We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Slaughter Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lower Slaughter Manor to your Saves list
Lower Slaughter Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Slaughter Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Complete Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a find!!! We have just returned from a truly magical break here. The service, food and room were exceptional. Just beautiful in every single way. My husband booked a last minute break for us. He will be staying in my good books for a very very long time :-) Never felt so special in my life!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Amy B,

We are delighted to have made such an impression on you, and it was our absolute pleasure to have looked after you!

Don't leave it too long before returning!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    57
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
171
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mapleton, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here as a base to enjoy the Cotswolds. It was the perfect spot!
I was fortunate to score a great deal on this property, which as I was travelling as a single, I really appreciated.
I found that the staff from Reception to Wait Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. In particular the Manager was a gem. He however was on his way to work in one of Her Majesty's residences. I had a major problem with my smart phone and they were very helpful.
The food was really special particularly dinner although not inexpensive. I liked the option of having both cooked to order options and food from the buffet.
The shared areas are well furnished and spread over several areas. I always managed to find a cosy nook.
Lower Slaughter is quite a walkers' and photographers' haven. The weather was a tad cool for me but many stoic souls were out there enjoying the countryside.

Room Tip: My mini suite June was in the main building and away from the shared spaces. It is great as long as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear SunshineScoop,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay earlier this year. It is lovely to read you were able to feel so at home whilst you were with us!

Hopefully you will return again in the future, perhaps in the summer when the weather is warmer!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Really exceptional Cotswold 5 star accomodation along boutique lines are hard to find. Cowley Manor hasn't moved on in a decade and is tired and also overpriced. Whatley Manor is spectacular although pricey. Lower Slaughter Manor has been around a long time I think is well priced but offers a truly luxury boutique experience amidst stunning surroundings.

The local front desk staff are knowledgeable about the local area, this part of the Cotswolds is stunning, tons of great hills and walking, super pubs, great restaurants and shops in nearby Stow-on-the-Wold etc.

What I really liked about the Manor is the very large and recently refurbished rooms, along with the oversized bathrooms, good ceiling height and a real feeling of space. We stayed in the Coach House which was super and a bit more private. The grounds are superb, the adjacent village literally on your doorstep plus stream and walks are just stunning.

The restaurant is excellent, food of a very high standard and the wine cellar is exceptional with something for all budgets. The head sommelier is knowledgeable and helpful and the front desk really make an effort to be accommodating. We have already booked a return visit.
Hope you enjoy as much as we did.

Room Tip: get advice from front desk as the rooms are all pretty large and vary a lot in terms of design and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear MrFrankReviews,

Thank you for writing such a complimentary review of your stay with us – the reception and restaurant teams in particular were touched by your kind words!

We are so pleased you have already made a reservation for a future visit, and Howard, our sommelier is already working on some recommendations for next time!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Spent two nights here and had dinner in the hotel on both nights! Service and food was second to none, the 7 course tasting menu reminded me of a meal at Le Manoir! Staff can't do enough for you only minor gripe would be the rather quiet atmosphere in the lounge areas you had to whisper, and a poor tv signal, but that's it! Would recommend to any couple looking for 1st class food, service, setting and what seemed an hourly turn down service!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Craig B,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit! Jamie, our chef, is particularly delighted you were so impressed by his menu and cooking!

It is a shame you felt you had to whisper in the lounges – we have from time to time having music in the Drawing Room & Salon, but feel this would be a little unnatural. With regards to the television signal, our maintenance team has retuned the TVs as necessary.

We hope to see you again in the not to distant future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Gone are the days when lovely Cotswold Hotels were staffed by local people who had no real interest in the hospitality industry. Now, as here, London standards of service are expected and achieved. The mostly mature male staff at the Manor are really excellent, friendly, welcoming, and so professional. The decor is lovely, quality furnishing in spotless rooms, with the amazing ceilings of the old rectory it once was.

Food was beautifully presented, excellent quality, superbly cooked, very good value. I was looking at the wine racks, and the sommelier stopped to chat, and seemed very knowledgable and friendly.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear cotswold47,

The team and I were delighted to read your glowing review of your recent visit to the Manor.

Our sommelier, Howard, is always happy to talk about his cellar and so will look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I pack up the dogs for a week and stay in a cottage near Stow every year. We all like Lower Slaughter but have never been to the Manor, so I popped in and made a reservation for dinner the next day.

When we arrived we were taken down to a fairly empty restaurant that remained quiet but not "dead" all evening. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel special. We had a drink first and looked the menu over. The ordering was fun and the waiter explained, when we asked, how some of the dishes were prepared and cooked. The wine waiter was also helpful and knowledgeable and in a very nice way challenged my choice of white wine to go with the starters, he said it may be too sweet and suggested an alternate, we went with that and he was quite right, it was a better option! We did not choose the taster menu as I have a seafood allergy but the choices on the table d'hote menu are pretty wide and should please all diners.

The breads that were brought out were great and between each course was a "pre" taster, all very good.

The meal was fantastic, certainly borderline Michelin standard in my view. Starters were delicious. For mains we had Wild Sea Bass for my wife and I tried Cotswold Beef Fillet that was out of this world. The deserts are also unbelievably good. The variety of red wines is particularly good and the Barollo we chose was just perfect and not wincingly expensive either.

Coffees, liqueurs and chocolates we decided to take in the lounge, they were dutifully brought up to us to enjoy in lovely surroundings and without being followed around to make sure we didn't leave without paying, a little thing I know but a rare courtesy we felt.

This was a great and special experience, more expensive that many dinners out but when considering the location, quality of food, fine wine and particularly the marvelous staff well worth every penny.

Thank you all so much, we shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear UxbridgeJmc,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent meal with us - I know Jamie, our chef, is delighted to read such feedback!

On a future visit, you would be very welcome to try the Tasting menu - if you advise us on booking of any allergies or dislikes, Jamie & the team will happily tailor the menu to suit your requirements.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Lower Slaughter Manor for a rare 2 nights away from our young children! We wanted somewhere to be able to properly rest with fantastic food & fantastic service. We definetely got all 3. The hotel itself looks beautiful on arrival & we were greeted faultlessly. Bags carried, 100% attention on check in & an upgrade to a junior suite. Couldn't have been better. The suite was lovely, and we spent hours reading and relaxing in it due to its very large size. Perfect. We ate the first evening in the restaurant. Food was Michelin quality - beautiful. Breakfast both mornings was delicious & the service faultless. Our only criticism here is the ambience (or lack of) in the dining room. The room desperately needs breaking up somehow so that you dont have to whisper/feel like youre in one big room.

Overall the most outstanding thing about this hotel is the service. The staff really do genuinely seem to want to do absolutely everything they can to please. They definetely achieved that for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Puddle34,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted we were able to provide the right place for you to rest & relax!

We have also taken your comments onboard regarding the restaurant - we have recently completed phase 1 of the redecoration project and so hopefully once the flooring and accessories are completed, the ambience will change.

Hoping you won't leave it too long until you return,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lower Slaughter Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Slaughter Manor

Address: Lower Slaughter Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Slaughter Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Slaughter Manor is a stunning 16th Century Manor House, a luxurious 19 bedroom hotel located in the heart of the picture postcard village of Lower Slaughter in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Lower Slaughter Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter
Lower Slaughter Manor England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Slaughter Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.