All Inclusive Active Holiday package which includes: Modern and spacious apartments, Round Transfer from Dubrovnik airport, Delicious breakfast service,Daily Lunch on our excursions, Private bespoke wine tasting tours, Buggy safari trips,Farewell Gala dinner,and most of all private excursions with our Motor Yacht to top destinations of Adriatic Coast such as: Dubrovnik City walls, Mljet National Park, Hvar and Lastovo Islands. Join us for an unforgettable journey! Korcula adventures and Villa Sokol owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Villa Sokol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sokol Lumbarda, Korcula Island, Croatia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sokol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.