We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all Round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Slaughter Manor

Save Saved
You added Lower Slaughter Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lower Slaughter Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Slaughter Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lower Slaughter
durham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent all Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for a two night mid week break in a junior suite. From the moment we arrived the service in all areas was exemplary. There is a feeling of visiting a country house as opposed to a hotel. The staff are courteous, knowledgeable and able to deliver first class attention without being intrusive.
The room was large and bright situated in the main house overlooking the garden. A complimentatrt decanter of sherry & fruit bowl was a lovely touch. The bathroom was large with top of the range toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Whoever devised the menu should be proud of themselves - the food is superb. Well worth paying the extra to dine at the hotel - what a treat.

Just two observations - some of the chairs gave the main lounge the unfortunate "feel" of a care home. Perhaps a little bit of a revamp is required here to continue the luxurious english country house presentation that is evident throughout the rest of the hotel.
Bath panel was cracked in two places - but having said that it did not detract from being in this wonderful place.

Overall can't wait to return.

Room Tip: loved the rooms in the main house overlooking the front garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear HPJ Durham,

Thank you for your review of your break with us recently. We are delighted to hear you had such a lovely time, and Jamie, our Chef, was especially pleased you enjoyed the food!

With regards to the decor in the Drawing Room, whilst we are due a refurbishment in the immediate future, one is planned over the next couple of years. In the meantime we are slowly going through the process of replacing any of the worn fixtures & fittings to ensure everything looks as good as it can! The bath panel in your room has since been replaced - unfortunately we were let down by our supplier and it took a little while to arrive!

We do hope we will see you back in the Cotswolds in the future,

With kind regards,

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    40
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
115
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

my husband and i stayed at this amazing hotel and cannot praise it enough. from the warm welcome on arrival from all the staff and the most amazing room i have ever stayed it which took my breath away. the bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom was large with a great shower and a roll top bath complete with bathrobes and slippers and great toiletries too. we ate at the pub across the road but the breakfast was very good at the manor, set in a lovely dining room where once again the service was exceptional. this is a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting, definitely 5 star and will be returning again soon. i highly reccomend a stay - the cream tea is also worth trying too!

Room Tip: room at the front of hotel is quiet with lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Julie W,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us!

I am delighted that you had such a fabulous time with us, and that you enjoyed your cream tea. Perhaps on a future stay, you might like to have dinner in the restaurant as well - the food is amazing!

Kind regards,

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently stayed for the weekend. The room was lovely and the welcome when we arrived made us feel at home straightaway. Yes, it is expensive but it's worth it - you have to treat yourself sometimes. Excellent location. Would have given excellent but for a very minor thing. The Italian bloke behind the bar was great too - give him a pay rise!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Richard W,

Thank you for your review, and I shall pass your praise onto Lorenzo, who looked after you at the bar!

I'm so pleased to hear you felt at home while you were with us, and if you felt so inclined, I would be interested to find out what the minor issue was - all feedback helps us to improve the service we offer!

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
generalmanager@lowerslaughter.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is in an idyllic setting - quite tucked away in a peaceful location. Our suite in the annex was absolutely wonderful. Amazing bathroom - very generous l'occitane toiletries. Best suite ever! The restaurant served a very good evening meal - expensive but delicious. Breakfast was very good as well. There is a sister hotel across the road which is less formal & serves pub style food.
A very relaxing sort of place - no pool or gym - just a chill out quiet hotel. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Madeleine34

Thank you for writing a review of Lower Slaughter Manor. As you say it really is an idyllic location in the Cotswolds, so delighted you were able to really relax!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future - you might like to try one of the suites in the main house next time for a different view! Nina is one of my favourites!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Staff delightful ,food excellent but rooms were disappointing .we stayed in 2 different rooms.the first was large but one window had an outlook of a black fire escape and the other window had 2 broken paynes of glass in it. The second had a much nicer outlook but was quite cramped. The dining room was stuffy and too warm and didn't seem to have any air-conditioning or ability to open a window.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Lower Slaughter Manor, and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us.

The replacement window panes have already been ordered and we are currently awaiting delivery of them; please accept my apologies that this was not mentioned to you when you were shown to your room.

With regards to the temperature in the dining room, it can be difficult to regulate at this time of year as guests sitting in front of the open doors can feel the draught quite easily. Tom Curtis, our Restaurant Manager, has already carried out some training with his team however to ensure that they are more aware of the ambiance as a whole in the restaurant.

Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013


I have had the opportunity to stay in this hidden gem located in the middle of the Cotswolds, and have remained positively impressed. At check in, an agreeable smile from the hotel team was waiting for me, after a tour where the friendly receptionist explained to me the history of this imposing Manor House, I was led to my wide and luminous room, quite perfectly, a grand and soft bed, a big bath with natural light with a fantastic shower and separated bathtub and amenities of l'occitane! After a relaxing shower, dinner at the restaurant, simply delicious, from the starters to desserts: to die for! The day after, a fresh breakfast with a la carte choice as well as a buffet, what else could I expect? Service was always second to none, I just want to thank all members of the team for making my stay a memorable experience! I'll come back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Palmatraveler,

Thank you for your review of Lower Slaughter Manor. It was a pleasure to share your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards

Abbi & the team at Lower Slaughter Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in Lower Slaughter Manor for 3nights in March. We loved every minute of it. As a family, we took 2 interconnecting rooms in the guest house and we were blown away by the hotel attention of details including setting kids bedsheets for my kids beds, adding toys on their beds & welcome letters to all adults in the room. The service is 5* hotel and we were very sad to leave after 3nights with them. Definitely going back, highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stayed in the guest house, not main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Lower Slaughter Manor, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear HJ1974,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Lower Slaughter Manor. It sounds like you and your family had a super time, and I'm glad the children liked their duvet covers and gifts! We hope that all our guests feel special, no matter how young or old they are!

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the manor in the future,

With kind regards

Abbi & the team at Lower Slaughter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lower Slaughter Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Slaughter Manor

Address: Lower Slaughter Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lower Slaughter Manor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Slaughter Manor is a stunning 16th Century Manor House, a luxurious 19 bedroom hotel located in the heart of the picture postcard village of Lower Slaughter in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Lower Slaughter Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter
Lower Slaughter Manor England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Slaughter Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.